We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we came back again ”
Review of McLeod Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McLeod Inn
Ranked #6 of 376 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

This place was perfect for myself and my girlfriend. We enjoyed our stay there we went back again at the tail end of our trip

The breakfast was superb and eating the fruit platter whilst looking out at the amazing views made it even better. The family are very friendly. They even knocked on our doors to wake us at our requests.

The only reason I didn't select it at excellent was only because they turn the wifi off at 10. Not ideal especially when I wanted to check out the man it's score ...

For 2500 rupees you won't get better value for money. It's a nice 15-20 min walk into the city centre or 200-300 rupees for a tuk tuk. All in all though a perfect little stay in Kandy

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ugiagbe U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed here in October 2012. Helpful and knowledgeable owners. Clean rooms. Beautiful view. Good base from which to explore Kandy. Located up the hillside so quite a steep walk back. Mosquito nets are provided. Would recommend based on my experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magicbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Nice guesthouse for a reasonable price.
The shared balcony has a very nice view over the city and lake.
The rooms are clean and the owners are friendly
The only thing is: The mattresses are quite thin.
And . . Keep your Windows closed for the monkeys ;)


Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris-8519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Great family guesthouse with amazing view of the lake. Nice place to relax, rooms super clean at a reasonable price. Don't hesitate. It's up on the hill very quiet and peacefull away from the noise and pollution. Hot water, wifi, ac,fan, laundry service.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Giannakosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Great place overlooking Kandy, with magnificent views. A room with a view will set you back 4000 LKR whilst cheaper rooms are 2500 LKR. The owner was very friendly and nice and gave us a great feeling of welcome. The rooms are simple, clean and well maintained.

The center is only a short tuk tuk ride to the center for about 200 LKR. The only slight negative from our point of view was the 10.30pm curfew as we are night owls by all accounts and we had to hurry back to the hostel at 10.20 pm to avoid being locked out.

Overall great place and beautiful city.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are very similar to standard rooms so you are paying an extra 1500 LKR for the ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greenfingers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights and paid 3000Rs a night for a fan room with no view. It is more expensive than other places nearby but it is a cut above the rest. The place is spotless and cared for by a very friendly and welcoming owner. They have a veranda to admire the view and drink a pot of tea on. The owner booked us a tuk tuk into town for us to catch our 5am train to Galle and rearranged this for us when I became really ill. There is no food here, only breakfast but around the corner is a posh hotel serving good food at the same prices as the mediocre guesthouses below if you can't manage the walk or drive into town. We had no problem with noise and the walls went all the way up to the ceiling. We found this place quiet and peaceful and enjoyed our relaxing stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Top: a peaceful and open space guesthouse. Rooms directly enter the shared breakfast area. Our room had big windows with great view on the lake, but rooms do not have a balcony. There is a nice shared balcony you can enter from the open space common (breakfast) area.
Tip: room is small with very basic bed and bathroom. Owner finds it important to be real quiet from 10pm.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirandaNLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
724 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#21 of 56 in Kandy
543 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#25 of 56 in Kandy
372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#31 of 56 in Kandy
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sweet Lanka Kandy
Sweet Lanka Kandy
#2 of 376 in Kandy
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McLeod Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLeod Inn

Address: 65A Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 376 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: £22 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your McLeod Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcleod Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing