We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sharon Inn(Kandy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka(Kandy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
47
119
101
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
119
101
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hoteltuk tukswimming poolhotel is situatedtraditional sri lankanthe ground floorstayed one nightnice stayenjoyed my staypanoramic viewair conbuffet dinnerrooms are cleantour of sri lankakandy citymonkeysbalcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Booked to stay 2 nights - group of 13. Quoted $155 per single room bed and breakfast for 2 nights. Arrived only to be told it was a misunderstanding and that it was $155 a night for a single!!
As we had booked 7 rooms, it was hard to find anything else late in the afternoon so after some bargaining, end up paying $100 for a single and $120 a double bed and breakfast per night.

We did talk to Fredrick with manager about getting a further discount as there were so many of us. Perhaps another 10%. He seemed agreeable but was no where to be seen the day we left. He was not very customer focused and was unfriendly on the phone.

The positive side was the other staff were lovely, rooms were clean with a nice view and breakfast was great.

Agoda has the hotel at cheaper prices than what we paid.

Room Tip: the upper rooms better than ground floor/pool level
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tam987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We had two different experiences in our two nights there. Our first night was terrible as we were put in a room on the pool level that should never have been rented out. The shower flooded the bathroom and it was extremely noisey. We were moved our second night to a much better room with a fantastic view.

Overall the staff was great as was the food!

Two things to be aware of:
1. Unlike every other place we stayed in Sri Lanka they do not provide a complimentary bottle of water for brushing teeth etc and then charge 150 rupees for a small bottle which is rather ridiculous!
2. We got a small load of laundry done and were hit with a 3100 rupee bill ($25) so beware.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on pool level as they are located near the washroom and are extremely noisey early in the am.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEOCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Very good hotel the rooms were clean very good and huge. Stayed 2 nights 4&5 Jan 2013.
Good location and easy to city centre and the main attractions. There was a lovely view from the rooms and the city of Kandy.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATELMILAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

There was a change to our itinerary and we ended up using the Serene Garden which became a real treat. Without the help of a tour guide it is probably difficult to locate but it has a lovely hill side setting with great views from the walkways in the hotel and from the balconies.of the rooms. Access into Kandy by car for the main attractions only took a few minutes.
The room was very clean and tidy with effective air con and the bathroom was clean and functional. Room service was efficient and the food was good quality.
We stayed for one night experiencing the evening buffet and breakfast buffet and found both to be of a good standard with the service from the waiting staff being very good.There is wifi in the lounge area and we even managed to catch the UK football on the lounge tv.
An added treat were the local monkey troop that paraded outside your balcony and the outskirts of the hotel- just be careful not to show them too much attention as they can start arriving en masse, especially if food is involved.
The only drawerback is that there is only one small lift so if you don't like stairs or have mobility issues it could be an issue.

Room Tip: Ask to see the view from your balcony before accepting the room as not all have great views.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pwillholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We had a comfortable stay at this hotel for two nights, finding it to be great for a short stay in Kandy. Although we were there during a busy period (Perahera festival) we were delighted to find there was a family room available, with separate beds for my two children. The bedroom and bathroom was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a really nice buffet style evening meal with plenty of selection. My children enjoyed using the swimming pool, althought it is not heated and is a bit on the cold side since it does not get a lot of sun. They were also entertained by the families of monkeys climbing up the balconies. By far the best thing about this hotel is the amazing views of Kandy. The hotel is situated on a hill on the outskirts of the city, but this wasn't a problem for us because we had our own guide/driver.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Kandy lake
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elliewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews