We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas night and dinner at the Tourmaline”
Review of Tourmaline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tourmaline Hotel
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A fabulous dinner experience on the Christmas night was experienced by our group of 6. In addition to the gastronomic delights on offer the staff doubled up as a choir to entertain the diners with carols, backed by a live band. The staff are chirpy and chatty. The Manager, Suresh Ratwatte is seen everywhere handing down his experience to all corners of the hotel. Situated away from the city, the night view from roof top of their adjoining sister hotel is breathtaking. Recommended for a stay in Kandy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panduka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,
It is such a pleasure to note that you have had a enjoyable X'mas eve with us, and we loved reading your review and the wonderful comments.
Thank you for your very kind sentiments about our food,the Christmas Seasonal Menu which we had on offer & very specially our own staff who sang carols for you.It is fabulous knowing that we have been able to make your Christmas a special and memorable one at Hotel Topaz & The Tourmaline.
We are happy to note your recommendation to others & your promise of returning to us and look forward to seeing you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Its a couple of minutes drive to the Kandy CBD from the Hotel.

The rooms were very clean and the balcony view of the mountains was nice.

Didn't get to taste the food there.

The place was well decorated on Christmas day and definitely a place to stay on Christmas day if you are on holiday.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kulanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind 5 star review of The tourmaline. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We thank you for your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and appreciate very much your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you once again on your next visit to Kandy. Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed the freshest and most tasty curry for lunch so far in Sri Lanka at the tourmaline. We arrived last night from Anuradhapura where we stayed at an equally amazing guest house called little paradise but the comforts of this hotel have put us into full relaxation mode. Tourmaline is on top of a hill way above the noise and chaos of Kandy which I can hear in the background as we soak up the sun by the pool. We are staying in room 305 on the 2nd floor. A good size room with amazing views which would be shared with any of the rooms on any floor on that side of the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank justinandclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We appreciate very much for the time taken to review us and commending our service,sumptuous food and great hospitality. Our guests more than often find the scenic view from any of our modern rooms as exceptional and relaxing. Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Having had a satisfying stay, we hope you will choose to spend your next stay in Kandy with us. Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The appearance of this hotel belies it's quality. Clearly the exterior needs a lick of paint and the bar area is straight out of a 70's spy movie but I think this adds to the experience of staying here.
The staff are excellent, the rooms (we were upgraded free of charge) are spacious and all have stunning views. I was concerned about the distance from Kandy centre but I think the location is perfect, Kandy itself being a lot more hectic than I imagined, it's nice to be out of the way.
If I was to visit Kandy again I would definitely make a welcome return,

Room Tip: Ask for room 301 (I think), end of the corridor, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaughan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We thank you for your 5-star rating for The Tourmaline and your words of praise. We are extremely happy to have delighted you with our warm hospitality offering a free suite upgrade,attentive service from our associates and made you feel at home on your visit to sri lanka. Your kind sentiments and also considering the hotel as excellent is heartening. Thank you for your assurance to return and it would be a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel when you next visit our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very nice looking hotel, rooms were lovely, on a hill with a nice view but still only a ten minute tuktuk ride into the city centre.

So we had a bit of a mixed experience in this hotel with the breakfast. First morning had a full buffet with fresh crusty bread and all sorts of things on offer. Then the second day it was a bit worse until on the third morning there was no buffet and old bread was served. Maybe just because they didn't have many guests?? Food in general was good, i ordered bacon with my omelet and got served a huge bowl few instead of the usual couple of pieces most hotels give.

If you go to the tooth temple make sure you go at a time that the tooth part can be viewed- ask ahead of time when that is exactly.

I have to mention the spa, as i am usually very picky with my massages. Neesha was my therapist, i had two massages with her. A swedish and a body package of two hours. In both she used wonderful pressure and i could see her training coming through. She deserves lots of praise!

In all we had a great stay and you can easily visit Dambulla and Sigirya on a day trip, if you ask a local taxi they charge about 6000 for the day, but make sure they don't take you to a herb or spice tour on the way back. We did at one called Isiya (or something similar) and they sold us super overpriced herbs with huge promises of their benefits but with no results. Save your money!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hibiscusandcoconuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel is beautiful, a wonderful view where my room was the view.
Staff always smiling.
Its location close to the park Kandy.
For Clean (room, bathroom and restaurant) excellent.
I have a note for some of the staff waiting for tipping by virtue of coming from the Gulf region.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADEL1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your five-star review. We are delighted with your high recommendation by sharing your recent experience you & your family had at The Tourmaline . It is always a pleasure to read reviews about guests enjoying the latest facilities & the exceptional hospitality on offer in totality. Thank you very much for your kind sentiments and we do hope your next stay in Sri Lanka will be at our Hotel. We value your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed at the Tourmaline for two nights during a tour of Sri Lanka. The location on top of a hill offers fantastic views of the surroundings. The two hotels up there, the Topaz and the Tourmaline, share some of its facilities such as the tennis court and the pool area. As most guests are out and about all day touring the area, the Temple, etc, it is very quiet and relaxing. Personaly, i would have liked a garden restaurant or terasse to enjoy the views outside with a drink in the evenings. As it is, all F&B facilities are indoors.

The rooms are very spacious and the furniture is very comfortable. The staff are exceptionally nice, starting with the welcome, the service at breakfast and dinner, and all throughout. The kitchen is one of the best for Sri Lankan food! If you stay only one night, don't eat out but stay for the experience. It's worth it.

Walking to downtown Kandy is possible and takes you up and down the hills along the narrow road shared by cars, busses, Tuk Tuks, etc. A ride by car will be easier and takes about 10 minutes.

The Tourmaline is definitely worth recommending and going back to!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your five-star review. We are glad that you had a great time at The Tourmaline. You have enjoyed the Luxurious rooms facing the greatest view of all,the food, atmosphere,variety of recreational activities with Having had a memorable stay, we hope you will be back for yet another experience of a Truely hospitable experience,soon. Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#13 of 56 in Kandy
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourmaline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourmaline Hotel

Address: Aniwatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £54 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tourmaline Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2009, Hotel Tourmaline has evolved over the years to portray a resort lifestyle that caters to the discerning traveler. With painstaking attention to detail—from its elegant exterior, cuisine and ambience, the hotel is ideal for both the business as well as leisure traveler. The natural scenic beauty that surrounds the hotel creates the perfect relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy the many modern amenities that make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Tourmaline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing