We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food with icy welcome and service”

White House Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 145 Restaurants in Kandy
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Italian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: White House is a unique, concept restaurant in the heart of Kandy, a beautiful heritage city in the hills of the Central region of Sri Lanka. White House is a Bakery, Café and Restaurant all in one. The café is modern & trendy compared to the laid back, cosy, wooden themed first floor restaurant. White House serves up a multi cuisine menu including some of the best steaks in town. We also have a real Tandoor to delight all those who love their meats char grilled. What’s more, the fresh bakery & pastry products are a real treat to those who crave for indulgence.
Limerick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average food with icy welcome and service”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Centrally located over a bakery. Fabulous decor and really clean.However, we received an icy welcome and I felt our custom wasn't wanted. Food was fine but portions were very small. Staff should undertake a course on people skills especially when dealing with women. It seemed as though men were king and not the consumer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globegirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    404
    224
    93
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Real coffee”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Only ate in the cafe down stairs rather than the main restaurant. Really tasty short eats and real coffee. Staff were very helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RC_Bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to escape the crowds of the Pehera ”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We had a family dinner here and the food was delicious and the service was good. We sat upstairs and it's a very colonial building and was great to escape the crowds outside

Helpful?
Thank Serenitee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N yorks
Level Contributor
228 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“decent cafe and restaurant”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We initially tried this place downstairs at lunchtime. Good food, clean, decent toilets and cheap.we had rice and curry, great cake selection, lovely milkshakes. mixture of tourists and locals.We went back in the evening and were equally pleased. Lovely room, heritage style, busy, but still had good service. Not the cheapest place we've eaten, but nice decor, all tourists dining there though. Very convenient location.
Would particularly recommend for lunchtime and snacks.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calicut, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“mediocre experience”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We went to this restaurant looking for some Indian food but were really disappointed. They did not have many of the items on the menu. Vegetarian options were even more limited. We finally ordered a butter chicken and a Chicken Tikka with a butter naan, Cheese and Garlic naan and a missi Roti. The Butter chicken tasted like chicken in Onion Chutney with oil having replaced the butter. We had trouble telling the butter naan apart from the Garlic naan. The Chicken Tikka was good but did not come with any accompanying chutneys. We asked for the Aachar that was part of the menu and that was also in the list of menu items not available. The Missi Roti… let’s just say, we did not eat much off.

BTW, none of this mediocrity comes cheap.

I would not recommend this restaurant to anybody.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_menons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White House Restaurant also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to White House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing