We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic Termite Infestation hotel; Don't Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Unfortunately there is absolutely nothing positive about this hotel to report. I highly recommend no one stay there. The first and most distressing reason for avoiding this hotel at all costs, is that they have an intolerable termite infestation problem. There were over 100 termites that took over my room about one hour into my stay, The management was no where to be found despite my spending 1 hour trying to find any of the staff. I did not sleep because the termites were falling in my eyes and buzzing in my ears. No matter how many I exterminated more kept coming. When I finally found the manager in the morning ( after a horrible night ), I told him about my horrible experience, his response was " THAT'S NOT MY PROBLEM". He made no effort to make amends, and was arrogant and indignant. Also, if that wasn't enough,The hotel is extremely far from the city , and makes it very difficult to go to the city. The breakfast was terrible, flies on the food; a real 3rd world experience...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Briangreen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

stayed in this hostel or 'guest house' as they're called in sri lanka. Very clean and spacious and Joseph the manager was incredibly helpful and friendly. He even drove us to the bottom of the hill, on which the hostel is sat in order for us to get a tuk tuk into the centre of Kandy,

Important to note a couple of things... Do not expect A/C, do not expect a hotel (it is a hostel!!) make sure you let the staff know what time you will be coming home - they lock the outside gate very early and know that the owners are quite religious people and therefore it is not essential but this should be respected - we felt a bit weird about drinking there and cursing in front of the owner. Absolutely not a problem at all but i probably wouldnt stay here is you are looking for a fun filled thailand-esque party night!!

would stay here again :)

Room Tip: ask to stay on the first floor and for a balcony facing down the hill - beautiful views!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeginnerBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

this place is about 20 minutes from centre of Kandy,
it is basic clean, has hot water, wifi, breakfast included, the view is nice from the rooftop restaurant, so everything you need
the owners and workers are friendly and helpful, it is quiet of a night so you can have a good night sleep, we had balcony and room on front.

Room Tip: get room on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bournemouthJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Having recently stayed at the Majestic, I can report really positive things. The hotel has a great view over looking Kandy- it truly is an exceptional location being close to town, but far enough away to enjoy the great views of Kandy (a 3 minute Tuk tuk ride from down town Kandy).
Joseph, the owner, made us feel very welcome, giving us a ride into Kandy when we first arrived simply to be nice. His son Gihan is probably the kindest person i have met in my travels. He made our experience completely unique, offering us a side of Kandy, and the surrounding country side that we may otherwise not have seen. We where on a budget, but it was well worth getting him as our taxi driver, instead of using local public transport (buses etc).
This is the place i'd recommend most out of anywhere I've stayed. Although the accommodation is nice, and also quite affordable, the staff made the difference.
The review written below is absolute nonsense. I think what best sums up our experience is that I would visit Kandy again in a few years time simply to stay here again.
A truly great time!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

If you want to experience all bad things (Hell) please stay here. Drunken manager with Cigar will always wel comes you with all dirty words. Better to stay on roads than staying in this so called Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Gopal g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Joseph and Kumari are lovely hosts, and very importantly are genuinely honest people. They want you to have a good experience in Sri Lanka and in their hotel, so they will treat you most fairly and generously. The food is absolutely spectacular, and it is true in this case that "you get what you pay for". Yes, the prices for the food may be higher than outside, but the ingredients are outstandingly fresh and they are cooked on the spot with little to no previous preparation (order early, as they take their time with this approach).The location is a little outside the centre, but to me this was a positive, since it meant little to no noise from traffic and a more natural setting. The room was immaculately clean, and the facilities are very good. The Internet connection was sporadic and a little slow, but you'll be enjoying the view from the rooftop to not worry about this too much. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Multi storied building 1.5 k's out of town so still cheap enough to get to in a tuk tuk. Location makes it very quiet compared to the city centre. Rooftop restaurant with great view serving good food. Rooms simple but satisfactory and very good value for money. The manager Joseph is a wealth of information with excellent English skills, as has his son. Both are at your beck and call to help. When in Kandy again, will not look to stay anywhere else but the Majestic Tourist Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theStranded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#33 of 57 in Kandy
554 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#19 of 57 in Kandy
507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#35 of 57 in Kandy
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#21 of 57 in Kandy
547 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#39 of 57 in Kandy
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Tourist Hotel

Address: 83/40 Ampitiya Rd | At the End of Kandy Lake in the Beginning of Ampitiya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £12 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Tourist Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Tourist Hotel is located in a quiet, clean area within the Kandy city limit, over-looking rain forest and beautiful mountains. We are one and half km from the city center. We have 20 rooms with attach bath, hot/cold water, some of them have balcony and a/c ( a/c on add charge ) we are approved by *Sri Lanka Tourist Board as **A** Grade. Walking distance to Temple of Tooth, Kandyan Dancing Hall and Ayurveda center etc. Free Breakfast, Free Pick up from Kandy City on arrival, also we do Tours and Airport pick-up for very reasonable rates. Roof Top Restaurant over-looking Kandy Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Majestic Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing