We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Garden Hotel - Kandy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for one night on 15th October 2013 in room 711. We arrived at around 5pm after a long hot day visiting various tourist spots to find we had no hot water, no toilet roll in the room, the electricity kept going off and the room was very small. As it was only for one night, we put up with it. When we went to the restaurant, the staff were very abrupt and the food was not cooked properly, especially the chicken which still had blood inside. As we had a 6am start the next morning we decided to go to bed to get the night over with. In the morning we had hot water, but to top it off, the shower did not work!
All in all I would rate this hotel as less than 1 star, we can laugh about it now but would advise people to avoid it if possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandMHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our driver booked us here for one night. it was fine for a night , but I wouldn't want to stay much longer. It was fine for what we needed. Staff were lovely, food good , but we wasn't hungry as we had a late lunch.
Our bedroom was basic but had everything we needed and reception gave me a hairdryer.
the hotel needs some TLC, the bar area is really poor it looks like a storage room for chairs, but the staff were lovely.
It was a little noisy with some guest s although the hotel had very few customers that day, but some girls were really noisey.
As l say if you just want a clean basic room then this will be fine for you , I was happy just to spend one night no longer .
I would class this hotel as a travel lodge in Kandy, but the reception staff and all members of staff were a delight they couldn't do more for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My family and me stayed in the hotel for two nights. We had a wonderful time and really enjoyed the friendly stuff who was willing to assist in any way. Their service is really excellent.
Our family room was a bit far, but we enojoyed it. The food in breakfast is great even for the children and one evening we ate dinner in the hotel and enojoyed thier buffe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed in Kandy for one night and were struggling to find accommodation. The hotel had availability but were quoting 140 dollars per room and we needed 2. On declining their rates they quickly negotiated to 90 dollars per room. I think we however had the last rooms available as they were on the bottom floor and above the drivers dormitories which were quite noisy. The hotel was fairly clean but smelled quite strongly of disinfectants rooms were small with small shower room attached. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were travelling with two teenage children who did not want to share a double bed and they put up an additional quality bed in one of the double rooms. ( hotel does not provide twin rooms) . Buffet in the restaurant was fairly decent with wide international selection they also provided a quality a la carte meal for our vegetarian daughter. Highlight was the entertainment at dinner in the form of a Sri Lankan/ Latino trio of singers with guitars who were taking requests for songs from the guests. Up in the hills the hotel had some good views from the rooms and by transport was not far from the major tourist spots.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Devontiger Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I concur with most reviewers - the rooms are adequate, the property is well kept, the staff are friendly although many have limited language skills, the place is a long way from the town/ lake up a very steep hill, so you can walk into town but need transport to get back up, and they rip you off by charging for the bottles of water that are offered to you on arrival.
But what none of the other reviewers talk about is the noise of this place. Maybe its the concrete walls, the tiled floors, the paper thin doors to the rooms or the maze like corridors, but you hear every conversation and every noise in this place.
I had requested an upper floor room and we received a 5th floor room with a view over tree tops and half built houses towards to unseen lake, however the problem was it was just below the Dining Room on the 6th floor, with the scratching of tables and chairs on the tiled floor at breakfast, lunch and dinner time. So we asked to be moved (they had a less expensive room but that was OK) on the second floor facing onto the central swimming pool and the other wing of the hotel. So then we got the noise of people jumping in the pool, we could hear everyone in the corridors arriving back to their rooms late at night, there was either a party on the premises or a disco next door and the noise came straight in the un- closeable bathroom window and then to top it off the air- con didn't work so we had to open the windows to get fresh air and more noise.
I would recommend that as you can see the sights of Kandy in less than a day, arrive early, visit the Botanical Gardens, The Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic if that's your thing, take a walk around the lake, perhaps have lunch in town then stay somewhere prettier, quieter and nicer somewhere else.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here, but if you must, avoid the fifth floor rooms below the 6th floor Dining ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Although not a flashy place I must tell you I'm fully satisfied with the hotel. The best thing about the hotel was the view from the room. I was lucky to get the top floor (7th floor) room facing the hills. Even though room was little smaller it had all the facilities that you can get for the price. The place was very clean and very well maintained. Food was very good and staff was friendly. Another good thing about the place was it's pool. Large, well placed pool added big value and beauty to the place. The hotel is ideal for a family weekend and always remember to ask for a top floor room facing the hills when making a reservation. We really enjoyed the stay, so thank you Serene garden.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vimuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This hotel was chosen for us by our Sri Lankan based tour operator as part of a nine day/eight night tour. It is set on a hillside overlooking Kandy.
We stayed for one night, our room, which was not huge, had a small balcony from which we could see the Temple of the Tooth. However there was air conditioning ,a minibar and a tv.
We were on a half board basis, the evening meal was a buffet with an excellent selection of dishes. We even received a reminder phone call, to check that we were coming for dinner as it was getting late. Breakfast was also to a good standard.
There is a small swimming pool, but this is set in the middle of the hotel with no views and we did not use it.
The hotel staff were polite and helpful, and the room was very clean.

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask for a high floor room with a view of Kandy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue147reethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Senani Hotel
Senani Hotel
#30 of 56 in Kandy
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 56 in Kandy
1,338 reviews
1.6 mi away
View 360
View 360
#40 of 56 in Kandy
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#31 of 56 in Kandy
1,090 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#13 of 56 in Kandy
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel

Address: 189 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £47 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Garden Hotel is situated within 05 minutes drive from the city center and overlooking the serene Kandy Lake. Above all these things, something unique about Serene Garden Hotel: its ambiance is serene and the experience blends with the unique enchantment that Kandy serenely weaves in the mind of the foreign traveler, as it has done for centuries. From Serene Garden Hotel, it is 10 minutes drive to the Dalada Maligawa (The Temple of the Tooth) around the Kandy Lake. This hallowed temple is synonymous with the historic hill capital of Kandy; it is where the tooth relic of the Buddha is enshrined, enduring symbol of a nation’s sovereignty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing