We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the tourmaline”
Review of Tourmaline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tourmaline Hotel
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is the first hotel we felt was actually set up for 3 singles. We were in room 307 and all had a proper bed with no-one getting the short straw and having a foldout bed,so this was excellent.There was an additional sitting area so didn't feel cramped.The room also had the best assortment of media and recharge outlets of any hotel we stayed in.
There was no lift and the shower was over the bath so if you had mobility issues this might be an issue. The swimming pool was at their adjacent sister hotel Topaz so that entailed more steps but was not a problem for us..
Complimentary fruit basket and chocolates was a classy touch as was the welcome tea on arrival.
The Tourmaline is set high on a hill outside Kandy and was a peacefull stay with good views.
Breakfast was a la carte the first morning and a buffet the following day with friendly, helpfull staff.

Room Tip: request a high room to enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

I like this hotel alot , good location and view , nice room and clean , frindly staff .
Big swiming pool and open from morning until night ,
Only the internet is not free at room but it is free at looby only.

Room Tip: Choose the higher room better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a tour of Sri Lanka. Although the staff tried to make us feel comfortable, were friendly and very helpful, we were glad we only stayed for 1 night. We have been trying to think what made us feel this way and could only feel that it was us and not the hotel. The rooms were clean and well kept, the main reception was comfortable and the dining was good. The menu was set and you can have a choice of 3 options for each sitting, 4 of them. Which we found too many. So much so that when we left the table, we were full but felt unable to say to the staff that we did not want the next course. On arrival the manageress told us that although the hotel is 4 star they were trying to attract 5 star visitors and didn't know how we felt about that. My sister found this to be off putting from the start. The overal atmosphere was lacking in warmth. We felt somehow distant and felt almost unwelcome in some way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srilankabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed here as part of a tour for 2 nights,very clean with great views from the room.Food nothing special,tries to be something it isn't with wierd presentation(scrambed eggs in a ramakin with leaves & an olive on top for breakfast!)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

stayed in this hotel during my visit in Sri lanka. average hotel. not so good, not so bad...tasty foods, different type of tastes. my wife and my children enjoyed the view and the Kandy town. road is worst and very difficult to find the road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The hotels we stayed at either side of the Tourmaline were truly outstanding, so this hotel fared less well by comparison. The view was spectacular, food delightful, and staff friendly and helpful. However, it did feel slightly corporate and stuffy with less character than the other hotels we experienced in Sri Lanka.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank JulieAnnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The only hotel I've stayed at where the lobby (grotty) is worse than the rooms (nice)

Get the rooms an higher floors with the full view - breath taking

The food is so so and the mediocre pool, situated in the next door hotel, a bit of a hassle to get to

The massage, also in the hotel next door (sane owners) is terrible, horrid run down rooms and a masseur who seemed to be making up as he went along

Room Tip: Make sure you ger rooms on the side with the full view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turista42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#15 of 57 in Kandy
395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
855 reviews
1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 57 in Kandy
1,117 reviews
2 mi away
Randholee Resort & Spa
Randholee Resort & Spa
#20 of 57 in Kandy
432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#13 of 57 in Kandy
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourmaline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourmaline Hotel

Address: Aniwatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £54 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tourmaline Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2009, Hotel Tourmaline has evolved over the years to portray a resort lifestyle that caters to the discerning traveler. With painstaking attention to detail—from its elegant exterior, cuisine and ambience, the hotel is ideal for both the business as well as leisure traveler. The natural scenic beauty that surrounds the hotel creates the perfect relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy the many modern amenities that make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tourmaline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing