We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roundtrip Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Randholee Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

It was a pleasure for us to make a stop over in this resort. The Hotel is located a little bit outside the city, on a hill, for a great montain view. The rooms are in good condition and clean. The dinner was very good ans creative. The Service was also exzellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Randholee Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

that balcony facing the vast open country rolling down to mist ,,,,unforgetable.

i saw this hotel on web and when i met my girl friend i hunted it in one night. worthy to go there even the road is snaky, a bus went down in that night and we had to call to the hotel, if no we might miss that delicious dinnner. that calipso band played many old country hits for my request at our table, a candle light dinner. Delicacy was to higher limit at every corner of the hotel.

now she is my wife, and wiling to go again there. the price you pay for that luxary is very reasonable.

Room Tip: all the rooms seems to with the view . balconies are the best.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

we went to Randholee Resorts kandy. it was for three days! very good accommodation with nice mountain view!!! meals were excellent with a good spread in the buffet, very calm place to relax. Friendly and very courtiers staff to look after there guests.I hope to visit once again & i'll spread this good message among all my friends! thank you for your wonder full hospitality !!!!!!!!

Ravi

Room Tip: Advisable to reserve a mountain view because of the stunning view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Although up in the mountains overlooking Kandy City, it was a fantastic setting. You begin with an exhilerating drive up very tight and winding roads. Once you arrive at the hotel you get a good feeling, very relaxing place. There are no gift shops or concession shops at the hotel other than a jewellery kiosk. If you want to buy things for your stay, there is a good supermarket at the bottom of the hill, called Kells, they sell everything (other than alcohol) you may need for your stay. The staff are excellent and very helpful. They arrange your trips and taxis to and from the City (approx LKR 1,500 for a one way trip). We visited the temple of the tooth, Pinewalla (elephant Orphange), Millenium Elsephant charity, Kandy dancing, tea plantation and tea factory all in 2 days. We highly recommend the train journey from Kandy to Columbo Fort, first class, intercity (LKR 2,100 for adults, one way). We would definately recommend this hotel and Kandy to all those people travelling to Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones overlooking the pool and towards Kandy City, We stayed in room 201 which...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived here for a 2 night stay during a week long tour of Sri Lanka, the hotel is approx a 20 minute drive away from Kandy and is very high up a mountain road which although remote made for perfect views.
We stayed here on a half board basis and really enjoyed the evening meal which is a buffet and had so much choice, the breakfast was also great with lots of choice, although the egg/pancake station was unmanned on both days of our stay. Hotel is quite small and was under occupied during our stay which meant my husband had the pool to himself for the afternoon.
A negative for this hotel is the adjoining doors, our neighbours left very early one morning and we were woken by them and found it difficult to get back to sleep, this should be addressed by the hotel as the doors are singular and really should be doubled up, we could see the neighbours light shining through the door and hear them chatting.
We really enjoyed the balcony of our room which had the most amazing view and allowed us to really soak up the sights and sounds of Kandy, there is a warning sticker on the balcony door to beware of monkeys unfortunately we didn't see any. We would stay here again and would
recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank julier1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel, and it was really lovely. Upon check-in we were greeted with a drink and got led to our room quickly. Make sure you pick the room with the view - its more expensive, but well worth it with beautiful views of the sunset over Kandy. We got a room just above the pool, which was very nice, an infinity-style smaller pool.

The hotel was almost empty, only 3-4 rooms were occupied when we were there, and it was good in terms of quietness, but good lord, the staff were just way too attentive. At one breakfast, we got asked 9 times if everything was OK! It can get quite annoying. Also, we went to have a game of squash (nice courts) and many times I just spotted staff standing there outside the glass windows, looking at us playing. Either they were so bored, or they never seen the courts being used?

The bar was nice and they had award winning cocktails as well as very attentive and friendly staff. The only problem was the milk, like almost everywhere in sri lanka, was made from powder and wasn't fresh.

All in all I woudl stay here again anytime, but probably would ask staff to give us a bit more privacy when dining.

Room Tip: pick one with mountain view - the "garden view rooms just look at the car park. The view is to...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erika2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We enjoyed our short stay at Randholee Resort. Like other reviewers mentioned, this property is far from Kandy's attractions. It's nestled in the hills and you have to take winding, often treacherous road, to get to it. Check in was quick. The room was spacious and clean. We enjoyed the patio overlooking the pool and hills. The dinner buffet was pricey but had a good variety. We particularly enjoyed the shrimp ceviche shots! Breakfast was also pretty good, and we took the advice of other reviewers and at outside near the pool and enjoyed the cool weather. I did feel that they were a bit short staffed at breakfast. It took a while to get utensils and drinks out to us.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhatnaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
792 reviews
2.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
3.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
4.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randholee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randholee Resort & Spa

Address: Heerassagala Rd | Bowalawaththa, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Randholee Luxury Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £61 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Randholee Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Randholee Resort & Spa is nestled in the beautiful Mount Pleasant range in Kandy, Sri Lanka. The panoramic view from our resort is about the best that one could experience in Kandy. Seclusion, space, and privacy-our resort offers all these, making it the ideal choice when visiting Kandy. Decked in Kandyan décor, our well-appointed rooms offer its own private balcony and spacious bathrooms equipped with luxury comforts for all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Randholee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randholee Luxury Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing