We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited its purpose” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serene Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serene Garden Hotel
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Suited its purpose”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were on a 2day trip to Kandy from the coast. The hotel was booked by our guide and was fine for the time we were there. The food was fine as far as I was concerned, and I thought the salads particularly were tasty. Husband went swimming and the pool was quite cold. Internet connection was very slow when I tried it. Ok for email but too slow for online newspaper.
Decor is a bit dated and there was no in room safe. Unfortunately an IPad went missing when we were on the trip. The hotel has been helpful in looking for it, but no luck so far.

Room Tip: Room 521 where we stayed was directly below the restaurant and if you are a light sleeper the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    109
    91
    18
    6
See reviews for
70
122
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

More than meets the eye from first glance of the entrance and rather small reception area, with rooms across a few floors, a swimming pool (which we didn't use), lounge, and decent looking little restaurant. We only stayed one night, so our experience of the facilities was admittedly minimum. The rooms were compact but comfortable, with a little balcony and a view of buildings and treetops. Shower wasn't the strongest, but good enough. Breakfast was ok. Wifi only really worked in the lounge, though it was supposed to be available in the rooms. Good location if you have transport, past the lake and up a hill. Very close to a woodwork factory which, though obviously there for tourists' benefit, is worth visiting. I wouldn't quite rate it very good, but it's definitely good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjinsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel looks small from the exterior, but its actually big when you step inside. The rooms are clean including bed linen( a rarity in 3* hotels). The WiFi connection is very good.We were served welcome drinks.
The hotel staff is very helpful. The view from rooms is also excellent ,all rooms overlook kandy and you can get a minor view of the lake.Though it not walkable distance from the lake but the clean and friendly environment at the hotel made for it.

Room Tip: Take rooms on 5th/6th floor overlooking the town and lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandeepmota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

At first glance this looked like an uninspiring hotel to spend the night on our excursion organised by Luba from Bentota Club. However appearances are deceiving. On entering you discover what appears to the ground floor only to find the building is six stories high with the other five floors at the back going down the hill. The Hotel is spotless, with very comfortable rooms, free WiFi, many TV channels and an extremely comfortable bed. The rooms form a gallery around the pool with balconies that overlook the whole pool area. The evening meal was excellent with a variety of Sri Lanka and Mediterranean cuisine followed by an excellent breakfast. The staff were helpful and extremely attentive

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size, hence ask to see the room allocated before you accept it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for one night on 15th October 2013 in room 711. We arrived at around 5pm after a long hot day visiting various tourist spots to find we had no hot water, no toilet roll in the room, the electricity kept going off and the room was very small. As it was only for one night, we put up with it. When we went to the restaurant, the staff were very abrupt and the food was not cooked properly, especially the chicken which still had blood inside. As we had a 6am start the next morning we decided to go to bed to get the night over with. In the morning we had hot water, but to top it off, the shower did not work!
All in all I would rate this hotel as less than 1 star, we can laugh about it now but would advise people to avoid it if possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our driver booked us here for one night. it was fine for a night , but I wouldn't want to stay much longer. It was fine for what we needed. Staff were lovely, food good , but we wasn't hungry as we had a late lunch.
Our bedroom was basic but had everything we needed and reception gave me a hairdryer.
the hotel needs some TLC, the bar area is really poor it looks like a storage room for chairs, but the staff were lovely.
It was a little noisy with some guest s although the hotel had very few customers that day, but some girls were really noisey.
As l say if you just want a clean basic room then this will be fine for you , I was happy just to spend one night no longer .
I would class this hotel as a travel lodge in Kandy, but the reception staff and all members of staff were a delight they couldn't do more for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

My family and me stayed in the hotel for two nights. We had a wonderful time and really enjoyed the friendly stuff who was willing to assist in any way. Their service is really excellent.
Our family room was a bit far, but we enojoyed it. The food in breakfast is great even for the children and one evening we ate dinner in the hotel and enojoyed thier buffe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Serene Grand Hotel
Serene Grand Hotel
#40 of 58 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#36 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#45 of 58 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#10 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#22 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Garden Hotel

Property: Serene Garden Hotel
Address: 189 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Serene Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene Garden Hotel is situated within walking distance of the city centre and overlooking the serene Kandy Lake. Above all these things, something unique about Serene Garden Hotel: its ambience is serene and the experience blends with the unique enchantment that Kandy serenely weaves in the mind of the foreign traveller, as it has done for centuries. From Serene Garden Hotel, it is walking distance to the Dalada Maligawa (The Temple of the Tooth) across the road from the Kandy Lake. This hallowed temple is synonymous with the historic hill capital of Kandy; it is where the tooth relic of the Buddha is enshrined, enduring symbol of a nation’s sovereignty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Serene Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing