We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”
Review of Hotel Devon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Devon
Ranked #222 of 470 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We have stayed here twice and just love it wonderful friendly helpful staff. Rooms are big with good sized bathrooms very comfy beds, plenty of space we never use the AC at night it's cool enough and always have a room on the back. This hotel has a really good efficient laundry service. Rooms do need coffee and tea making facilities but a fast room service will bring you tea for 200rps. Pool to relax in great gym all you need after a day's golf. Food, buffet excellent also breakfast but leave it at that .
Easy walking distance for the town centre, always go round the top of the lake looks longer but is considerably shorter and you go past the Temple of the Tooth not to be missed. Take a Tuk Tuk back if you wish but never offer more then 200rps .
Need new glasses then call and see Dr Samarasinghe at the Queens Hotel he does a great job, fast and a price almost a gift, I always go and see him.
A good sign of any hotel is if your driver is happy and ours is very happy to stay here, remember your life is in his hands the next day!
We will be booking in again next year.

Room Tip: all big just depends back is a little quieter front you see life !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

After a long drive from Colombo, it was a welcome respite to get to a comfortable bed and stretch out! The restaurant had stayed open till late to accomodate us late arrivals-- good wholesome food and delightful desserts.
The toilets need to be refurbished as the water stains are bad. Wish they had provided kettles in the room for my morning tea--luckily my sister who was sharing the room had the makings so we could enjoy a fresh cuppa n the balcony

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shyamola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

Dined at the restaurant. Buffet dinner for 1000 rupee.(with tax) food is incredibly tasty. Dessert absolutely yummy. The best chocolate mousse and cheese cake I' v had. Definitely worth the cost. Certainly will dine again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kajyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Room was big.Room was musty smelling which didn't help with my allergies. Opened up the balcony door for awhile to get some fresh air which didn't help when the mozzies came in. Figuring out how to temperature control the airconditioner was a feat in itself.
Room was booked for three people but there was only one towel. Asked reception for more but never received. when checking out in the morning I questioned the receptionist (the same one was there as the night before) he blamed the bell boy saying he asked him to deliver.
Restaurant service was a bit embarrassing. I felt the staff did not know how to serve guests who have booked room only and walked in to the restaurant for dinner. We were greeted at the door and left to fend for ourselves. We waited and waited and then had to call a waiter. Restaurant staff just seem to walk aimlessly around (more like loitering) without actually doing anything. So was staff from other areas just wander in and out of the restaurant. From our order 2 dishes were missing but by the time we recieved them we were so hungry we decided to share and didn't bother to question.
Overall it was alright for the price but not if you are looking for a bit of comfort and professionalism

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank Amipani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel just one night and was very pleasant. The room was large and comfortable. There was a wedding party on the day and it was a surprise to see the customs of the place, but the party went late into the night and made a lot of noise. I had problems with the shower too. The water was not heating up and I had to take cold shower. The breakfast was very good, it has local options like curry and chili, as well as bacon, eggs and bread.

Room Tip: if you hire a local guide who knows how to negotiate values​​, he will get a nice discount for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kreuzarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed one night in December during out trip through Sri Lanka.
Spacious, clean, relatively modern rooms, perhaps a bit dated. Buffet restaurant was also very good, had dinner and breakfast there. Unfortunately we could only stay there one of the two nights we spent in Kandy since the hotel was fully booked on the second night. However, the extremely friendly and helpful staff helped us find a place to sleep on the second night, a difficult task given that most hotels and guesthouses in Kandy were fully booked during this period.
Overall, recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen_and_Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Had a pleasant stay with my family. Spacious room with good view overlooking hill and the pool side. Only drawback was no restaurants or shops near by, and city market is atleast 10-15 min drive away.

Room Tip: Rooms at the pool side is preferable as it will off the road side, and also has some good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerThilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.4 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
2,166 reviews
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
879 reviews
0.6 mi away
Serene Grand Hotel
Serene Grand Hotel
#37 of 58 in Kandy
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.4 mi away
Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#33 of 58 in Kandy
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Devon

Address: 51, Ampitiya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £44 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Devon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Devon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing