We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad,bad owners!”
Review of Highest View

Highest View
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highest View
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad,bad owners!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have been there for perahera event. We booked the room 2weeks before and we paid all the money before..fuor days plus the tip (10%) plus more moneta for the currency.
We are not used to do like this but kandy city was almost full booked for the most important event of the year for them.
So we paid trust on them. And we gave the tip before, i wanna repaet!
When we arrived we understood the mistake. Dirty room, (beatlles) dirty bed sheets( strange spots) , disgusting breakfast ( dirty dishes, bar food and i almost threw out looking inside the kitchen).
So we asked to leave the site two days before and to have back money, at least a part of. I mean the city was full of tourist so the fakesmile owner could rent the room easly. And for sure he did it!!
The worse moment was when the lady owner ( snake woman, really treacherous) stopped us for one hour to have back , 800 rupies, more or less 4€, or 6$, or 3£. Because she said the currency was wrong.
I got crazy. They will remember me for the rest of their life. I show them the right currency, srilanka official bank currency and the amount was more than I should give them.
Remembered them the meaning of word tip. Tip is something that guest or customer gives if they want to give . It's not a coercion. Right?
The other hotels close to this tourist trap was full of tourist and also the restaurants was overbooked while the highest view was always abandoned, deserted. Do you know why?
The highest view has no menu with price written or clear price and also the price for the room was double for me. I found it out, looking a piece of dirty paper under my bed seat.
He said it's for perahera event. I said it's a bill of the day before I came. The date on the bill was still there.
Sri Lanka is full of peaceful people and the most of them are hard worker to make tourist happy. And if you want to help them don"t spent time and money in highest dirty trap view hotel, please!

Room Tip: Don't go there..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    27
    18
    12
    24
See reviews for
8
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We were a little vary of place because of the review about the 'greedy owner'. Since we had no other choice we decided to take it and we were pleasantly surprised by it . We dealt with a lady with a warm smile who took very good care of us. The place is very clean and you have a better view of the lake. We faced no problems at all. The only con here is that there's very little privacy. You can hear people coughing in other rooms which means they can hear you too.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thatwild1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night. The rooms are clean and basic and the view is lovely. It was 5000 for a room with a view.

The restaurant is a complete rip off as the other reviewers have mentioned. Ask before you order! They add 10% to the whole bill. The view is great but that's what you're paying for.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LovesTheSun1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Wwe stayed for two nights in the Highest View II. Good value for money. The guesthouse is located on the hills around the lake (3 minutes away from the lake), in a very quiet area. The rooms are large and clean (no A/C). The mosquito net and bed sheets were clean. The rooms have very nice balconies overlooking the hills. Ask to stay in the Highest View No.2 (Lake Inn), as it is brand-new, when the Highest View No.1 is a bit older and noisier. The food served in the restaurant is nice, and the restaurant is located on the top floor of the hotel, hence you get a very nice view on the Kandy Lake. The water in the shower was hot. The landlord is nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Wish we had read Tripadvisor reviews/rating before checking in.

Honestly, the rooms are fine (especially the new ones next door, named Highest View II), but the owner sabotages himself with hidden charges which he springs on you only as you check out -- "10% service charge" on room rates, meals, laundry. We were just relieved that we had not used wifi (for which he also charges) nor taken any of his tours/cars, etc. which he clearly instructs his staff to push on us. Every evening started with "what are you doing tomorrow?" And every morning started with "what are you doing today?" Followed by suggestions, of course, using their services...

Overpriced Western breakfast (because Sri Lankan breakfast was "not available") was pathetic.

(On a different note: our best day in Kandy was spending the morning in the Peradeniya botanical Garden, then taking a tuktuk to the nearby Amaya Hills Hotel for a swim in their cliffhanging pool followed by a delicious lunch :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carstenoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We found the Highest View after a long walk around every other guest house in Kandy, and had only skipped it due to previous poor reviews.

Owner Tony (local guy who worked in hotels in Switzerland) welcomed us warmly with a bobble of his head, and showed us to our room with a great view over the valley below.

A steep hike up the road to the south of the lake, and built into the valley wall, the hotel was clean, suitable size rooms, en suite bathroom and a large dining area at the top (although we only had breakfast).

Twin beds pushed together for a suitable double, with tight mosquito net over to protect against mozzies (which never arrived in Dec).

Owner Tony pointed us in the right direction to see the sights over the town (head further up the hill on the back alley to the right of the hotel exit and up the stairs, turn right and along the road to the main viewpoint over the town).

He offered tickets to the Kandian dancing in town, which if returned, would not be charged.

Breakfast was fine, but nothing fancy - tea and toast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieb4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I stopped in to have a beer and curry one evening. The rooftop restaurant is pleasant with great views but it was the worse rice and curry I've ever had. I was still hungry afterwards and it cost 750 plus tax which is insane. The manager is so pushy with tours and meals even though I wasn't staying there. He kept saying you eat here everyday. After that it was uncomfortable to walk past there always being hassled for food. I would never go back or recommend this place to anyone. Worst guesthouse in SL.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank michelle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle Hill
Castle Hill
#50 of 54 in Kandy
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#23 of 54 in Kandy
361 reviews
1.6 mi away
SKYLOFT-KANDY by YATHRA
SKYLOFT-KANDY by YATHRA
#16 of 54 in Kandy
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#45 of 54 in Kandy
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#19 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highest View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highest View

Property: Highest View
Address: 129/3 Saranankara Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Hotel Class:3 star — Highest View 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Highest View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing