We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a Dinner”

Flower Song Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 145 Restaurants in Kandy
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 1982, Flower Drum Restaurants has been pioneering Sri Lanka's oriental cuisine ever since.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice place for a Dinner”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Located middle of the city very close to the temple of tooth, this Chinese place is very good for a change from your normal diet.

I went there with my family members without booking the place and find that its almost full and reserved. Anyway the staff were able to fix 2 tables together and accommodate us.

Service is friendly but the atmosphere is not that good since lots of people gathered in a average size room kind of place.

Portions are very big and those are valued for money. Parking is available around in night time, but I wonder about the day time since this is one of the busiest roads in the city.

Finally I have to say food is delicious, but not exactly Chinese.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    43
    24
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
180 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Enormous portions and excellent Chinese food”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Alright, so it's classic South Asian Chinese food, as opposed to Chinese-Chinese, but it's really very good. The servings were absolutely enormous - we had to pack enough leftovers to last for lunch for two the next day as well. The one surprise was how quickly Kandy empties at night - we entered the restaurant at 830, by the time we left at 10, the streets were completely deserted and we had to walk for a bit to find a tuktuk.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Old fashioned Sri Lankan Chinese”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A part of the Flower Drum chain and the food is quite similar with a typical Sri Lankan Chinese menu. Ordered pork in black bean sauce, stir fried mixed veggies and sweetcorn and crab meat soup and happy with all. The steamed rice could have used sticky rice instead of the dry type they used but no other complaints. The decor is a bit faded but it also has a strange old fashioned feel that is a reminder of Chinese restaurants in Sri Lanka from the 80's. A step back in time with familiar flavors, smells and decor. The service is efficient and friendly. A good value for money option in Kandy where decent restaurants are hard to come by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nishan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mahen W”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

When our family wants to dine out, the first name which comes to our mind is Flower Song.
We never miss to order "flower song special" rice always.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MahenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

You can share a small portion here and it's more than enough, for about 600 rupees. Chicken chop suey was yummy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flower Song Restaurant also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Flower Song Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing