We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly Noisy and we couldn't get a good nights rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serene Garden Hotel
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
447 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“Terribly Noisy and we couldn't get a good nights rest”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I concur with most reviewers - the rooms are adequate, the property is well kept, the staff are friendly although many have limited language skills, the place is a long way from the town/ lake up a very steep hill, so you can walk into town but need transport to get back up, and they rip you off by charging for the bottles of water that are offered to you on arrival.
But what none of the other reviewers talk about is the noise of this place. Maybe its the concrete walls, the tiled floors, the paper thin doors to the rooms or the maze like corridors, but you hear every conversation and every noise in this place.
I had requested an upper floor room and we received a 5th floor room with a view over tree tops and half built houses towards to unseen lake, however the problem was it was just below the Dining Room on the 6th floor, with the scratching of tables and chairs on the tiled floor at breakfast, lunch and dinner time. So we asked to be moved (they had a less expensive room but that was OK) on the second floor facing onto the central swimming pool and the other wing of the hotel. So then we got the noise of people jumping in the pool, we could hear everyone in the corridors arriving back to their rooms late at night, there was either a party on the premises or a disco next door and the noise came straight in the un- closeable bathroom window and then to top it off the air- con didn't work so we had to open the windows to get fresh air and more noise.
I would recommend that as you can see the sights of Kandy in less than a day, arrive early, visit the Botanical Gardens, The Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic if that's your thing, take a walk around the lake, perhaps have lunch in town then stay somewhere prettier, quieter and nicer somewhere else.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here, but if you must, avoid the fifth floor rooms below the 6th floor Dining ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    110
    94
    18
    6
See reviews for
72
124
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Although not a flashy place I must tell you I'm fully satisfied with the hotel. The best thing about the hotel was the view from the room. I was lucky to get the top floor (7th floor) room facing the hills. Even though room was little smaller it had all the facilities that you can get for the price. The place was very clean and very well maintained. Food was very good and staff was friendly. Another good thing about the place was it's pool. Large, well placed pool added big value and beauty to the place. The hotel is ideal for a family weekend and always remember to ask for a top floor room facing the hills when making a reservation. We really enjoyed the stay, so thank you Serene garden.....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vimuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This hotel was chosen for us by our Sri Lankan based tour operator as part of a nine day/eight night tour. It is set on a hillside overlooking Kandy.
We stayed for one night, our room, which was not huge, had a small balcony from which we could see the Temple of the Tooth. However there was air conditioning ,a minibar and a tv.
We were on a half board basis, the evening meal was a buffet with an excellent selection of dishes. We even received a reminder phone call, to check that we were coming for dinner as it was getting late. Breakfast was also to a good standard.
There is a small swimming pool, but this is set in the middle of the hotel with no views and we did not use it.
The hotel staff were polite and helpful, and the room was very clean.

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask for a high floor room with a view of Kandy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue147reethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights in April 2013.

Our room was close to the pool which was too cold to swim in even though it was very hot (no sun on the pool)

Our room was ok - the TV was very fuzzy, the wifi was just usable from our room.

The bathroom was terrible - dark, damp and full of mould.

The room had a lightly stocked mini bar but no free water and small bottles were 150 each which seems expensive.

Not close enough to the lake to walk.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juiced_Pixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with friendly staff, a great little bar and great food options. Free wifi and a pool that is so pretty. The rooms are on the small side. Don't drink the water in the room as it's 300rk and not on Te menu.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Serene Garden is one of the prominent resorts for lodging in Kandy !! The rooms are spacious enough & very clean , equipped with all the modern amenities !! Food is excellent & the level of service is appreciative !! You get WiFi free & certainly a plus point.Only issue is the rooms in the ground floor.Sadly they got no view & access is a long journey.Even the ground floor rooms are nice & I wish they had some view !! Really worth for money !!

Room Tip: Select a room other than the Ground Floor !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golden L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

My Hubby & I stayed one night here whilst site seeing with Suresh Tours. Suresh promised us a good hotel & he did not disappoint. The room was clean & comfortable with TV, fridge etc.. It is an ideal location for site seeing & not too far from Pinnewala Elephant Orphanage. Nice grounds & friendly, efficient staff. Nice comfy bed. Good AirCon too.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenya25_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serene Grand Hotel
Serene Grand Hotel
#35 of 54 in Kandy
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#45 of 54 in Kandy
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Senani Hotel
Senani Hotel
#31 of 54 in Kandy
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,242 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 54 in Kandy
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Garden Hotel

Property: Serene Garden Hotel
Address: 189 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Serene Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Garden Hotel is situated within walking distance of the city centre and overlooking the serene Kandy Lake. Above all these things, something unique about Serene Garden Hotel: its ambience is serene and the experience blends with the unique enchantment that Kandy serenely weaves in the mind of the foreign traveller, as it has done for centuries. From Serene Garden Hotel, it is walking distance to the Dalada Maligawa (The Temple of the Tooth) across the road from the Kandy Lake. This hallowed temple is synonymous with the historic hill capital of Kandy; it is where the tooth relic of the Buddha is enshrined, enduring symbol of a nation’s sovereignty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Serene Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing