We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
scarborough
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Another Excellent stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife,my mother and i arrived early at 6-30 am our room wasnt ready untill 2pm.The hotel was full and had one roome available which wasnt suitable to let out,they kindly allowed us to use this room to shower and freshen up while we were waiting for our room to be ready.The hotel was clean as usual,happy smiling staff and lovely gardens and grounds.
The food was excellent as usual,with a huge variety of sri lankan food and the run of the mill chicken nuggets and chips for the less enthusiastic palates.Not once did we have any stomach upsets and havnt ever (this is our 4th visit)You had a few moaners saying they had bad stomachs and were off to the chemist.(Nothing to do with stood at the bar most of the time drinking beer and spirits in 32 degrees 95% humidity and standing in the sun untill bright red to catch up on your suntan)
I went fishing on a number of occasions catching barracuda,sear fish,snapper etc.I took them to the chef and he cooked them for us for lunch or dinner,it tasted amazing.Nothing was too much trouble for their staff.Their helpfullness and proffessionalism it to be commended and for a 3* hotel,the service far surpasses any 5* i have stayed in.We will be visiting the hotel again in the nxt 18months without hesitation.Well done mermaid keep up the great work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank weldman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    443
    89
    31
    13
See reviews for
257
877
53
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Spent a very pleasant 3 nights, two days at the resort.
Price was so reasonable when I book, I upgraded to a deluxe room, with a lovely bath & full sea view.
Was very impressed, cost included all meals (food excellent, better than many 5* ones I have stayed in) local alcohol & a massage. (Last was part of a promotion)
There were also games, evening entertainment & free wifi in public areas.
The staff were friendly & attentive.
The place a little tiered but clean & tidy.
Wifi access in the rooms would have been an added bonus.
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Doha2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just got back from a delightful holiday . Having never been to Sri Lanka before was a little apprehensive, shouldn't have worried the people of Sri Lanka are some of the most genuine and honest people I have ever met. the hotel itself is just lovely, the staff are always smiling and willing to help you in anyway they can the food is amazing and although the majority is a selection of curries (even at breakfast, but it is Sri Lanka after all) you can always find something more tame to eat and equally delicious the fresh scented flowers arranged on your bed every day was a lovely touch too. The beach boys are safe to use and very accommodating and a LOT cheaper and more flexible than booking through a rep. we used Indi silva a great guy who made our tip to Sri Lanka unforgettable hes one of lifes good guys and we would highly recommend him.

Room Tip: we were in room 251 which as on first floor and closest to entertainment and although you could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabruffys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed at the excellent Mermaid for two weeks.On first arrival reception looks a bit old fashioned and gloomy but this soon becomes no problem as we found out how good the hotel was.Rooms adequate and fairly spacious,ours was on the ground floor with patio straight out looking on to beach,rooms were tidied everyday. Hotel grounds are lovely and well kept with gardeners always tidying and sweeping.There are two pools the main pool being very warm and the sports pool around the corner at the front well out of the way if you don't want to join in the volleyball or polo.
The food in the restaurant is very good and varied especially the breakfasts (apart from very slow toast machine) and all the staff are very freindly.
Beach boys wait around the beach entrance to try and sell trips but do not hasle you at all .We used Suresh (with red mohican hairstyle) for two trips, first to whale watching where saw killer whales,lots of dolphins and a giant turtle in the sea and the second was a three day two night
trip to polonawara,dambula,Kandy and little england where did white water rafting.The two hotels Suresh used were of good standard especially the second with our room looking straight out onto waterfalls and beautiful scenery.You can e-mail Suresh (suresh.pushpakumara@yahoo.com) he will also collect you from the airport if you contact him before your holiday.
Brilliant hotel and holiday can highly reccommend this hotel.
Donna,Dave,Joe

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Mermaid for six nights after a week touring the area. The hotel was just what we needed after a busy first week, and we spent our days lying under the palm trees overlooking the Indian Ocean. Our room was clean and comfortable with side views of the sea. The food was good and the staff were friendly and efficient. I celebrated my birthday here and our bed was decorated with flowers and a table was decorated with flowers for our evening meal and a birthday cake had been made for me which was delicious. The hotel rooms could probably do with a makeover although this didn't detract from our stay. We enjoyed playing boules and table tennis and my husband enjoyed the cricket tournament organised by the sports club.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottyandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I spent 4 days here for our honeymoon! We felt very welcomed, the staff were very friendly and the food was always fresh and delicious. Although it was a beach side resort we did not venture to the beach very often as the grounds were so lovely!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ashan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gampaha, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a fantastic time at Mermaid for two days as the stay was very fascinating in all aspects. Specially the service staff is very courteous and prompt. Welcoming & check in were very cordial. The room we stayed 212# is very specious, well laid with elegant furniture & fittings and very comfortable. At the bed turning down the flower decoration on the bed was marvelous. Restaurant staff is very courteous, We really enjoyed from beginning to the end of our stay & our sincere thanks to the GM and his team.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnilPerera2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#1 of 1 in Waskaduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
14.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
4.6 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mermaid & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mermaid & Club

Property: Hotel Mermaid & Club
Address: Mahawaskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Family Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mermaid & Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mermaid Hotel & Club lies on the golden sands of Mahawaskaduwa; a cosy fishing village in the city of Kalutara which is of religious significance, just 24 miles south of Colombo and 45 miles from the International airport. It is cleverly nestled in a vast coconut grove along a stretch of golden, sandy beach; a perfect get-away for sun, sand and sea lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mermaid & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mermaid And Club
Resort All Inclusive Mermaid
Mermaid Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Mermaid & Club Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing