We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly couple, totally relaxed and welcoming”
Review of The Glen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glen
Ranked #62 of 360 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed a few nights here having stumbled across it due to guide book recommended guest houses being full. So glad we found it. The couple running this place were unbelievably friendly and welcoming, couldn't ask for much better. Booked some trips using there own transport, good prices and near faultless. Would recommend this place to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinbum999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for The Glen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

We've spent 6 days here. Lovely homelike atmosphere, friendly folks, clean rooms, hot showers and good internet wifi connection. A ten minute walk from the town. You can chill out in front of the house, use the kitchan fridge to cool some beers.
That about sums it up, recommended!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank jopie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Kandy in the evening, and upon enquiry we definitely wanted to stay here.

The couple who own the home stay are very proud of their home and that is clear in the quality of the rooms.

The bathrooms and bedrooms are very comfortable and clean, with good hot showers.

The location is great, near other backpacker lodgings and to the main attractions in town.

The price is competitive for the good quality of the accommodation. We stayed an extra night as we found The Glen to be a great place to stay.

I reccomend!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

A thoroughly unpleasant couple. We phoned ahead to book a room. The rate we were told was 3500 Rs which we were happy with.We went round an hour later to check in and was told by the owner that we should look for other accommodation as the room was reserved for foreign tourists. We said that it was us who had phoned. He then said that he didn't like us and we should go elsewhere so we did, in the tropical downpour at 9.30pm after a very long and tiring drive.

We are 2 Malaysian sisters who live in Europe hence our European voice on the phone. We have had wonderful experiences from other hotel owners all over Sri Lanka. This couple was the exception.
07/01/2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Haven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

This is absolutely home away from home. They have very clean and nicely decorative rooms. But mainly the family you stay is absolutely wonderful. After a nice day you can relax in front of the house with à nice cup of tea. The surrounding is nice and quiet. Breakfast is nice and the family offers transport. We loved staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce_Schel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Only 3 rooms, which makes for a quiet and relaxing stay. Pleasant dining area with communal table so easy to meet fellow travellers. Good breakfast, evening meals available nearby, or get your own picnic food from supermarket in the town. Handy for lakeside and places of interest.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed at The Glen 58 in Kandy and we found it excellent. Clean rooms with hot water shower and pillows that reminded us of small clouds. The owners make you feel very welcome at their place, the wife makes the best tomato-pineapple jam in the world!!!
We stayed for five night at The Glen 58 then we hired a van from them and that was great. We saw parts of Sri Lanka that we never wouldn't have seen without the car and it's driver. We went from Kandy to Nuware Eliya to Ella to Tiser Maharama to Galle to Bentota to Colombo and on to the airport. It was a 7 day trip with a lot of nice stops along the way!
The price was 450 rupees per 10 kilometers in this ac-van with 8 seats. We tried to fill the car up as much as we could and picked up a lot of hitchikers.
You can rent the car directly from The Glen 58 homestay or email [--] or call Nihal at [--] or try the very good driver Asvee at [--] . They also have a office number [--].
Highly recommended...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joakim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.6 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
711 reviews
2.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.8 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen

Address: 58 Saranankara Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 360 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: £26 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Glen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing