We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view and service!”
Review of McLeod Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McLeod Inn
Ranked #3 of 307 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view and service!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Amazing view of the lake from our room and from the restaurant. The prices were low compared to many other places in Kandy. Really nice people and atmosphere. Probably the best place to stay in Kandy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_milano_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    80
    20
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
163
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Spent four nights at McLeod during the perahera in August 2014 and felt very relaxed immediately. The room was small but very clean and quiet and I spent most of my time on the communal balcony anyway, which has an amazing view over the lake and the hills beyond. Sitting up there in the evening listening to and watching the procession in the distance was magical. The owners are really friendly and welcoming and can't do enough to help with advice on local transport and things to do. The location is close enough to the town centre to walk and far enough away to be quiet and feel a bit separate. I went for a couple of runs around the lake which was really nice - if you go in the morning, go at 6 if you want to avoid the rush hour traffic!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala County, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This place has probably got Kandy's best view over the lake and two rooms with panorama windows. Close to town and the temple of the tooth and very friendly and helpful staff. There are several restaurants nearby.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andersdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We planned on staying one night but stayed three nights in mcleod. Th couple who runs the place are very friendly and relaxed, help with excursions ans information, provide a clean, safe, basic room. The view on the lake, the hills, the temple of the tooth is amazing. Ask for the rooms for a view if you so you can also enjoy it from your room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

It really is. We loved everthing about our stay at Mcleod Inn. The owners are helpful, kind and very serviceminded. The room is the cleanest room we're stayed in so far (we've been here for 24 days!) The balcony has a lovely view and it's only a short walk to the lake and city center.

The hotel does not cooperate with drivers, so if they tell you it's closed it's a lie.

The only problem we had was that the salt shaker didn't work, and that's not really a problem!


Matias and Tanja from Denmark!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The place was clean and looked welcoming. The rooms are basic but there is a shared access to a great balcony that overlooks the city. However, proprietors were very unfriendly. No smiles, they told us that our Sri Lankan family friend who also was our driver was unwelcome to stay there because it was only for 'tourists'. When we offered to pay for a room they told us that nothing was available despite a pretty empty looking registration book. They were then very keen on getting rid of us before we found another appropriate accommodation.

This place does not serve alcohol too. Worst hosts we've come across on our holiday in Sri Lanka.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SonOfAuron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very nice location on the hill with an amazing view. Run by a very nice couple who is always friendly.
Walking distance from the city center.
Good breakfast and very clean.
Price is very fair. Would suggest to pre-book as there are not too many rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#21 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.0 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#19 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McLeod Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McLeod Inn

Property: McLeod Inn
Address: 65A Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 307 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your McLeod Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcleod Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing