We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming stay”
Review of Tourmaline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tourmaline Hotel
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great hotel with beautiful clean, comfortable rooms. Enormous double beds.
Fantastic views. We stayed on our wedding anniversary and were greeted by a beautiful display on our bed with fresh fruit, chocolates and a cake.
Lovely rooftop pool. A big hike up/ down the hill though!! Be prepared if you fancy a walk.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We are very proud to have fulfilled or exceeded your expectations during your wedding anniversary stay at The Tourmaline. We are pleased that you highly praise the professionalism of our Employees and commend the services and hotel facilities along with all the wishes & compliments from our team.
We are very glad to have had the opportunity to host you and we hope to have the pleasure to be of service to you in the near future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Checked in the hotel after our journey from Sigiriya to a warm welcome with refreshments. Being our second stop in Sri Lanka we were expecting the excellent level of service and hospitality and were not let down. We were offered 3 rooms, all different but large and very clean. One had a Jacuzzi too! Pool is great but beware the wasps at nights. Breakfast needs to improve. Limited but good choice for lunch/dinner. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangy_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Tourmaline, and what a pleasure it is to note that your experience has been fantastic and memorable.
At The Tourmaline, we are all about attention to detail and taking care of your every need and want, so we have gone out of our way to ensure that your vacation spent with us is the most relaxing and luxurious time of your holiday.
We are looking forward to seeing you & your family again at The Tourmaline very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our first stop in Sri Lanka, and I was pleased that we chose the place to start our holiday.

We landed in Colombo in the afternoon and were met by our very patient driver (the plane was delayed) who was organised by Michel from the hotel. The drive was smooth with a very careful driver which, at six months pregnant, I was very grateful for. The price was also very reasonable and I would recommend using a hotel car. Michel was also particularly helpful when I needed to print out my train ticket and the internet wasn't working as he did this for me. When we left, he also provided information about our next destination, which was really appreciated. - He really is an asset to the hotel.

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a lovely welcome drink and were offered a candle to light, which was a nice touch. The check-in was fast and we were shown to our room which was very nice. The bathroom was lovely and well appointed (but bring hair conditioner as they don't provide it, which seems to be common in Sri Lanka). However, I would have liked a soap dish. The view was fantastic (though we didn't see this until the next morning, which was lovely to wake up to). The one issue that we had with the room was that the air conditioning was ferocious. One night I woke up shivering and had to put a jumper on to go back to sleep as I couldn't fix it and neither could my husband, so this might need looking at.

I particularly liked the pool, which was very welcome after spending a hot afternoon wandering around beautiful Kandy.

The location,on the hill outside of Kandy, was my preference as I wanted to be somewhere quiet and calm. It is really very close and very cheap in a tuk tuk, though it is easier to get back from than to get to Kandy, unless the complimentary bus is going (which is a nice gesture). However, I believe you just have to walk a little further down the hill.

The one thing I would say about this place, and probably the reason that I did not give it full marks is that the restaurant lacked atmosphere. We ate there one evening and for breakfast. The staff were mostly very nice, with the exception of one waiter who seemed a little over formal and stuffy which seemed to be a reflection of the atmosphere. There were also very few people eating there. Again, this may be just my preference, but I didn't find it a very relaxing experience. The food was OK, though the chicken curry I ordered was really quite cold. The breakfasts were adequate. Room service was good however, both in terms of food and service.

Overall a good choice and a very pleasant stay, especially as the staff are just so lovely. - I would recommend this place for those who would like to stay somewhere with some luxuries and which is quiet and calm. It is not for those who want to be in the centre of the action, which most people probably realise from decent research anyway.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wise1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Your title tells us that you had a fantastic experience during your recent breakaway at the Tourmaline also thank you for you for taking the time to post a detailed review and high recommendation for the future visitors.
We are glad to have been able to match your expectations through personalized attentions delivered by our friendly professional team members who stood out during your stay delivering extra miles to ensure you that you enjoy a comfortable stay even after you left our premises.
We are very glad to have had the opportunity to host you and we hope to have the pleasure to be of service to you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

From the minute we walked in Mitchell and his staff were super welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and the level of service was exceptional. It was my birthday the following week so they arranged a beautiful cake and a room upgrade also. Awesome!
Rooms have recently been refurbished to a good standard, the location is a little out of the city but the views are amazing from the hill top. Swimming pool looked nice but we didn't get to use it. Dinner at the restaurant was nice enough, reasonably priced. Buffet breakfast selection was pretty good, service was top notch.
All in all, a great priced value hotel, if you're looking for a nice quiet place to unwind with friendly service.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viran_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We appreciate your thoughtful posting on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at The Tourmaline.
Delighted to know that we were able to impress you with all the offerings for your upcoming birthday by conveying advanced greetings from all of us.
We are pleased that you found the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. That is the passion that we want all the team to convey.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. My team thanks you for your warm and appreciative thoughts hoping that we will see you again in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Nice accomodations, terrific dinner and breakfast selections for 4yr old and adults. Views are spectacular. Staff was friendly and helpful. There was plenty of room to stretch our legs on the property. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank insailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your posting on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at The Tourmaline.Delighted that our uniquely designed, spacious & stylish rooms correspond with your preference together with the expanded facilities & varieties of what ever you name it,
Kindly rest assured that your thoughtful words have been shared with all the staff. Considering your entire family experience was a wonderful one and that the team was pleasant,helpful and courteous.
We look forward to welcoming you & your family for yet another memorable stay with us on your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Hi - great hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Temple and ceremony very moving. Down the back alleys some great local food. I pity the poor iguanas in the lake foreshore now that virtually all the foreshore habitat is gabions. Saw one caught and dead and the rest have nowhere Tom forage for food. Engineers- half a brain and dangerous.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Tourmaline and for your kind review.
It is a pleasure to note that you were happy with the service and cuisine as well as our hospitality
We hope to have the opportunity to have you with us on all your future trips to Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were lucky enough to stay in The Tourmaline overnight as a couple, and having included in the special requests that this was a romantic trip, I was stunned to find that the hotel had upgraded us to their deluxe suite as a treat!!! It was such a lovely touch and it really made our trip. The suite was BEAUTIFUL, with corner floor-to-ceiling views of Kandy below, a hot tub, a flat screen, and a living area. The hotel also dropped up fruit and chocolates and generally made us feel like royalty for the night. The room was perfectly clean and beautifully decorated. The drinks at the bar were delicious and the barman lovely. The breakfast the next morning was very nice, although our late arrival meant that some of the food was either finished or going cold. Reception were so accommodating and professional, and lent a personal air to the hotel. Overall an excellent stay and a hotel that I would recomment to anyone travelling to Kandy.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ClairenmC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anura B, General Manager at Tourmaline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,
It is a pleasure to see such a fantastic review posted and thank you very much for taking time to do so. It is certainly a delight to see such encouraging comments.Our primary objective is to offer all our clientele value for money with personalized service and they leave with unforgettable experiences is our forte.
We indeed do know you will recommend us to all your friends and family and visit us soon. Until such time warm regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 57 in Kandy
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#15 of 57 in Kandy
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
2.3 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 57 in Kandy
351 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourmaline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourmaline Hotel

Address: Aniwatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £43 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tourmaline Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2009, Hotel Tourmaline has evolved over the years to portray a resort lifestyle that caters to the discerning traveler. With painstaking attention to detail—from its elegant exterior, cuisine and ambience, the hotel is ideal for both the business as well as leisure traveler. The natural scenic beauty that surrounds the hotel creates the perfect relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy the many modern amenities that make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Tourmaline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing