We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, nothing great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Okay, nothing great”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Location was fine, walking into Kandy was quite pleasant, although a tuk tuk back, especially when it's dark. The hospitality here was very good and I would love to say good things about my room but unfortunately, it smelt of damp and only had one plug socket that didn't work. I moved rooms after this and the new room was much better! Maybe I was just unlucky with the first room was put in but I probably won't stay here again, I'm sure there are better value for money places in Kandy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guysie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    62
    33
    7
    11
See reviews for
15
62
35
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

First impression of the hostess was not good, specially after a long journey. The food was nice. Rooms were dirty, but they cleaned when we brought it up. We stayed only one night and left to find a more central and cheaper place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

For a large group of twenty people, this hotel was perfect. Kumari and Joseph were exquisite hosts and helped us with all of our needs! Easy to access from town, fabulous views from roof deck, wonderful conversations with Kumari. Go visit them!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The price was affordable. The owner was very kind. She helped to arrange the ittinerary and book trabsportation as we need. The owner accompanied us to gallery to buy "saree". She delivered us to train station. I liked its fruit juice for breakfast. But, there was no tv inside the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finddstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed two nights in the Majestic Tourist hotel and would definitely recommend it! The rooms are as advertised and expected - basic, clean and nice. Upstairs is the best bit - the restaurant does wonderful food and the views over kandy and surrounding hills are stunning. The staff are very relaxed, friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Very very good budget option.
Room for improvement? Yes, drain in the bathroom was a bit smelly.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyMayonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in December, I would definitely return.
The Owner and his wife were so friendly and extremely helpful. The room was clean and we had lovely views over the hills.
They have a rooftop restaurant with fabulous views, which is great for breakfast, and they serve a good range of food for other meals too. My daughter (6) is not really into rice or curry and they had western options for her.
It is on the far side of the lake so my guess is that it would take 15 mins to walk in, by the lake (basically a nice stroll) and you are not far from the Temple of the Tooth.
I would definitely recommend this place,extremely good value for money :)
The place is quite big and not so full, it can feel a bit empty, but someone is always around..somewhere :) , one is mostly out and about anyway and people meet up in the restaurant morning s and evenings..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights as a base for visiting Kandy & Anuraduphura. The owner Joseph couldn't be more helpful, and his advice served us well. If you are eating in Kandy, go to the 'Muslim' for the best value and tasting curry you will ever have ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misterwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#41 of 55 in Kandy
539 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#33 of 55 in Kandy
178 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 55 in Kandy
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#35 of 55 in Kandy
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Tourist Hotel

Property: Majestic Tourist Hotel
Address: 83/40 Ampitiya Rd | At the End of Kandy Lake in the Beginning of Ampitiya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Tourist Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Tourist Hotel is located in a quiet, clean area within the Kandy city limit, over-looking rain forest and beautiful mountains. We are one and half km from the city center. We have 20 rooms with attach bath, hot/cold water, some of them have balcony and a/c ( a/c on add charge ) we are approved by *Sri Lanka Tourist Board as **A** Grade. Walking distance to Temple of Tooth, Kandyan Dancing Hall and Ayurveda center etc. Free Breakfast, Free Pick up from Kandy City on arrival, also we do Tours and Airport pick-up for very reasonable rates. Roof Top Restaurant over-looking Kandy Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Majestic Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing