We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Clean Rooms”
Review of McLeod Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McLeod Inn
Ranked #5 of 307 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean Rooms”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was one of the cleanest places we stayed in Sri Lanka. The rooms are simple but they were very clean and comfortable. We chose the room with a view so there was plenty of natural light with a complete wall of windows! The view from the common balcony was beautiful and it was a nice place to relax. The breakfast was great and filling! Also, the owners were so kind and so helpful. They helped us organize day trips and they were always available to help with a smile on their face! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marybellone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    80
    20
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
163
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A neat, tidy, clean guesthouse, occupying a great position on the hill with awesome views from the communal balcony of Kandy Lake and the Temple of the Sacred Tooth.
A convenient little road winds it's way down from the Inn to various eating places and the lake.
Friendliest, loveliest, most helpful owners ... who materiliase out of no where when you need them ... but somehow remain unobtrusive when you don't.
We loved our stay at Mcleod!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EranuCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here twice, both for two nights. The first time we stayed in room 2, with a view. This was a great view and it was nice to sleep an night with the lights of Kandy shining in the evening. The room was clean and plenty of space. It was 4000 rupees, which we think was a bit overpriced. Breakfast was separate at 450 rupees, better value may be to include it in the price. That said, breakfast is nice, which includes fruit, toast and and egg.
The second time we were downstairs in room 7. This was clean, but more clammy and sticky. The was a quite a lot of mould in the bathroom with was probably why the room felt a bit damp in the evenings.
Overall, a nice stay with lovely owners and a great balcony to sit, relax and enjoy the sights of Kandy from a hilltop. Lonely Planet guidebook, 2012, sates that they could charge more, which we think is why it they have upped the price a bit.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs rooms as they are more comfortable. The room with a view is nice, but for an extra 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Room and bathroom were clean and spotless. Great location with beautiful views over the lake from the dining area and balcony. Room was quiet and included hot water and free wifi. The managers were very friendly and helpful. There is a shortcut you can take from the hotel down to the lake which takes about 15-20 mins to walk.

The only thing that we would say were that the pillows were a bit lumpy but otherwise a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivvy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Why this place is so great!
- basics are in place! Spacious clean rooms and bathrooms
- very friendly owners; place is family rund and you feel they care for you
- shared balcony attached to BF area with amazing views! Very possible to just spend the day there reading or browsing (they have proper WiFi)
- when I left for a trip up north, could leave part of my stuff for free
- the allowed me to use their kitchen to make my own BF

Possible downside;
- you need to get up to the hill. Walking down is a nice walk, going back a tuktuk from town will cost you only 150

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muizemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My boyfriend and I recently spent 10 days travelling in Sri Lanka. At times, we found it challenging with people often trying to rip you off. It was a relief to stay at McLeod Inn where it was peaceful and the owners were helpful and honest.

Our room was clean with mosquito nets and hot water in the shower (unusual in Sri Lanka). Wifi was reliable. We didn't eat breakfast at McLeod Inn but heard from other travellers that it was nice.

The walk from McLeod Inn to the Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic is about 20-30 minutes. We stayed in a room at the front that the owner warned us could be noisy in the mornings due to schoolchildren walking by. We were not waken by them though.

I really don't have anything bad to say about this Inn and definitely would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyblue365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this guesthouse both times I was in Kandy. The owners are so friendly and helpful. Rooms are simple but super clean and the communal balcony is a great place to relax and enjoy the view.
The only reason I didn't select excellent is because the pillows in both rooms I had were extremely uncomfortable, making sleeping difficult.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#21 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.0 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#19 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McLeod Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLeod Inn

Property: McLeod Inn
Address: 65A Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 307 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your McLeod Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcleod Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing