We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Randholee Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quaint Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I have recently stayed at Randholee with 12 friends all from Australia. This is a very quaint hotel, set high in the hills. After the rooms were allocated to the rest of the party; my husband and myself went to our room. This room was a tiny room with a tiny bathroom, clean and neat but right next door to they gym. As this hotel is isolated there is not much to do once there. Meals area is not large and the food variety needs to be improved. The food was tasty but the buffet breakfasts after three days of the same food was a little boring.
Day 2 we were moved to a much nicer room with a balcony; if you are thinking of this hotel request this type of room. We basically had do make our own fun, but thats ok. We ventured out one night to Amaya Hills for dinner which was lovely. This hotel is for one or two nights maximum. Staff ok; it was raining on our departure and the staff were reluctant to carry our bags to the van which was parked at the top of their driveway . They had no access to umbrella's which I found strange as Kandy is known for its rain. Eventually we carried our own bags along with the staff as they seem to be waiting for the rain to stop.
Dont know if I would go back to this hotel, once visited no real drawcard to return.

Room Tip: Request Balcony Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grubbaangaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    152
    71
    20
    17
See reviews for
97
201
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Randholee resorts was just as I expected... Neat, clean, Beautiful, Scenic with great staff!
I'm happy that I booked this resort & yes, my husband too was delighted to stay here.
In fact, we were at Randholee on my husband's birthday & the staff helped me out with a surprise cake - that was both delicious & beautiful!

The breakfast buffet is pretty neat & so is the dinner buffet.
Highlighting feature: Live music! And yes, pretty good food! (even for a veggie like me!)

My favorite part of this hotel is the amazing Swimming pool location and the tree house! ... You can see the whole of Kandy while you're swimming or unwinding on the rustic tree top. Romantic!!!

So overall: GREAT hotel, wonderful, courteous staff, good food, tasteful decor.
Randholee Resorts is a MUST see and a must stay hotel for all :)

Thank you, Randholee, it was a great way to start off our Sri Lanka trip with you!

Room Tip: GREAT rooms, superb decor & with a neat bathroom (with bathtub)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May.

Location:

This small hotel is not in the centre of Kandy, but we knew that when we booked and chose it for that reason. This is an advantage in that (1) you are in a quieter cleaner environment, surrounded by Sri Lankan villages rather than in the midst of a somewhat touristy town, and (2) you have views. It is a disadvantage if you would like to be within what most people would consider walking distance of restaurants/bars and the sights.

The road up to it was not nearly as bad as previous reviewers have said it is. It is at times bumpy, but not horrifically/whiplashingly so and it is not that long either (3km at most). Indeed, other than for our arrival and departure, we walked into and back from Kandy everyday while we were there. Even though there is no pavement, the walk was most definitely doable (in good walking shoes) and with a little common sense, relatively safe from cars/doges/tuk tuks. The people we passed were friendly. And it gave us the opportunity not only to stop to admire the views/temples etc., but also the chance to see a more real Sri Lanka (which is hard to do otherwise). For those still concerned, we also noticed some paving works being done to the road while we were there.

The Accommodation:

Our room was above the restaurant which meant it was noisy in the evenings when entertainment was provided (e.g. a disco for a tour group!), but thankfully this did not go on late into the night and so was no problem. It was a good size with a good size bathroom and balcony. While the room has a neutral/simple decor, it is relatively sparsely but adequately furnished and the bathroom's decor is a little dark, but that was not a huge issue for us.

Generally, the hotel benefits from being a "new build" property. There is good air conditioning (although ours leaked which by the last night was becoming an issue with water running down the wall onto the floor), the bed was comfortable and the water pressure/temperature good.

The big issue for us with the room was its cleanliness and maintenance. The walls/floor had a number of dirt and other marks (killed insects) on them, a bottle of coke had exploded in the fridge (and other listed mini bar items were missing) and some of the lights did not work. We arrived in the evening on a night of a festival that was being celebrated around Sri Lanka but the hotel responded quickly when we told them about these things, doing their best to fix them. The balcony was unswept and dirty which was a pity given the views. At least the bathroom was visibly clean.

The floors of the rooms are tiled which means that noise from chairs scraping in the rooms above can be heard. Wired internet access is available free on request which is great. It worked well throughout our stay.

Food:

Food was a real issue for us which is why we only ate once at the Randholee, on our first night. We were handed a set menu that was very limited and costly relative to Sri Lankan prices generally. Only western food was on offer. When we asked if there was an a la carte option, we were handed another menu that although giving wider options, still only offered mostly western food. Both menus had very little option for non meat eaters. There were only a few guests at the hotel on that night which also left it/the dining experience feeling awkward.

We were ultimately accommodated with our request for Sri Lankan cuisine (going "off menu"). While relatively tasty, the offering was small and costly.

The buffet breakfast was better in that it had a relatively good offering (do not expect the buffet offering of for instance, the large Hong Kong hotels) that would fulfil a lot of people (hot western and Sri Lankan items, juices, fruits, cereals, breads/pastries etc.) but "healthy" options like non-sugary cereals/wholemeal breads were limited (as they were generally around Sri Lanka) and again, it cost a lot in relative terms. The coffee was unpleasant. Tea is the better option.

Facilites:

The is a pool and a spa onsite but we didn't use either. The pool looked well maintained/clean. The gym is a small room with very limited/basic equipment. We did not use it for that reason although we had intended to do so.

General:

The reception/common area is not big or impressive, but fine. What it definitely does not feel like is a luxury hotel. But then again, it is not priced (for the room at least) as though it were.

The hotel seems to be at its best when it is receiving/dealing with tour parties (as opposed to independent travellers like us) when the hotel fills up and is focused on catering to the larger numbers with drinks, buffet dinners etc. The staff were for instance, unable to provide a map of Kandy. They were however, pleasant.

Overall:

Having looked around the other Kandy hotel options we had considered before our trip, we would if we were returning to Kandy now, still choose to stay out of the centre of Kandy. However, we are not sure we would return to the Randholee even though it is so keenly priced. In addition to the cleanliness, we prefer a hotel with a little more ambiance and choice. The Randholee felt to us a little too much like a guest house than a hotel/resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room to avoid noise penetrating into your room from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Journeymen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We spend 2 nights at Randholee and were pleased with the place. Splendid view over Kandy, good restaurant and very good service. We would come back any time. Very positive point is the free internet in the reception hall.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downunder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Great location for a hotel, the pool had enough chlorine for sure, but the view is epic!

When we arrived we was positively taken care of by the hotel employees. They offer the best service, always with a smile:-) and it made our stay quite pleasant.

The room had an amazing view from the balcony, and I had some great mornings watching the sunrise with cup of tea. Comfortable beds and very clean rooms. They also got a safe for personal storage.
Cons: bad signals on the tv, and our room had a connected door to another bedroom (not sure why) this was closed, but we could still sense the people in there (luckily they where quiet and we didn't put any more notice to it).

Restaurant is ok with a rather limited menu. The breakfast day 1 was fine to with lots of options, on day 2 it was limited to nothing. I had bread with cheese since that was my only option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Blair, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

The hotel is on a steep hill about 4 km from down. The view is simply awesome and the architecture adding to the beauty. We landed at this hotel after visiting Nuwara Eliya and was really happy with their environment. Soon things started turning the other way when we sat for lunch we had very little options.... The same "DEVILED" chicken, beef etc........Everything in Sri lanka has that chili flakes in it and they prefix it with "deviled"..... It can be annoying at times....There was a mini bar in the hotel which was filled but mistaking it to be complimentary, we opened the nuts packet and were charged 250 LKR for that....... They should inform all that b4 hand.. The 2 rooms which we had booked were on the same floor but had a world of difference among them...One was really big and spacious with a comfy bath. But the other was just the opposite...A little disappointment over there.... Overall the hotel has the capacity and if they put up a good restaurant , all will be well. The breakfast spread was good though with considerable variety... Do try the waffles with honey.........

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashwin_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night when we were on a two day trip from The Blue Water Hotel. The Randholee is a quiet hotel within beautiful surroundings and stunning views - it was just what we needed after a 5.30am start from our resort hotel and a full day touring. The hotel was booked by Ruchi who organised our trip and accompanied us on it. We were very impressed with our room, the public areas, the friendly staff and the food. Whilst we were having dinner a trio of local singers entertained us with both Sri Lankan and western music. Yes it is a little out of Kandy and the road is very uneven and steep, but for us the drive to and from the hotel was all part of the holiday experience - having been to India the roads and driving in Sri Lanka are not so bad!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.4 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
2.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.6 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.9 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 52 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randholee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randholee Resort & Spa

Property: Randholee Resort & Spa
Address: Heerassagala Rd | Bowalawaththa, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Randholee Luxury Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Randholee Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Randholee Resort & Spa is nestled in the beautiful Mount Pleasant range in Kandy, Sri Lanka. The panoramic view from our resort is about the best that one could experience in Kandy. Seclusion, space, and privacy-our resort offers all these, making it the ideal choice when visiting Kandy. Decked in Kandyan décor, our well-appointed rooms offer its own private balcony and spacious bathrooms equipped with luxury comforts for all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Randholee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randholee Luxury Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing