We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place-staff, especially wajira, were amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakshmi Guest House

Lakshmi Guest House
Ranked #95 of 138 Restaurants in Kandy
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan, Chinese, Seafood, Fusion
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing place-staff, especially wajira, were amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We didn't actually stay at this guest house but ended up eating here every day for 4 days! The currys were some of the best we have had during our month in sri lanka, especially the dahl, and was so cheap too. What made it for us though was the staff. Wajira was one ofthe most accomdating people. So helpful and proprovided us with great trips for a very reasonable price. Really lovely guy. When we were there he was thinking about setting up his own travel agents, if this is done when you go there I would definitely recommend it. You can't get a better guide :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thushani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great but basic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Rooms are basic and in serious need of even a slight upgrade. It the staff make up for it. They are really helpful and friendly. Great terrace, free wifi, good tea!! I would recommend this place to anyone.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ams81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Dinner only”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We decided to try food at another guest house and this one had been recommended in the Lonely Planet guide.

It was fantastic, the food was great and the service flawless. The owner/chef even came up and beamed when we said how nice the food was. He tried to fill us up with more after that but we just couldn't manage it! If I went back I'd really like to stay here - I hear the rooms are just as nice and with an atmosphere like that evening I know I'd be very happy!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mridrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lakshmi Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

This was recommended by a fellow traveler and was quite worth the stay. Lakshmi is a little off the main road, so it was quiet. The rooms were clean

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank p31893189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our home in Kandy, thanks Lakshmi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

We planned to stay at Lakshmi for a single night but after been blown over by quite reasonable pricing, comfortable beds, high level of service and honest advice from management on things to see and do in Kandy we ended up staying for 3 before heading to Anuradhapura.

Management kept our luggage in their back office at no charge while we were away from Kandy for several days. We later left Kandy for Ella in the south and were unable to match the experience had at Lakshmi. Thumbs up from Visser! :)

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VisserLabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakshmi Guest House also viewed

Kandy, Central Province
Kandy, Central Province
 
Kandy, Central Province
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to Lakshmi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing