We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, lovely clean rooms”
Review of McLeod Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
McLeod Inn
Ranked #4 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, lovely clean rooms”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My partner and I spent 1 night at McLeod Inn. For a very reasonable price we got a lovely clean room (with an ensuite and fan) and a spectacular view. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was nice. The location of McLeod is up in the mountain overlooking Kandy, so you do need to get a tuk tuk at night. However in the day I was informed the walk would take around 20 minutes.

Whilst we were there we had a day trip to Pinnawala elephant orphanage, spice gardens and a traditional dance show; all of which we thoroughly enjoyed. The owner knows a great tuk tuk driver that looked after us.

Room Tip: We had a room on the same level as the reception that had a spectacular view of Kandy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDVO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    80
    20
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
163
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in april. The owners, a local couple, are super friendly. There are not too many rooms around a communal area which has a big balcony. From here you have the best views over Kandy.
The rooms have fans and ensuite bathroom. They are okay, the beds were not extremely comfortable and squeeked everytime we turned. You have to ask for a new towel and toilet paper.
The owners can help you arrange tuktuk and taxi tours to Sigiriya, botanical gardens,airport etc. Its really easy and you get a fair price. Would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ItsSuuS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The guesthouse is located in the mountain, offering a picturesque birdview of the Kandy city and the lake. Room is spacious and clean. Kandy lake is only about 15-20 minutes walk away by a shortcut, but even the longer cut wouldn't cost you more than 35 minutes plus a stroll in the mountain is most pleasant. And staff are very friendly and helpful. I had a wonderful stay in the guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredreeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Second time at McLeods and still a great place to stay. Ashan (spelling?) and his family are very accommodating and helpful, it’s spotlessly clean, the location is fabulous – can’t fault it in any way and hope to go back some day.

Room Tip: Ask for the window room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGard2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have stayed here before, 18 years on it is just as delightful and still unspoiled. Ashan the owner and his wife are so friendly and helpful, they had a great driver who took us to the Ancient Cities. Rooms are 3000 or 4000 rupees depending on whether you have a view. The views are spectacular across Kandy Lake and City, but you can drink your fill from the balcony while having breakfast or unwinding at the end of the the day. It is immaculately clean, rooms have en suite etc.
No evening meals but a short walk to Sharon Inn (highly recommended) or for a splash out and out there experience - Helga's Folly.

Room Tip: Book Early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aroonji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in a few places in Kandy and this was surely the friendliest welcome we received. The management were unfalteringly helpful and rarely greeted you with anything but an ear to ear smile.

The rooms were basic but everything we needed. The view from the balcony was awesome. The location sees it in the middle of the backpacker area so easy to arrange tours and find good food. It is a lovely ten minute walk around the lake to the middle of town and they arranged tuktuks (at the right price for a change) for us to go to the station when the time came to leave.

Good value for money, great service. Would highly recommend.

(only problem was that, being Scottish, we pronounced it "McLoud" which caused no end of confusion to tuktuk drivers)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robwaugh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We can recommend this place! Simple but clean room, cheap and the common area has a great view over Kandy! What we liked the most is that they kept their prices low, unlike the rest of Sri Lankan guesthouses that is written down in the lonely planet. Please keep it this way!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 54 in Kandy
1,259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#21 of 54 in Kandy
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McLeod Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLeod Inn

Property: McLeod Inn
Address: 65A Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your McLeod Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcleod Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing