We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel I ever stayed at”
Review of Sevana City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sevana City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The room was basic but very clean and functional. They serves great breakfast in the morning and you actually eat in their kitchen. We didn´t get the chance to eat dinner. The family who runs the place are very friendly and helpful. It´s a ten minutes walk to the city. I would defently return to this hotel if I come back to Kandy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob0156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at Sevana for 5 nights with my entire family over Christmas 2013. I booked the hotel a long time ahead and unlike other places our rooms were not given away and we were welcomed with spotlessly clean rooms.
The atmosphere at Sevana is family like and made us feel very comfortable during our stay. When my little brother fell sick the hosting family took additional care of us. Thanks again for that!
The location is great for all you want to do and see in and around Kandy. Easy access to bus and train and also drivers can pick you up well thanks to the location on the main road.
The only downside is that the house is not well soundproofed and you can more or less hear what everyone else does in the hotel.
For us this was no reason to not like the place and I would recommend Sevana 100% for the professionalism, atmosphere, cleanliness and the location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aniramimoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We spent three great nights here! The room was very clean and also the bedsheets. The bed was very comfortable too. Breakfast was superb and the people helping out in the guesthouse are very nice :) they helped us a lot and also quickly arranged excellent tuk tuk trips to the places we wished to visit for a good price. They also cleaned our room after the second night.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Natcal126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed at Sevana Guest House for 5 days while attending a conference in December 2013. People were very friendly and helpful, always smiling. The rooms were very neat and the location is easily accessible. Made my stay in Sri Lanka memorable. I would highly recommend this for fellow travelers. Would stay here again next time when I visit Kandy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohit_Suryadevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

First of all, really helpful owner. Great and impartial advice, always given with a smile. The Sri Lankan breakfast was a feast; toast with three types of homemade jam (pineapple, orange, passion fruit) capped it off. The hotel is on the main road and a short walk from the major attractions. We had a room on the inside and there was no noise from traffic. The room was very simple and clean (our window faced the inside courtyard). The owner recommended a guide for the nuckles mountain range, without any hard sell (he turned out to be excellent, a degree in ornithology from Colombo university and a love of nature meant that he was able to tell us much about the huge range of flora and fauna). They also made us a packed breakfast which was unexpected and very nice of them. There is only one minus, I think that rooms should be cleaned and have their beds made each day, we were there for two nights and this did not happen. But that's a small thing.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank krys_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Don't listen to touts or tuc tuc drivers who claim the Sevana is closed/condemned/burnt down or whatever. They want to take you somewhere else because the Sevana - unlike lots of other places - refuse to pay them a fee (which gets passed on to you). So, insist on going direct to the Sevana and you'll discover the place has many brilliant aspects, as well as an honest price. The location is any easy walk/short tuc tuc to everywhere - the sights, the transport links, the shops and markets. It is well-run and generally spotless. And the people make it a treat. It has a real family atmosphere, embracing different cultures and Mr and Mrs Senevirathne have good English, and are switched on to European outlooks. They're very helpful with travel info and destination suggestions, and even have a house tuc tuc for hire at decent rates.

Two top tips. One; book a balcony room if possible (the best one has a garden with a lawn, overlooking the very busy but endlessly entertaining Peradeniya Road). Two; make sure you ask for the Sri Lankan breakfast (the night before) - both Mr and Mrs Senevirathne are seriously good cooks.

We stayed at Sevana for the whole of November and were delighted to be able to go back again for a sorter stay in December. Enough said.

Brenda and Ian Woods, London

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. 106 has a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights last month. Staff are very friend and easy to access. If you arrived at night it's better to take tuk tuk there around Rs 150. It's owned by a great family and they were very kind. Mrs Senevirathne was very helpful and provided many travel tips to us. The room was tidy and clean. The breakfast was great and lovely (see my pic). Room rate is reasonable. It is not just a guest house. I felt warm when I was there! If I go to Kandy again I definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandandanRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#19 of 58 in Kandy
519 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 58 in Kandy
373 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 58 in Kandy
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevana City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevana City Hotel

Address: 84 Peradeniya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sevana Guest House)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £21 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sevana City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Sevana City Hotel have clean spacious A/C and non A/C rooms with attached bathrooms (with hot/cold water). All our rooms are mosquito free and are provided with fans. We serve delicious western and Eastern food and we also have a taxi service which can be provided at a reasonable rate. We are located in the center of the city, therefore all important places in Kandy can be reached within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sevana City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sevana Guest House Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing