We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite Surprised”

White House Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 141 Restaurants in Kandy
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: White House is a unique, concept restaurant in the heart of Kandy, a beautiful heritage city in the hills of the Central region of Sri Lanka. White House is a Bakery, Café and Restaurant all in one. The café is modern & trendy compared to the laid back, cosy, wooden themed first floor restaurant. White House serves up a multi cuisine menu including some of the best steaks in town. We also have a real Tandoor to delight all those who love their meats char grilled. What’s more, the fresh bakery & pastry products are a real treat to those who crave for indulgence.
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quite Surprised”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

we were quite surprised by the food here. it was actually quite good especially the vegetarian curry. The place itself is decorated very nicely and like the whole of Sri Lanka the staff are eager to please

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EnglandMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    395
    219
    89
    107
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice & clean bakery !”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Nice & clean bakery near the lake.
A large variety of pastries and beverages.
Good value !
Particularly recommend the sweet bread !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrorLevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value good food”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This place was better than the review in our guide book suggested it would be. We enjoyed a very good value tasty Indian meal (as a welcome change to the endemic rice and curry!). The service was a little slow but the food was definitely worth the wait and at a total cost of only Rs1140 for two (although we had no meat or alcohol) was probably one of the best value dinners we ate during a two and half week holiday in Sri Lanka.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miche07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The place was a bit hard to find, not unless the staff from the bakery will tell you that it is upstairs. The ambiance of the restaurant is really elegant. The food is tasty but one thing that made me think of not coming back to this place is their service. Extremely lacks customer service. They made us wait for our drinks for approx. 15mins. Then the food came after 10mins. Even the other foreign customers were quite upset with the waiting they have to endure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MissGeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unexpected find at the upstairs restaurant”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Upstairs at the White House we found a beautiful restaurant serving really excellent curry dishes and naans to die for. Puts many of the other downtown eateries to shame. Go there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WillGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White House Restaurant also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to White House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing