We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Rooms are spacious and clean and the view from the terrace restaurant are awesome! "G" and his parents were very helpful and welcoming. We can recommend the Elephant orphanage tour and G went beyond what he needed to do in order to make sure we had a very special day. While we were stressing out about a flight change his father drove us to the city centre to save us time and hassle with a tuk tuk, this left a very pleasant taste in our mouths and given the opportunity we would happily stay here again. I saw another review suggesting a 4km walk in to town... what a load, it is 1.5-2km absolute maximum and its location lends it to amazing views and a nice walk in to town so definitely don't worry about that.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank London_Eye068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    58
    33
    7
    11
See reviews for
15
59
35
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Majestic Tourist Hotel is owned by a very friendly couple who are more than happy to help you find the nicest places in town (incl. Ayurvedic Spa). Delicious dinner is served on the roof terrace from which you have a spectacular view of Kandy. Center is only a 5/10-minute ride away. Rooms are comfortable. In short: my friend and I really enjoyed our 3-day stay in Majestic Tourist and fully recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisette188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

G and his family made us feel so welcome on our holiday to Kandy!! Beautiful rooms, spacious and well done- G was an outstanding host who went well beyond the call of duty! Treated us like family! He an amazing cook, finally had amazing authentic Sri Lankan food, best dishes we had our whole trip! Can't say enough about this accommodation and G, so wonderful! His nephew, Dilan, showed us all around Kandy, taking us everywhere we wanted to see an introduced us to the real Sri Lanka! They are awesome! MTH is a must stay in Sri Lanka!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JLG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed a couple of nights here in August 2012. A reasonably priced, clean, quiet hotel. The dining area has a brilliant view of the surrounding landscape and is a great place to relax and chat to other travellers. The manager is very pleasant and helpful with any queries. The hotel itself is a 15-20 minute walk around the lake to the town centre

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ndbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

Management is nice and the food is good. It's outside the Kandy city center and has great views of the surrounding hills. Good value and a nice place I you have to be in Kandy. I wasn't a big fan of Kandy but it is a nice jumping off point for other places

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We visited the Majestic Tourist Hotel at the end of September 2012 and I cannot recommend it enough. We were warmly welcomed and the rooms are clean and large with most enjoying great views from the balcony. Breakfast, which was included, was plenty of toast, fried eggs, fruit juice and delicious local tea served on the rooftop restaurant which offers great views across Kandy. All meals are cooked from fresh so can take a little while but they're cooked to your preferences which helps if you can't take a lot of spice! 
Ten minutes walk gets you to the lake where we saw monkeys, turtles and water monitors. A further 5 gets you to the Temple of the Tooth which is close to the town. The walk back up is uphill, yes, but easily doable. Alternatively a tuk tuk from town costs only 200 rupees. 
Kumari, the owner, is fabulous and full of local knowledge relayed in her almost perfect English. The hotel offer tours at very reasonable prices and when we asked to go to the elephant orphanage Kumari went above and beyond to make sure we had a great day, including a trip to a local spice garden and tea factory. 
All in all a fantastic place to stay, eat and do tours from. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conlavabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Växjö, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I and my vife stayed here for two nights in the begining of January. We realy liked the hotel. The room was small but nice and the price was very ok. The manager took good care of us and felt like he was genuinely interested in giving us a good stay. The location was perfect fo us, nice and quiet and only a few minutes on a tuk tuk to the city centre. They offer us a good price for a car to Nuwara Eliya. We can realy recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOJohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#37 of 54 in Kandy
535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#32 of 54 in Kandy
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#33 of 54 in Kandy
10 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Tourist Hotel

Property: Majestic Tourist Hotel
Address: 83/40 Ampitiya Rd | At the End of Kandy Lake in the Beginning of Ampitiya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Tourist Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Tourist Hotel is located in a quiet, clean area within the Kandy city limit, over-looking rain forest and beautiful mountains. We are one and half km from the city center. We have 20 rooms with attach bath, hot/cold water, some of them have balcony and a/c ( a/c on add charge ) we are approved by *Sri Lanka Tourist Board as **A** Grade. Walking distance to Temple of Tooth, Kandyan Dancing Hall and Ayurveda center etc. Free Breakfast, Free Pick up from Kandy City on arrival, also we do Tours and Airport pick-up for very reasonable rates. Roof Top Restaurant over-looking Kandy Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Majestic Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing