We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in this pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serene Garden Hotel
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Southend On Sea
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in this pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My husband and I did not have high expectations when we went to this hotel. But this turned out to be a lovely surprise for us as we had left it to the taxi driver to arrange the whole trip to Kandy. We really enjoyed our two nights stay here. The location, the views, the room with a view of the lake and the surrounding countryside was great. The bed was really very soft and comfortable. The staff were very helpful. Although they upgraded us to a superior room, the sink in the bathroom was leaking and there was a flood on the floor. The food was good in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the hotel have better hill and lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    111
    94
    18
    6
See reviews for
72
126
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Arrived here for a one night stay whilst on a tour.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
The room was situated on a mid floor with nice views of the surrounding hills
Good sized room containing TV mini bar/fridge and modern A/C unit however only 4 coat hangers provided for clothes situated on coat hangers, but OK for a 1 night stay I suppose.
Bathroom contained usual complimentary Shampoo @ Soap however on first night the water was cold, but by morning it was hot again.
Nice Restaurant with pleasant views over Kandy and we had a Buffet evening meal and breakfast which had very limited choice.
So all in all a pleasant average hotel, fine for a short stay but wouldn't like to stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrandurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Booked to stay 2 nights - group of 13. Quoted $155 per single room bed and breakfast for 2 nights. Arrived only to be told it was a misunderstanding and that it was $155 a night for a single!!
As we had booked 7 rooms, it was hard to find anything else late in the afternoon so after some bargaining, end up paying $100 for a single and $120 a double bed and breakfast per night.

We did talk to Fredrick with manager about getting a further discount as there were so many of us. Perhaps another 10%. He seemed agreeable but was no where to be seen the day we left. He was not very customer focused and was unfriendly on the phone.

The positive side was the other staff were lovely, rooms were clean with a nice view and breakfast was great.

Agoda has the hotel at cheaper prices than what we paid.

Room Tip: the upper rooms better than ground floor/pool level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tam987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We had two different experiences in our two nights there. Our first night was terrible as we were put in a room on the pool level that should never have been rented out. The shower flooded the bathroom and it was extremely noisey. We were moved our second night to a much better room with a fantastic view.

Overall the staff was great as was the food!

Two things to be aware of:
1. Unlike every other place we stayed in Sri Lanka they do not provide a complimentary bottle of water for brushing teeth etc and then charge 150 rupees for a small bottle which is rather ridiculous!
2. We got a small load of laundry done and were hit with a 3100 rupee bill ($25) so beware.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on pool level as they are located near the washroom and are extremely noisey ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEOCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Very good hotel the rooms were clean very good and huge. Stayed 2 nights 4&5 Jan 2013.
Good location and easy to city centre and the main attractions. There was a lovely view from the rooms and the city of Kandy.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATELMILAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

There was a change to our itinerary and we ended up using the Serene Garden which became a real treat. Without the help of a tour guide it is probably difficult to locate but it has a lovely hill side setting with great views from the walkways in the hotel and from the balconies.of the rooms. Access into Kandy by car for the main attractions only took a few minutes.
The room was very clean and tidy with effective air con and the bathroom was clean and functional. Room service was efficient and the food was good quality.
We stayed for one night experiencing the evening buffet and breakfast buffet and found both to be of a good standard with the service from the waiting staff being very good.There is wifi in the lounge area and we even managed to catch the UK football on the lounge tv.
An added treat were the local monkey troop that paraded outside your balcony and the outskirts of the hotel- just be careful not to show them too much attention as they can start arriving en masse, especially if food is involved.
The only drawerback is that there is only one small lift so if you don't like stairs or have mobility issues it could be an issue.

Room Tip: Ask to see the view from your balcony before accepting the room as not all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pwillholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We had a comfortable stay at this hotel for two nights, finding it to be great for a short stay in Kandy. Although we were there during a busy period (Perahera festival) we were delighted to find there was a family room available, with separate beds for my two children. The bedroom and bathroom was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a really nice buffet style evening meal with plenty of selection. My children enjoyed using the swimming pool, althought it is not heated and is a bit on the cold side since it does not get a lot of sun. They were also entertained by the families of monkeys climbing up the balconies. By far the best thing about this hotel is the amazing views of Kandy. The hotel is situated on a hill on the outskirts of the city, but this wasn't a problem for us because we had our own guide/driver.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Kandy lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Serene Grand Hotel
Serene Grand Hotel
#35 of 54 in Kandy
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 54 in Kandy
1,259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Senani Hotel
Senani Hotel
#31 of 54 in Kandy
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
View 360
View 360
#28 of 54 in Kandy
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
1,053 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Garden Hotel

Property: Serene Garden Hotel
Address: 189 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Serene Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Garden Hotel is situated within walking distance of the city centre and overlooking the serene Kandy Lake. Above all these things, something unique about Serene Garden Hotel: its ambience is serene and the experience blends with the unique enchantment that Kandy serenely weaves in the mind of the foreign traveller, as it has done for centuries. From Serene Garden Hotel, it is walking distance to the Dalada Maligawa (The Temple of the Tooth) across the road from the Kandy Lake. This hallowed temple is synonymous with the historic hill capital of Kandy; it is where the tooth relic of the Buddha is enshrined, enduring symbol of a nation’s sovereignty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Serene Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing