We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for what it is.”
Review of Highest View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highest View
Ranked #50 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights. We were on holiday and were planning on staying in hotels rather than guesthouses, but were surprised at the costs in Sri Lanka so decided to save a few pounds. We looked around at a couple of other places in the Sarananka Road area, and Highest view seemed the best of the bunch. The room was basic, with just a bed, wardrobe and mosquito net, but was spotlessly clean.
We are experience travellers, having backpacked all over Asia, and in terms of guesthouses this is one of the better ones we have been to. We were charged 2500 Rupees a night for a room without a balcony, which, at about £12, is a lot compared to India and Thailand, but Sri Lanka is an expensive country. We found Tony, the owner, to be very helpful and he was very good to us whilst we were there. He organised tours to Sigiriya, Dambulla and Pinnewala at prices which matched what we were expecting (we compared elsewhere first and they were identical). The two drivers he hired for us during our stay were both excellent, with safe road sense and decent conversation english. I cant speak for other people's experiences but we had no problems with him at all. The house was quiet, with maybe 2 or 3 other couples there at most.
The views from the restaurant were stunning and the guy who ran it was again very helpful and good to us. The Sri Lankan food was good, but the western food was quite poor, but again that seems to be the case in other places too. A 10% Surcharge is generally added to most things in Sri Lanka, both rooms and food. It clearly states this in any decent guide book and is commonplace around the country. If you are an experienced traveller you will appreciate this place for what it is, if you want to stay in a hotel then you will be disappointed - but you will also have to fork out 5x more for the extras.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beng23586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Really traumatic time staying at this horrible place. Room was okish, crap shower and room open to corridor so could hear everything outside so out 1st thing the next morning (like a few others that have reviewed this place!), found somewhere much better which was much cheaper and came back to collect our bags. We had said we would stay for 1 or MAYBE 2 nights but the weird man on reception said we could not leave as they would be unable to sell the room again (this was 11am during the festival, the busiest time in Kandy). He said they had turned someone away already!
We asked for the bill and said that we would pay what we owed and no more. He got the evil owner who was shouting at us (and stank of drink). Eventually we collected bags and left, leaving exactly what we owed on the counter. The owner came after us shouting obscenities. Not a great way to start your day.
We were also hounded by the 'hotel's' driver the entire time we were there. He stood over us at dinner and breakfast asking where we were going etc. Very pushy.

Room Tip: Go to one of the other hostels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank _-M4rgaret-_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

First, it's not a hotel - it's a very basic guesthouse.

This place was highly recommended by my guidebook, so I showed up by tuktuk late in the day. Don't make the same mistake! He showed me a small room, absolutely basic, bed, fan m-net, not even a chair and asked $30.

I said it was too expensive, so he said 'no problem, you can stay in our other hotel next door'. The room was slightly bigger, just as basic and not that clean, but half the price and it was late, so I stayed. By morning there was no water, the bed was a rock and it was incredibly noisy with barking dogs, chanting monks and a chorus of crows at 6am. Checkout time is 9.00(!) not a problem as I was out looking for somewhere habitable at 6.30.

Don't stay at either of these places.

Room Tip: There are none
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a good transit hotel. It is basic, but clean and the staff helpful. Everything was greying with age, but not dirt. Our sink was broken and they really had no urge to fix it.

There was hot water, mosquito net, a great view from the restaurant and they have their own tuk-tuk which is very useful if you have a train to catch.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harobed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Amazing find at the end of a steep climb. Great views and own balcony. Very clean and owners very helpful. Good shower with hot water. Good value for money stayed for 2 nights wished we could have stayed longer. 15 min walk into Kandy. Paid 30000 rupees per night

Room Tip: We had a second floor room, there were rooms below us but they didn't have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y0rkshireLass58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Nice start, he showed us a good room for 3000 Rupies on the 3rd floor. After check in we had to get our luggage from another place close by. Coming back he told us that the same room was gone in the meantime, just a small (rabbit cage) was left - no refund or price reduction... We resisted several attempts to use the restaurant or wifi etc....

Room Tip: the higher the better... a lot overpriced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luxlait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

What a shame, nice location but the people (owners) are just awful. We were told not to bring food or drink into the hotel after I'd returned with a bottle of drink, I thought I had upset their religious beliefs but then he said to me "we sell that here".

Soon after the wife said "you have to eat here one day" then she said "you'll be eating breakfast?" I said "no thanks, we just have some small fruit in the morning" (as I've done every day) and she got upset and stormed off.

Later when we were going out to dinner he said "you must be back by ten pm" when I said sorry as if to ask for an explanation or reason he said "you come back by ten", not my idea of pleasant or polite! We will be leaving first thing in the morning having only spent one night here and made to feel most unwelcome.

I've found Sri Lankan people to be most welcoming and friendly but this has been the worst place in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pinheadplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#13 of 57 in Kandy
1,151 reviews
0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 57 in Kandy
575 reviews
0 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#33 of 57 in Kandy
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highest View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highest View

Address: 129/3 Saranankara Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Highest View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing