We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland and too far from town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tourmaline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tourmaline Hotel
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bland and too far from town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a bland corporate hotel which was completely devoid of atmosphere when we stayed in July. There's nothing specifically wrong with it - the rooms are spacious and clean with all the facilities you'd expect from a $120 a night establishment but still felt overpriced. The hotel is situated about 2km from Kandy centre and is right at the top of a hill so, whilst the views are great, the walk back from town is less so. On our first night we arrived late so ate in near solitary splendour in the hotel restaurant. Again, nothing wrong with the food or service but there was a complete lack of atmosphere and it was definitely priced for a corporate clientele. There's free wi-fi in the lobby (chargeable in the rooms) with the drawback that you have to endure the plinky plonky piped piano music. One thing to be aware of is that the hotel (and Agoda) advertises a gym but this no longer operates.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    150
    48
    10
    11
See reviews for
76
178
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

On arrival we lit a candle and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Our name was on the board to welcome us. The room was fantastic views amazing, we had a basket of fruit and chocolates awaiting us on our bed so thoughtful. The food was amazing, wifi brill. The only drawback is the pool but we were told this will be sorted soon but hey that was just a blip. I had a brilliant time here and would go back at the drop of a hat. Thank you for making our stay fantastic Tourmaline.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 608debbieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear 608debbieh,
Greetings From The Tourmaline...!
Thank you for your fabulous review and taking the time to share it on the site which you have also donated valuable advise even to the clients who will travel alone in the future.We agree that the view from the tourmaline is second to none.By lighting a floating welcome candle We do promise each and every guest that we will look after and give away unforgettable memories to take back home and also we stay in contact thereafter.The name on the notice board indicates you are treated royalty and your presence at the tourmaline is highly recognized.please keep us notified about your next visit enabling us to Surprise you with many more.Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogmore By Sea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Booked through Agoda we were expecting a newly refurbished room, we got a very tired room with a saggy bed, although the view was great. Food was average and the hotel is a fair way out of Kandy. We would look to stay elsewhere if we return to Kandy, value for money was not good compared to other hotels we used on our 2 week Sri Lanka holiday.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel if you want a comfortable bed and a well presented room, all rooms have gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed one night with our family of five. Great views over Kandy. Rooms very well appointed, and the food enjoyable and well priced. Service was attentive. We had a minor problem with our room, and the staff were very keen to understand d the problem and resolve it next time. Our room was close to the stairwell (there are no lifts) and early morning noise from the hotel staff woke us up. Recommend a room at the end of the corridors.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Terry_Canberra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear Terry_Canberra2,
Greetings from The Tourmaline...!
We would like to express our sincere appreciation for taking the time in publishing your very nice detailed review on your recent holiday at The Tourmaline. It’s our pleasure that you enjoyed our Hotel with its latest facilities and the personalized service experience from our team and that we have exceeded your expectations as usual.We agree that the hotel location with it's view is second to none other.We appreciate your comments,suggestions and we will definitely take them into immediate Rectification.Hope to see you & your family during the next visit to SL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

The Tourmaline was on a hill overlooking Kandy and the view day or night was breath taking. The rooms were superb with a large bed, fruit basket, mini bar and air con. The pool was on a terrace next to the hotel and was very clean, with a small bar. Dinner was an a la carte menu and at this time I was craving for something other than curry so opted for lamb on night one and kebab on the second. Both were fantastic and a nice change to curry, although the curries are really nice.
The only disappointment was breakfast as it was fairly basic, compared to most of the other hotels I stayed in. Other than a chef cooking you an omelette, the choice was fruit, toast, pastries and cereals.

Room Tip: Definitely a view over Kandy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Chris W,
Greetings from Hotel Tourmaline/Topaz...!
Thank you for staying at Hotel Tourmaline on your recent vacation, and for having taken the time to share your experience on this forum.Indeed, we have very spacious, luxury rooms & suites furnished with high quality furniture placing latest amenities,our rooms designed to give guests a restful experience offering the choice to select a view of city or mountain.glad that you enjoyed dining at our fine dining restaurant which serves traditonal & authentic international cuisines.Your comments are very much appreciated about the breakfast which we have already improved,and we will be delighted to receive more suggestions from our valuable guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

first time i arrive in the Srilanka i stay in the Colombo,
the people there are very nice and i got the information about the tourmaline hotel in kandy and i would like to try to stay there. the first time i arrive there it was very nice the staff are very friendly and the food for dinner is very nice. the good thing is in the morning you open the window from your room you will feel fresh air come trough yur nose its was really wonderfull and excelent experience to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topanenergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear topanenergy,
Greetings from Hotel Tourmaline.....!
We love reading the detailed reviews and comments that we get from our guests but sometimes somebody says it all in just a few words and you have done exactly that.We are very pleased that you took up recommendation from another person & We lived up to your expectations with unique treat & comfort.Hotel Topaz & The Tourmaline is a place for relaxation and there is no place better than us.Our guest relations officers will keep in touch until your next visit to Mclarens Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Tourmaline during our trip to Sri Lanka. Staying at this hotel really made our trip to Sri Lanka the success that it was. Michel, the front desk executive was superb and took care of us like we were the only guests at the hotel. He not only helped us coordinate everything from going into Kandy for a beer to a rafting and cycling trip, but he ensured we had a good experience and saved us money in the process. The driver met us at the Colombo airport on time and took us to Kandy (about a 2 hour drive in heavy traffic and windy roads). We were welcomed by candles, tea and a cold cloth. Our room was beautifully decorated with flowers congratulating us on our anniversary. We also received such decorations during our stay and on departure. We had a huge basket of wonderful fruit in our room as well. We were also provided a fantastic cake for our anniversary. The room was impeccably clean and maintained, even on the day of checkout. The bathroom had a shower/bath with plenty of hot water (takes a few minutes), shampoo, lotion, bath gel, toothbrush, shaving kit, robe and slippers. Bed was large and comfortable (beds on this side of the world tend to be harder in general). The bedding consists of a sheet, but the ac worked so well, I had to grab the blanket provided in the closet. The minibar was extremely reasonable as was the drinks in the lobby bar. I highly recommend Michel for all your needs. He was the most professional and efficient individual I have ever encountered. He met us each day with a handshake and the arrangements all sorted out. Whenever we needed anything he was there to assist. Our rafting/cycling trip and local sites tours were wonderful. I can't thank him enough for making our trip to Sri Lanka fabulous. I also want to thank the staff in general. Everyone was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coquelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear coquelle,
Greetings from Hotel Tourmaline.....!
We would like to thank you for the wonderful feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We are very happy that you liked our hotel with all its facilities and services,also to learn that the service which you experienced from our staff including specially mentioned names met or even exceeded your expectations,we are fortunate and very proud of the commitment from our staff. We take great care to ensure that they are well-trained and well cared for. I shall pass your kind words on to them.We do have all facilities under one roof to make our guests feel home away home,awaiting to suggest your planning of exploring our land like no other at economical,safe & conveinient way on your next visit to SL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#10 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.0 mi away
Randholee Resort & Spa
Randholee Resort & Spa
#21 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourmaline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourmaline Hotel

Property: Tourmaline Hotel
Address: Aniwatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tourmaline Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2009, Hotel Tourmaline has evolved over the years to portray a resort lifestyle that caters to the discerning traveler. With painstaking attention to detail—from its elegant exterior, cuisine and ambience, the hotel is ideal for both the business as well as leisure traveler. The natural scenic beauty that surrounds the hotel creates the perfect relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy the many modern amenities that make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Tourmaline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing