We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!!! ”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

There is nothing not to love about this place!

The hotel is located close to the city centre, bus stops , train station.

Price is really affordable and the are are super spacious. My room had a balcony as well.

The staff are awesome - really friendly and very helpful.

The owner was also fantastic. He planned my itenary and advised me how to get around

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandeep-za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    58
    33
    7
    11
See reviews for
15
59
35
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The title says it all. It was a good location, around 25 minute walk to Temple of the Tooth and other attractions.
Rooms are basic, but the price reflects this well I believe.
Western basic breakfast available.
Restaurant is good value with great home cooked meals.
I broke my toe on one of my days sightseeing and the staff were really helpful with my problem, which made my experience of Sri Lankan's better.
The rooftop restaurant is great in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leejc223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights and were on the whole very please.
The location is great - short walk into town down a steep hill ( we got a tuk tuk back every time because were lazy!)
The staff were very friendly, the rooms clean and basic.
The roof terrace is a great spend an evening but would be made so much better with a better bar.
The food was nice be took about 2 hours to come! (hence low service rating)
Overall basic but very good for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at the Majestic Tourist Hotel in Kandy for four night during our two week holiday. The owners were just lovely and the place is very relaxing and feels like a home away from home. Kumari (the owner) helped us organise a driver and one of the days we traveled to Dumbulla and Sigiri. Nothing was too much trouble and we really felt looked after by her and also her husband.

There is a lovely sitting area/restaurant on the rooftop of the hotel. It looks out onto the lush green hill area of Kandy. We enjoyed eating the delicious food that the owners prepared in the restaurant (really great). We had a really relaxing stay, Kandy can be very busy and it’s nice to have somewhere to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Location was fine, walking into Kandy was quite pleasant, although a tuk tuk back, especially when it's dark. The hospitality here was very good and I would love to say good things about my room but unfortunately, it smelt of damp and only had one plug socket that didn't work. I moved rooms after this and the new room was much better! Maybe I was just unlucky with the first room was put in but I probably won't stay here again, I'm sure there are better value for money places in Kandy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guysie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

First impression of the hostess was not good, specially after a long journey. The food was nice. Rooms were dirty, but they cleaned when we brought it up. We stayed only one night and left to find a more central and cheaper place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

For a large group of twenty people, this hotel was perfect. Kumari and Joseph were exquisite hosts and helped us with all of our needs! Easy to access from town, fabulous views from roof deck, wonderful conversations with Kumari. Go visit them!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#39 of 54 in Kandy
535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#32 of 54 in Kandy
177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 54 in Kandy
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
688 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
0.0 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#33 of 54 in Kandy
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Tourist Hotel

Property: Majestic Tourist Hotel
Address: 83/40 Ampitiya Rd | At the End of Kandy Lake in the Beginning of Ampitiya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Tourist Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Tourist Hotel is located in a quiet, clean area within the Kandy city limit, over-looking rain forest and beautiful mountains. We are one and half km from the city center. We have 20 rooms with attach bath, hot/cold water, some of them have balcony and a/c ( a/c on add charge ) we are approved by *Sri Lanka Tourist Board as **A** Grade. Walking distance to Temple of Tooth, Kandyan Dancing Hall and Ayurveda center etc. Free Breakfast, Free Pick up from Kandy City on arrival, also we do Tours and Airport pick-up for very reasonable rates. Roof Top Restaurant over-looking Kandy Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Majestic Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing