We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel in Kandy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Devon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Devon
Ranked #234 of 356 Kandy B&B and Inns
Jakarta
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Average hotel in Kandy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed two nights in Devon Hotel. The room was large and carpeted. Bathroom was clean. But the air con was really cold and the remote control didnt seem to work. We have to turn off the aircon cos it was freezingly cold at night.

Breakfast was pretty good, with an egg station, toast, bacon, etc

Location is quite far from most Kandy attractions, unless you have your own trasportation, it takes effort to go to downton Kandy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Jkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    52
    65
    33
    24
See reviews for
43
72
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed here for one night only while visiting Kandy and nearby sites of interest. (we were staying in Waikkal for most of our trip). The hotel is very basic, but ok. I would not have wanted to spend more than one night here. It is a bit of a trek to the Temple of the Tooth and the lake and anywhere else in Kandy so that is not very ideal. We had a small balcony but the nice view was on the other side.
The staff was very friendly and the restaurant stocks Sri lankan wine which is cool!
The pool looked nice but didnt have time to go in sadly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudia186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durgapur, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

While my tour to Srilanka , I had a stop over at Devon. It was a BB scheame.I have taken a suite room,.Foods were excellent & portions were more than sufficient. . The bakery under the hotel was empty but with some old breads, Stuffs are good, only the lift & coridoors needed a cleaning drive.
Kandy is the holy Pilgrimage for a buddhist,& the tooth relik temple is only a few kilometer from here.Overall Defenitely good.

Room Tip: Go at Vaishak Foya time in march.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amitsarkardsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

We visited Kandy for one day to visit friends as I had lived in Kandy before. Our choice of hotel was perfect. The welcome was good and the staff are very smartly dressed, very friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and the restaurant excellent with good service. This is the perfect place to stay when you visit Kandy and I hope to return to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IBen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

We arrived at the Hotel Kandy at about 3:30pm and was booked in which took ten minutes, our bags where carried by a porter which consisted of a ruck sack, he waited at reception with us and then took us up in the lift to our room. Porter showed us how to use the air conditioning which had a problem but soon sorted it out and it worked perfectly and then asked us if everything was okay and then left. Five minutes later we had a knock on the door and a waiter did bring us a welcome drink which was most refreshing and gladly welcomed.

Room
The room was a large size with patio doors and a balcony, the view was at the back of the hotel so we had a side view to the pool and the rest was greenery and hills, not a delightful view but acceptable. Bed was large and very comfortable and with clean linen on and the pillows where plumpy which was fab. Carpets in room where okay and bathroom had a bath which was nice to have a soak in, lovely white fluffy towels and was tiled from floor to ceiling so it didnt matter if water splashed onto the floor as it could be soaked up by floor mat/towel. Massive wardrobe in room and tea/coffee making facilities, it also had a large flat screen tv on wall which was good to have some background music if you wanted. Two bottles of water as it was really hot and a large table with two chairs and a comfy chair, bed had two bedside tables with lamps on it.

Restaurant
This was on second floor and would probably sit about 30 people at a push, we had a buffet style evening meal which was really nice all set out on different levels on two tables. Choice was good and you could pick and choose what you wanted. Waiters where attentive to your needs and with a quick service I had no complaints at all.
Breakfast was a buffet style choice different styles of cereals and a chef in the restaurant who would cook you a fried egg/omelette or scrambled egg of your choice. I chose boiled eggs and they went away and did them in five mins. Tables are laid with tableclothes and silver cutlery and it was spotlessly clean. Again waiters did bring tea/coffee and asked us if we required anything else.

Swimming Pool
This was a resonable size but we didnt use it as we hadnt enough time as we was only
had a couple of hours to relax before out next tour started. If we had stayed longer we would definetly have had a swim in it.

They do have weddings at this hotel which started as earlier as 8am and the noise from the Kandy Dancers is quite noisey so if your hoping to get a lie in then forget it. Luckily we managed to get a good glimpse of the wedding and its lovely to see all the beautiful colours of the bridge and groom and guests.

We didnt venture out of the hotel as we was on a tour so we was quite happy to come back from the tour and have our meal and then go to our bed as we was shattered. We had breakfast and then checked out at 8am ready for the next days tour.

This hotel is ideal for an overnight stay or a couple of nights and it is used for guests who are touring sri lanka from hotels around the area.

Room Tip: Ideal hotel for a couple of nights while on a tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeymooners8308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
357 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Our group of 19 people stayed in this hotel for a night as this was booked by our tour agent. The hotel has a small lobby, one slow elevator. A very small dining room on the mezzanine floor, a much bigger one on the 4th floor, all with outdated 80s decor. Room was tired with not-so-clean carpet, noisy air-condtioner, the bed was a bit too soft to give good back support, and a basic bathroom with grotty tiles and bad water pressure for hot showers. The bell boys were impolite and only too keen to earn their tips when delivering our luggage, they ran off quickly after the usual 100 rs tip without ever showing a slightest hint of gratitude. The buffet dinner selection was poor and less than delicious, the dining room was so small and claustrophobic too. No free wifi internet, must purchase a card for 275rs per hour! Another thing, there was a wedding banquet going on at the time of our stay (Saturday), the noise of the bad was clealy audible even up to the fourth floor! Fortunately, it stopped around midnight. There are many more better choices in Kandy, give this one a miss unless you have no other choices.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

We stayed at the Devon on an overnight trip to Kandy from Waikkal - it was arranged by our tour guide and most trips seem to send you there. The hotel room was fine for one night only and this is what both myself and my husband kept saying. The room/rooms were very tired - you got a lounge bedroom and bathroom as was the towels and bedding (the bedding was stained). There was a musty smell in the rooms and it was even worse in the wardrobe. We hung some clothes up but took then out again. We arrived after visting the temple of the tooth in Kandy. The typically English Breakfast was very cold but we did go down for it at 7am but the staff were very friendly

The hotel is up a steep hill some distance fro Kandy but we didn't venture out as we were too tired and had to get up early the next day. The pool looked clean but I didn't swim in it - although our guide did. However, there seemed to be a lot of stray dogs - as there is in Sri Lanka which continually barked all night - so we didn't sleep very much.

One last thing to note - the Temple of the Tooth requires both men and women to cover knees and shoulders but we had gone to the Cutural show (If you go take mozzie spray we were eaten alive and don't drink the beer). During the police/security search when we went to the temple a couple in our group were told they could go in if they had been drinking - luckily I travel with chewing gum - which masked the smell. I did mention this to the guide that he needs to let people know prior to getting there!

All in the hotel was fine for the one night we were there, and suited its purpose

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#31 of 58 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swiss Residence
Swiss Residence
#46 of 58 in Kandy
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#48 of 58 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Serene Garden Hotel
Serene Garden Hotel
#29 of 58 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Senani Hotel
Senani Hotel
#37 of 58 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Devon

Property: Hotel Devon
Address: 51, Ampitiya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 356 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Devon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Devon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing