We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Tourmaline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tourmaline Hotel
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Brillaint hotel, beautiful rooms and hotel in general, very clean. Very attentive staff, with superb customer service skills. Stayed for one night and wished it had been longer. The staff made you feel as if you were the only guests in the hotel and gave a very warm welcome. The rooms were very modern, we got a fruit basket and chocolate truffles on arrival. Would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jasmin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Reviewer,
A “Great” review. It’s lovely to hear that you really enjoyed your holiday with us. If you want fantastic and varied food, excellent & exceptional service and all in a beautiful & unique location, then don’t look any further than The Tourmaline.we knew(even before you arrived)that you and your family would love to occupy the interconnecting unit and definitely your family will get the same on your next stay with us,our guest relations will be in contact with you until your next visit.thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed in 6 different hotels during our tour of Sri Lanka and this was the best - both for service and situation. Beautiful view (Room 311 had it all) and friendly but efficient staff. Stayed for 2 nights and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 311 was quiet and had a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mutare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Reviewer,
A “Wonderful” review. It’s lovely to hear that you and your family really enjoyed your holiday with us in the interconnecting family unit overlooking the kandyan kingdom,If you want fantastic and varied food, excellent service (with a smile) and all in a beautiful location, then don’t look any further than The Tourmaline because we are the only kind of hospitality establishment which innovates and cater to the needs of any customer with a truely hospitable heart.We thank you for spending time to share your thoughts - your comments are very much appreciated. We will be delighted to welcome you back on your next visit in order to indulge you & your family once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We got moved here as part of our one night Kandy stay, after we were originally due at a riverside hotel (which disappointed me as I'd hoped to do some fishing!)

First impressions after winding a long long way up a steep hill were that this place looked very 80s corporate, lots of concrete etc.

However inside it was pretty nice, quite chic and it had quite a warm quirky retro feel to it. The room was very very nice, very spacious with low chunky teak woods everywhere.

The bathroom was glass with bamboo screening which allowed a sense of open plan and added to the spacious feel AND this meant you could enjoy the AMAZING view of kandys rural green perifery whilst one showered! Bathroom units themselves were beautiful clean marble.

We stayed during Poya which meant it was dry, but we snuck our own bottle of spirits into the bar to add to our cokes whilst we played pool.

What was a little odd but at the same time quite nice was that in this very large hotel we were the only guests (along with two sets of couples we were doing the tour with).

It meant impeccable levels of service but just no real atmosphere.

The food was quite poor I have to say-I had tuna thinking it would be delicious and fresh and it was tough over cooked under seasoned and full of bones. I think a few of the others enjoyed their food though.

I marked the cleanliness down because of the pool (located up from the hotel all on its own) as it just felt a little old and rough around the edges, not the cleanest of renderings concrete etc.

Overall id recommend staying here for a few nights in Kandy, amazing views and rooms, just don't expect too much character or 5 star dining.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westboundagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Your comprehensive review makes lovely reading and it says it all. You obviously had a wonderful time and we are grateful for your nice comments & suggestions and for taking the time to post it on Tripadvisor.
Glad to know that you were impressed about our rooms and the cool elegance of marble and wood reflects The Tourmaline's luxurious décor. Each of the rooms and suites is furnished with high quality wooden furniture & fixtures, designed to give guests a restful experience. The contemporary, superbly furnished rooms with it's facilities & amenities accommodates you either with a panaromic view of the mountains or the hill capital of SL(Kandy city).While thanking once again Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel has the advantage of sitting high on a hill above Kandy, so the views are wonderful and, on the breeze, you can hear the Buddhist chanting coming from The Temple of The Tooth.

The disadvantage of this hotel is that town is not a walk away (unless you are extremely fit!), but a tuk-tuk ride is very inexpensive.

Food, staff and accommodation quality all very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrKaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Dear DrKaron,
Greetings From The Tourmaline......!
We would like to express our sincerer appreciation for taking the time in publishing your very nice detailed review on your recent holiday at The Tourmaline. It’s our pleasure, that you enjoyed our hotel with its facilities and the personalized service.The positioning of the hotel with a panaromic view is unique As we aim for a relaxing stay,while everybody is motivated to engage in recreational activities during the day and end of the day experience a spa treatment from the Premedion Spa(Only one in sri lanka).We do have courtesy shuttle service running to kandy city 6 times daily on hourly basis.once again thank you very much for staying with us and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed in that hotel for 2 nights in July to see Kandy. The rooms and the toilets have been completely renewed, they are now modern, spatious and well decorated, with views to the mountain, it will be the equivalent of a standard 4 stars modern european hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpfull, the food is very good and they have free wifi in the lobby. The hotel is in a hill, 2-3 km far from the center, but a tuk-tuk will take you to hotel for 300-400 Rs in 10 min, and unfortunately the classic hotels in the center (Queens, Suisse) have not been renewed enough and have worse quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mininani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear mininani,
Greetings From The Tourmaline...!
Many thanks for pointing out your experience at The Tourmaline on your july visit. We are delighted that you liked our hotel with all its facilities and services.We do appreciate your positive review of the hotel and its facilities including the highly personalized service(which we recognize every guest as VVIP), the food, the staff, and the fully equipped modern rooms.our aim is to make your mind,body & soul feel relaxed in this peaceful environment offering the choice to have a mountain or city view room,recreation activities,sight seeing,spa treatments etc.Thank you once again & we will be delighted to welcome you back summer 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a bland corporate hotel which was completely devoid of atmosphere when we stayed in July. There's nothing specifically wrong with it - the rooms are spacious and clean with all the facilities you'd expect from a $120 a night establishment but still felt overpriced. The hotel is situated about 2km from Kandy centre and is right at the top of a hill so, whilst the views are great, the walk back from town is less so. On our first night we arrived late so ate in near solitary splendour in the hotel restaurant. Again, nothing wrong with the food or service but there was a complete lack of atmosphere and it was definitely priced for a corporate clientele. There's free wi-fi in the lobby (chargeable in the rooms) with the drawback that you have to endure the plinky plonky piped piano music. One thing to be aware of is that the hotel (and Agoda) advertises a gym but this no longer operates.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

On arrival we lit a candle and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Our name was on the board to welcome us. The room was fantastic views amazing, we had a basket of fruit and chocolates awaiting us on our bed so thoughtful. The food was amazing, wifi brill. The only drawback is the pool but we were told this will be sorted soon but hey that was just a blip. I had a brilliant time here and would go back at the drop of a hat. Thank you for making our stay fantastic Tourmaline.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 608debbieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear 608debbieh,
Greetings From The Tourmaline...!
Thank you for your fabulous review and taking the time to share it on the site which you have also donated valuable advise even to the clients who will travel alone in the future.We agree that the view from the tourmaline is second to none.By lighting a floating welcome candle We do promise each and every guest that we will look after and give away unforgettable memories to take back home and also we stay in contact thereafter.The name on the notice board indicates you are treated royalty and your presence at the tourmaline is highly recognized.please keep us notified about your next visit enabling us to Surprise you with many more.Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#13 of 56 in Kandy
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#15 of 56 in Kandy
1,113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourmaline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourmaline Hotel

Address: Aniwatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £55 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tourmaline Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2009, Hotel Tourmaline has evolved over the years to portray a resort lifestyle that caters to the discerning traveler. With painstaking attention to detail—from its elegant exterior, cuisine and ambience, the hotel is ideal for both the business as well as leisure traveler. The natural scenic beauty that surrounds the hotel creates the perfect relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy the many modern amenities that make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Tourmaline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing