We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to buy a take-away”

Delight Bakers & Sweet House
Ranked #76 of 145 Restaurants in Kandy
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place to buy a take-away”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Doesn't matter are you here just for breakfast or you are on the way around SL - that is a nice place to buy a fresh bakery and sweets. Try cakes, toffees and other stuff: you can easily buy just by one piece. You wont be disappointed.
Coffee is Nescafe from machine, so do not expect something extraordinary.
But cakes are very recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank romanku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food but TOO CROWDED”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

So good food and good choice, budget (local) prices but I wouldn't go there again....too hard core, you have to battle to get a table. If you do end up there, watch for the endless stream of cream iced cakes coming out of the bakery, the Sri Lankans certainly like their sugar :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaliSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food for two”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

order one meal and share. Food excellent although it appears like fast food it is so busy that food is fresh. We shared a table with a local and took note of his tips for ordering. We enjoyed a great value meal and conversation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank smitty5608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“This place was my saviour”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I would walk down to this bakery first thing in the morning to treat myself to great coffee and bakery treats.
After a night of very spicy food it was great to place something not to spicy and something a little that I was normally accustomed too into my stomach.
There was always a good variety of treats to choose from, sausage in pastry was one of my favourites.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank winoNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Cakes and Sweets in Kandy”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Very nice taste of Cakes and sweets in Kandy city, with nice packaging and all. But little bit over rated items. They are getting orders for wedding or any other occasions for sweets and cakes.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hicheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delight Bakers & Sweet House also viewed

 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Delight Bakers & Sweet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing