We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marvelous holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kalutara
Certificate of Excellence
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“marvelous holiday”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in November for two weeks and had a great holiday one of the best nice country hotel in good area .All the staff are very nice there wasnt a thing you could complain about.Food was always good and fresh . we did a couple of trips with Ravi one of the beach boys who I would reccomend he is very good and took us to a lot of interesting places including his friends wedding ..We dont usually go to the same hotel twice but would definatley return here again .

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny plenty of comfy sun loungers in grounds and round the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 756bel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    451
    91
    31
    13
See reviews for
262
894
54
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Please stop searching for any more hotels...!!!

If you are looking for the perfect getaway, with the perfect blend of food and drinks and a perfect budget - stop your search here....

I decided to surprise my wife on her birthday - flew her to Sri Lanka and opted to stay here... We were here in February 2014. We chose the all inclusive package - we were amazed at what we got.

We chose a super deluxe room near the beach - so i could stand on my balcony and look at the ocean. the rooms are spacious and the bathroom we had in the room we selected was awesome...
We had a great time there...
Would recommend it to one and all...

go there - get the all inclusive package and sit back and be pampered - staff was very helpful - beach is clean - drinks keep flowing....

just perfect...!!!

Room Tip: get a room close to the ocean for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric CS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely hotel, lovely staff, everyone we came across was very friendly.

The hotel facilities are excellent, lovely grounds, never had to search for a sunbed, you can sit in the sun by the pool, or by the beach, with or without shade from the palm trees.

We had all inclusive in a standard room, the food was very good, always a good selection of dishes to choose from, whether you want to eat curry, or european there will be something for you. The room was excellent with a large balcony overlooking the tropical gardens, and the air conditioning was excellent, and the room attended twice daily by the room boy who did a great job. The bar area could do with some more cushions on the seats, and perhaps an area out in the open air, because if you didn't get under a fan it was bit sticky, though this may be available at other times, because we had very mixed weather.

Certainly couldn't fault the staff, they couldn't do enough for you, and unlike many countries they weren't chasing you just for tips.

If there is a drawback, its the beach area, its a bit tatty, and the dogs along the beach are a bit of a pain to be frank, the hotel could perhaps look at improving the beach area a bit, at least tidy it up every couple of days (I realise that its public, but it would be to their benefit, if possible). The sea itself was lovely, not great for swimming as their is quite a current, but if you just like jumping about in the waves to cool off, then its ideal. I would imagine quite good for body surfing if you are a strong swimmer.

We had a few trips through Suresh (red mohican) one of the beach boys, he's not associated with the hotel by the way, but a really nice guy, and couldn't do enough for us. We made contact with him by email before we left UK, arranged hotel transfers, a day trip to the "Hill Country" and the elephant orphanage (If you have time, do the 2 days if possible), and a trip by Tuktuk to the turtle nursery at Bentota. All were very well organised, and good value, we weren't taken on the souvenir shopping trip you often get taken on, just to the places we wanted to go. He also helped us with a train trip to Galle, taking us to the station, arranging the tickets, and staying with us until the delayed train arrived, arranging to pick us up when we returned to Kalutara. Nothing was too much, and even gave us a present on our last day. He made a great holiday even better.

Thanks to everyone we met for making us long to come back to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cleavers1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had a fantastic holiday with my husband at this hotel in May 2014. Staff gave 100 percent and all in inclusive was good value with great food. We paid for an upgrade to a beach view room with lots of space and enormous bath over looking the ocean which we loved. I had 3 massages during the week with various staff all were great. Highly recommend the hotel own driver Gamini Henri (034-2237978-2228757) for airport collections and trips. He gave fair prices which were cheaper than the beach guys. and went out of his way to show us extra sights en route. We booked him via the hotel and he is fully insured and is a careful driver which made us feel safe on the chaotic roads.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here in the 2 weeks running up to Easter. Emirates flight was very good we had a 2 hour stop in Dubai but the airport is so huge it takes that time to get from gate to gate! Hotel very well kept extremely clean. Food was lovely with a wide array to suit every taste but if you want chips with everything this is not the place to stay, not one chip was seen in 2 weeks! You can pay for these as an extra. Drinks were fine although you needed to ask for extra ice, we just asked for a glass of ice which was never a problem. To be fair nothing is a problem for the lovely friendly hard working staff. When we stayed here about 75 per cent of guest had stayed there before. We didn't do our trips with the beach boys but had an amazing trip through Virgin, we took a seaplane to Candy which trimmed over 3 hours of the journey - what an experience. A great holiday and would I go back? Yes definitely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gooner86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Me and my fiancee went there on mid of may,2014. We had a wonderful experience. Room are very cleaned. Swimming pool is awesome. Very good selection of food and foods were very tasty too. Staff is friendly and Its a nice place to be relax on near the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don25_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Me & my partner stayed here in April, staff friendly and very helpful, we stayed for 9 days, the room was old but clean, food was ok, but as other reviews have said food needs to be covered as lots of annoying flies, could do with air conditioning in the dining room! We also never saw the manager, we were never told about the days they don't serve alcohol by our tour operator, as the manager said you were, so this is untrue!! But luckily didn't affect us, and most of our drinks were served warm. Have to say reception staff were great. We did all of our tours with suresh, highly recommend him. Whale watching, jeep safari, elephant sanctuary. Hopefully when hotel has been refurbished it will have addressed some of these problems that have been highlighted by people.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
0.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
22.0 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,474 reviews
14.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mermaid & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mermaid & Club

Property: Hotel Mermaid & Club
Address: Mahawaskaduwa, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#1 Family Hotel in Kalutara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mermaid & Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mermaid Hotel & Club lies on the golden sands of Mahawaskaduwa; a cosy fishing village in the city of Kalutara which is of religious significance, just 24 miles south of Colombo and 45 miles from the International airport. It is cleverly nestled in a vast coconut grove along a stretch of golden, sandy beach; a perfect get-away for sun, sand and sea lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mermaid & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mermaid And Club
Resort All Inclusive Mermaid
Mermaid Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Mermaid & Club Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing