We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply appalling!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Theva Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Theva Residency
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply appalling!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

This hotel is to be avoided at all costs. We’d initially intended to stay for 3 nights but checked out after the first. Why? Because the hotel was a complete rip-off!! The room decor looked incomplete, our bathroom shared a window with another room that was frequented by hotel staff (such that I didn’t know when it was ‘safe’ to take a shower), the sofa cover in our room was covered with stains, and the list goes on. When told about our displeasure, the management made no apologies. Thanks to George, our driver (who we hired for the first 5 days of our 9-day trip) we managed to secure a room for the next 2 nights at another way-more-comfortable hotel at much much lower rates! We stayed at numerous hotels during our stay in Sri Lanka, and Theva would be the only hotel that we’d never return to / recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iluvholidaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    175
    45
    10
    16
See reviews for
94
344
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

This hotel is the best we stayed in the whole of Sri Lanka! We loved the staff, the food, the views, the pool and our room. Simply cannot complain about anything. I have to mention the food again - because it is absolutely amazing! Theva is perfect for honeymooners (like ourselves). The staff made us feel very welcome and were very accomodating. The stay at Theva is well worth the price!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julz17171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
196 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 806 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

The hotel is perched on a hilltop overlooking Kandy, far away from the chaos and traffic of the city. The view, especially at sunrise, is majestic, with the whole city below you and green hilltops in the distance.
The rooms are quite small, quite modern with contemporary artwork on the walls.The cleanliness of the rooms is not unfortunately one of the strong points of the hotel, but this was more than made up by the quality and variety of the food in the restaurant both for breakfast and for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

We've been living in Sri Lanka for about 18 months and have been mostly disappointed with the hotels and B&Bs here. The staff is usually poorly trained, the food is normally unspectacular, and the cleanliness is often substandard. All that is different at Theva. It's a lovely place with a great staff, fantastic food, a beautiful setting, and extremely clean, comfortable rooms. If you are coming to Sri Lanka, and plan on visiting the Kandy region, this is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKM-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

We booked the hotel through our agent in Sri Lanka as a last minute option as he could not get the hotel we requested. Theva is marketed as a Five Star hotel while its rooms, facilities and the room standards are not even three star. The rooms are very small and not cleaned well. The amenities like slippers are washed and reused. Since rooms are not large enough and not sound proofed there is no privacy. The owners of the property has ensured that they get maximum profit by having maximum no of rooms like pigeon holes. We will never stay and not recommend this place. There are much better options.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hassan6181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Theva Residence had been advised to us by our good Colombo friends: Mr and Mrs Heenitigala.
Our driver had never been there before and at first we thought we could never find the place, going up the hill by a winding, getting smaller and smaller road, full of holes, thinking ending in nowhere place.
But coming to Theva: what a big surprise. The place itself looks very neat and tidy and well organized. The view is overwhelming.
Our room was a modern, boutique style design, with a very large and wide window, so from your bed you overlooked the hills of Kandy, a wide and comfortable bed and lovely decoration.
The only thing we did not like that much was the corner where the bathroom was - this looked a bit like an aquarium. However the bathroom/facilities were very good.
Food: the first night we enjoyed the exquisite way of presenting food and taste was very good. Because the first night was of high standard, the second night was also good, but a little bit less than the first night.
Breakfast was included, but you could choose everything from the menu.
They even advised more than asked for, like a fruit platter for desert.
Although Theva has a small swimming pool, it's nice just for relaxation and have a dive.
Theva certainly is a place to recommend to friends for unwinding after a day full of excursions and being pampered by a nice and friendly staff.
Rens and Corry Aarts, Almere, The Netherlands

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RensandCorryAarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

I usually read the reviews before I book, but we got delayed because our 'agent' in Sri Lanka took his sweet time get back to us. He was recommend by a friend.

By the time he got all the hotels they were booked and we barely got a place in Kandy to stay.

We got this place cause we pulled some strings and we had no choice but to accept. The rooms were way way too espensive, the rooms were normal and the staff although helpful had no idea what they are doing.

They goofed up time after another, we paid all this Money and got nothing to talk about expect being ripped off. They had not been trained at all, possibility picked up from the street and asked to server.

The location is remote in a residential neighborhood and dogs were barking all night long. The Resturant was super expesive.


Save your money go to a real 5 star and pay a quarter of the price and be in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanicoloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
2.4 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#8 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
10.1 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 65 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
2.7 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 65 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theva Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theva Residency

Property: Theva Residency
Address: 11 / B5 / 10 - 1, 6th Lane | off Upper Tank Rd, off Circular 2 Rd, Hantanna, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Theva Residency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A slice of Heaven… Nestled in the Hantana Hills Theva sits overlooking Kandy town. As you drive through the windy roads up the Hantana hills one can see the ethereal glistening of small city lights filling the night sky. An undoubtedly magical entrance to this boutique hotel. The food is divine and prepared with the utmost devotion and attention to detail. The Chef and his team have really been able to bring world-class food to this remote location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Theva Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theva Residency Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing