We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Sri Lanka”
Review of Forest - Glen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest - Glen
Ranked #39 of 442 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We just loved this peaceful and historical place to stay.
Once arrived we felt like in a movie and just adored the beautiful surrounding.
The house owner is a very interesting lady with a lot of stories to tell. She is a great host and really cares that her guests feel well at her home.
Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irena12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Forest - Glen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Forest Glen is a wonderful guesthouse only about 13 minutes walk from the busy centre of Kandy situated in the middle of nature. You will find peace and quiet here. Nice comfortable rooms with good beds. Indra is a nice and friendly host who cares about the people staying at Forest Glen. She can arrange all kinds of trips, tuktuk drives, taxi, etc and all without pushing. Just ask and she will help you. This is a place where you can breathe. :-)))))
Only one small 'disadvantage' if I may say so, after 2 weeks of cold showers I was dying for a hot shower, unfortunately there was no warm water in my room, the others had warm water, but I must admit this is an overall 'problem' in Sri Lanka. I would definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: If available ask for the big room with the double bed!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This guest house is situated in a quiet place in the nature, only 15 minutes walking from the Temple of the Thoot.We had a large room with a lot of windows and a balconery with a view on the wood. Indra is like a mother for the guests. Even when you arive late from a tiredfull journey, she will prepare a mail when you ask friendly. She loves to talk with the guests about our live events. The price/quality is perfect, and when you are looking for a cheap and respectfull driver or other hotel, she will arrange it for you. You can believe its always a fear proposal. Thank you very mutch Indra. We wish you many friendly clients.

Room Tip: Book 2 months before and ask for the big room on the corner at the first floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ludo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very nice guest house, beautiful location surrounded by nature, nice rooms, nice breakfast.... but most of all it is a very warm place to stay... Indra is really taking care of everybody and everything... She has this capacity to feel and see what everybody needs to feel really home... She helps everyone to find his or her way in kandy. She even organised for me a trip to a primary school I wanted to visit, and was so kind to accompagny me to show me the way...
And although this is a bed and breakfast, she was always willing to make us a lunch and diner in the evening on days when we came home tired... Thank you so much Indra! I can recommend your guest house to everyone! ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talena d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I had the plessure to stay a few days at Forest Glen in Kandy. The rooms are clean, the reception, breakfast and evening meals are perfect price/quality but above all, the host lady Indra is a real friendly women with the hart at the right place. It was more than perfect price/quality!!
I would recommend it to everyone!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Forest Glen is a beautiful family run Guest house/Holiday Bungalow situated in Kandy Town in close proximity to Udawattakele, Royal Forest Park. The place is well maintained, exceptionally clean and the surroundings very peaceful. The rooms are basic but comfortable with Double or Twin beds and Ceiling fans. All rooms have an attached shower and toilet. The Host and Hostess always have time for you, are very helpful and always at hand. The breakfast is excellent.

Can unhesitatingly recommend to all fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zaidean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

perfectly located in the middle of the jungle, up on the hill where you can enjoy the natural beauty of kandy. 15mins walk to downtown kandy, is quite difficult to find even you take the tuktuk, you need to follow the "FG" sign....rooms are basic, but spacious and with hot water, ok cleaness, ok breakfast....
旅馆在半山上,被绿树包围,安静,远离康提的噪杂;离鸟类保育区很近,观鸟者的天堂;地方很难找,tuktuk司机也不知道,最好带上店家的电话,上山之后可以跟着FG的标志走。晚上出门要带手电,路上没灯的。房间较大,早餐过得去。

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emily_GZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 56 in Kandy
536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
711 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castle Hill
Castle Hill
#52 of 56 in Kandy
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
WindsWood Villa
WindsWood Villa
#26 of 360 in Kandy
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lady Gordons Homestay
Lady Gordons Homestay
#18 of 442 in Kandy
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galaxy City Hotel
Galaxy City Hotel
#28 of 442 in Kandy
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest - Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest - Glen

Address: 150/6 Lady Gordon's Drive, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £21 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest - Glen 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Forest - Glen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing