We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise !”
other travellers have booked this property
Swimming pool and view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming pool and view
View from the room and sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Swimming pool and view
View from the room and sitting area
Swimming pool
Swimming pool and garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kandy, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Grumbett
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise !”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My husband and I stayed at this really beautiful villa in May and it has been just wonderful ! The villa is very well decorated, the rooms are spacious and beautiful, the team is the nicest ! They are very professional and very nice. The cook made delicious plates for us. The place where the villa stands is just one the most beautiful we have ever seen, we were speechless in front of the landscape ! It is also very calm and quiet. So we will surely come back in Aqua Dunhida Villa ! Thank you very much to the team !!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Hi So,

Thank you very much for been our guest. Thank you for the review and look forward to keeping in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthebob
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Found!”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just spent a fantastic week in Sri Lanka at Aqua Dunhinda; a beautiful villa in a spectacular setting on the outskirts of Gampola. The villa offers an oasis of calm and tranquility away from the vibrant, bustling villages and towns. The garden and landscape around the villa are a nature lovers dream. Birds, bees, butterflys, ghekos, squirrels, monkeys and frogs are just a few of the daily visitors. The staff at the villa are welcoming, very attentive and yet discreet. Food at the villa is delicious and it's fun tasting new dishes. You will find a little bit of paradise at Aqua Dunhinda. Our visit was enhanced due to the recent addition of the pool and oh what a view from that pool! We plan to return one day soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Thank you for staying with us and it was wonderful to have you as our guest. See you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londoncal...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Divine Villa”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Divine Villa, amazing view, fab cooking. The pool and grounds are a perfect way to watch the world go by. Sujit and his smiling team backed up by the owners Prashan and Xianthe were always at hand and really helpful as well as flexible. We spent a week here in paradise and the villa had everything and is really new and high spec.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2017
Thanks for staying with us David and look forward to keeping touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KamranZah...
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Luxurious villa surrounded by nature”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I had finalized the places where we'd be staying during our holiday in Sri Lanka and was casually browsing to see if there were any other places that were (may be) better than the ones I had already selected. As soon as Aqua Dunhinda Villa popped up in the search results, I felt compelled to check it out. The villa and its surroundings looked beautiful and I booked it immediately. I got in touch with Prashan with whose vision and passion the wonderful Aqua Dunhinda Villa was built in such a gorgeous setting. As we were first time travelers to Sri Lanka, Prashan arranged for a driver who would stay with us throughout our holiday. That made our entire trip so comfortable and enjoyable.

Aqua Dunhinda Villa... I can't really describe it and even by looking at the photos you would only get a half-decent idea of how stunningly beautiful it actually is. It's located high up on a mountain and surrounded by pure nature. It's a magical place. The Mahaweli Ganga river flows through a ravine on one side and you can go down the mountainside to see it up close.

The owners are very kind and caring and they have a super efficient staff to look after your needs. We genuinely felt that their objective was to make us forget all our worries and just enjoy our time as long as we were there. Our meals were prepared by a talented chef in home-style cooking, and everything... yes, everything tasted great.

When I booked this villa I had envisioned a relaxing environment. But when we actually stayed it felt as if we were experiencing luxury in the arms of nature. Prashan and his mother, Mrs. De Silva, are nature lovers and asked us to plant a tree in their garden before we left. We loved every moment we spent there. I recommend staying there for at least 2-3 days but, ideally, you'll need more time to get full satisfaction. It's an amazing and tranquil place where you can find your inner peace, relax and refresh your souls.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vagabonde...
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
““Quiet, serene, gorgeous property. Perfect for headspace and a nuturing retreat with excellent food!””
Reviewed 25 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Aqua D is a must-visit if you're looking for a serene getaway and outstanding food in Sri Lanka. One of the many benefits of this stellar property is that it is GENUINELY QUIET which is almost impossible to find around the country. No honking tuk-tuks or roaring buses which we found at most properties, regardless of how remote their location. At Aqua D, all you hear is the tranquil sound of the river, nature and soothing windchimes.

The house is brand new and absolutely stunning. Gorgeous architecture, with floor to ceiling windows, lovely finishings and most importantly, a stunning serene view of the valley and river below.

The property is a genuine getaway with luxury offerings throughout. It's incredibly spacious (3 bedroom, 3 bathroom) with a huge living room, den, kitchen and dining room, not to mention an enormous wrap-around balcony. The location and architecture allows for an incredible breeze throughout the day.

We were carefully looked after by the property’s attentive staff who were more than happy to help with every request. Having had many disappointing meals prior to our arrival, we were completely delighted by the quality of the meals - THE BEST FOOD WE HAD IN SRI LANKA. The menu was on-demand and full of a great mix of local and western dishes. Everything was fresh, incredibly tasty and handmade, using local produce. It was a culinary delight.

There is plenty to keep you busy on the property - walking, yoga, games and movies - but our favorite thing to do was just to read, write and take in the beauty of the space. The stars at night were incredible. Best of all, the property is superb for genuine head space and relaxation.

We were genuinely sad to leave and look forward to our next stay. Thank you to Aqua D’s fantastic staff for a truly memorable, nurturing stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
razrx
Kandy, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Breathtaking!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 21 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I believe the pictures are more than enough to explain how amazing this place is, But nevertheless i will add a few words to it :).. we were literally speechless when we got off our car, as we arrived. The view was breathtaking. Lush green surroundings, a river flowing down the mountain. it was such a beautiful site. the design of the villa perfect. every window you look through, gives you a whole new view. If your visiting kandy and you want to experience pure luxury, surrounded by a breathtaking view, aqua dunhinda villa is the place to be. the care takers are some of the most friendliest people that i have come across, very helpful and kind. I will be surely booking dunhinda villa, the next time i go down to srilanka.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aruna H
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Diamond in the rough”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

It was a "Diamond in the rough", we walked into this beautiful place on the 6th January and was greeted by three young men, it was definitely "love at first sight". We were surrounded by lush green mountains, breathtaking views and surrounded by the Mother Nature. The owner Prashan is a real conservationist, I was blown away with his careful introductions to preserve the environment and the place was significantly showing the true passion. Whichever way we look at, the views were blowing your mind. The sound of the Mahaweli river was soothing your inner peace.

All the furniture and fittings were absolutely marvellous and was carefully selected and gave us the best of luxuries. Beds were so comfortable and the cleanliness was at the highest standard.

The caretaker/Manager Sujith, was really approachable and attentive, the other staff Sanjeewa, Rukshan, Velu and Piyadasa were all really attentive and were always there at your request.

The food was an experience of a real Authentic Sri Lankan cuisine. It was no big spreads like a commercial Hotel, but it was just the right amount to fulfill your tastebuds with an amazing flavours of traditional Sri Lankan cooking. We stayed for six different meals and was always asked in advance what we would like to experience and the cook has done an over and above to make sure we are taking the full value. We really enjoyed the Fresh Polos Maluwa, kalupol maluwa, fresh green mallum from the garden, devilled potatoes, and wambotu beduma topped with yellow rice.

Velu and Sujith took us to real "Bush trekker" down to the Mahaweli River bank, it was a real experience through the lush green trees. Velu proudly showed us all of his hard work and explained all the important trees they have planted. We really enjoyed the environment and what they have created to preserve our land.

Overall if you are a nature loving person and want to have a quiet relaxation, this is the place to be, the future proposal to build a infinity pool will add more value to this place and will place a cherry on the cake.

Last but not least the staff asked me to plant a tree and were told that this is what they expect to do as an ongoing process suggested by the owner Prashan, I was blown away with the whole concept, where most part of the country won't even think about the conservation Prashan is doing his bit to protect our environment.

Final note, you won't be disappointed if you stay at Aqua Dunhinda, a place to experience the best of Mother Nature has to offer, the running water from the near by Mahaweli river and the noises from various birds are the only things that will disturb the tranquility of this environment. You will enjoy and relax your mind from your busy lives. It was an oasis in a desert, I wished I would have stayed there a bit longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Hi Aruna

Thanks you very much. So well written with just level of precision.

Speak soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;