We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cooking demonstration”

Review of Nivahana Homestay

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kandy, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Japanese first
Any
English first
Anders48
Cordoba, Spain
2 reviews
“Cooking demonstration”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Nivahana guided us through the cooking of a delicious rice and curry with chicken.
Her enthusiastic and instructive way of demonstrating every step in the cooking really made us want to continue when being back in Sweden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickyowar...
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous pad”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

What a lovely surprise to find this welcoming & hospitable homestay in Kandy. The rooms & open spaces are delightful and so tasteful. Every care is taken to ensure a comfortable & fun stay including a fun cookery session & supper. We felt part of the family by the time we left. Thank you Duchy, Saman & girls, & an extra thankyou for sorting us out with last minute transport when the trains went on strike! (PS good luck with the badminton tournament, hope it goes ahead!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellakempt...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect, Welcoming, Friendly & Fun”
Reviewed 24 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

From the moment we arrived at this amazing home stay in Kandy, we were treated as family. Dushanti, Saman and their two girls were the perfect hosts, who ensured at every possible moment that we had a fabulous stay in their beautiful, spacious and clean home.
We were a group of 2 couples visiting Sri Lanka and Dushanti and Saman welcomed us to their home and made sure at every moment we fed, satifisfied and well-looked after. Dushys food is truly amazing, and on our second night of the stay she even taught us how to cook a traditional Sri Lankan meal, whilst the boys sat on the roof terrace and drank as friends.
We couldn’t recommend their home stay enough, we will stay in touch, and next time we are in Kandy we will definitely stay at Nivahana! Thank you Dushy & Saman did make our trip memorable! We will miss you!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lhang31
Austin, Texas
1 review
“A Perfect Start To An Amazing Trip!”
Reviewed 24 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

When we arrived at Colombo airport, we were driven straight to Nihavana Homestay and didn't get in until about 1am. Since it was so late, I didn't expect the house to be lively but upon arrival we were greeted with the warmest welcome from Saman, Dushanti and their two kids. They even prepared us a delicious snack, which was so needed after a 2 hour drive :) Not only is the house very, very beautiful but also spacious, comfortable and immediately felt like home. We unfortunately only stayed two nights and at the end, wished we had more time there. In our short time, the girls were able to squeeze in an amazing cooking lesson from Dushy and learned her talented cooking ways! She was previously a trained chef which is why all the food is soo delicious and also a jeweler/designer with a beautiful collection that I couldn't resist to buy a beautiful blue sapphire piece. We left with such a memorable experience and will never forget the great chats, cooking, the food <3, and our new friends which we will definitely come back to visit! I highly recommend anyone and everyone to stay here if you like to be well taken care of and want to be treated like family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell212
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the loveliest places we stayed in Sri Lanka. We wanted to move in.”
Reviewed 24 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Firstly I need express the care and comfort home owners Dushanti & Samman provided us on our stay.

Their home was simple stunning, we had the whole top floor with huge balcony and two bedrooms for me and my girlfriend and other travelling friends.

We arrived very late on the first night after driving straight from the airport and were greeted with smiles and snacks to eat on arrival.

The rooms were so clean and well designed with small details of toothpaste, plug adapters, WiFi and air con all coming as standard add ons.

The food dushanti cooked us each morning and evening was some of the best traditional Sri Lankian food of the whole trip. My girlfriend and friends girlfriend ended up helping and cooking with her one evening and was taught many local tricks and tips.

We never wanted to leave this place, they made us feel so at home and welcome in their home like it was our own. We will be recommending them to everyone we know coming to Sri Lanka.

We have made friends for life and we wish them all the best until we see them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1sally123...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FABULOUS, WARM AND WELCOMING HOME STAY”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Unfortunately we only stayed in this delightful home stay for one night but we have lasting memories of this lovely family and gorgeous accommodation. We were welcomed with a drink and introductions to the family who all speak excellent English. Our immaculate room was beautifully and thoughtfully prepared with fresh white linen and flowers. Recreating Sri Lankan food when you get home is one of the best souvenirs of a holiday in Sri Lanka so a cookery lesson from our delightful hostess before our delicious evening meal was a real holiday highlight! This is a really super place to stay, it has everything you need and more. I highly recommend this home stay in large part because of the outstanding and genuine hospitality extended to us by our lovely hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seanan05
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely stay at Nivahana...”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband, son and I visited Sri Lanka after many years and we had the best time at Nivahana. It was definitely a home away from home with the added comforts you seek in a holiday stay. The hosts were the most hospitable and nothing was ever too big an ask. Mr Saman made himself an excellent tour guide around Kandy and Ms Dushy proved herself a great cook with her amazing Sri Lankan cooking!
The rooms were so clan and comfortable. We can't wait to come back Mr Saman! Thank you for your family's wonderful hospitality

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing