We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel, but be warned about no aircon in room 3”
Review of Nature Walk Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nature Walk Resort
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Firstly let me start by saying I usually stay in 4 or 5 star hotels but given review on here opted for Nature Walk.

I can agree with all of the comments below about the staff being very friendly. The place is also very clean and the breakfasts are nice. They can also arrange a safe and cheap day taxi service.

Someone mentioned wifi not working, I can confirm it is - you just need to ask them to turn it on - the plug is near the office chair!

The only negatives are as follows - Booking.com says aircon is available. We turned up and our room had none - we assumed given the cheap price that Booking.com was wrong so we didn't complain, We later found out that our room was the only one that didn't have it. We were in Room 3 (twin, front facing). So if you want a front facing twin room be warned you may get the non-aircon one!

The only other grumble was that there were lots of small ants in the room. They came in via the bathroom vent and made their way in a line into the bedroom (and my clothes/case!) but then again with monkeys/lizards around maybe its just nature!.

In summary, a good value and clean hotel, and my rating would be higher if there had been aircon.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 4 appear best (but one double bed only)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenwichResident1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

I'm not going to go on about this place, suffice to say that I agree with all the positive reviews. One minor niggle was the wifi, it was not working during the 2 days we spent here, but i'm sure it's fixed now. It is a little way out of town up quite a steep hill, however a tuk tuk is only 250 rupees each way.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jez694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We cannot rate this hotel highly enough - spotless rooms, friendly and helpful staff (and extremely kind owner), beautiful view from the balcony (great to watch the bats in the early evening with a cold beer), and countless monkeys right outside the bedroom windows. We ended up staying here twice as long as we had planned and will definitely return next time we visit Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff and Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed two nights in Kandy and tried to book both nights here based on the reviews. We were not disappointed. Nature Walk is very peaceful and off the beaten path. It was an ideal location for us; easy walking distance to spend time in the city at the lake, at the Temple of the Sacred Tooth, Central Market, Gardens, or even go to The Pub nearby. Our room was perfect; very comfortable and we had a great night of sleep. The balcony provided stunning views of the surrounding areas and let us watch the animals roaming the area. The food available was also nice and enjoyable. This was certainly one of the nicer guesthouses we have stayed at in all of our travels.

In our mind, the best part of Nature Walk was the manager, Mr. Sarath, and his staff. He answered all of our questions beforehand over email, introduced himself to us when we arrived and helped take care of all of our transportation needs upon our arrival to the airport and our departure to other parts of the country. Mr. Sarath even made arrangements for us to stay at the Green Woods guesthouse down the street because there was no rooms available at Nature Walk on the first night we wanted to stay which turned out to be a nice place to stay as well (especially for people who are on more of a budget).

Overall, we would highly recommend Nature Walk and could not imagine staying anywhere else while in Kandy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdtoad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

A very clean place in a peaceful location, but within walking distance of the lake & temple etc.We had an upstairs room with a balcony, from which we could watch monkeys playing & listen to the drumming performance in the hotel next door (which was much better than the drumming we heard in the Temple of the Sacred Tooth). The staff were very friendly & helpful & the food was good. My only criticism is that they didn't offer to pack us up a breakfast as we had an early start. We had paid for the breakfast, but obviously missed it. Other places had given us a packed breakfast when we had an early start. As the train broke down & was 2 hours late, a packed breakfast would have been very welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Our stay was overall very nice, the staff were extremely helpful with our questions and always available. My only complaint would be thin walls, so that any early risers were well heard throughout the upstairs area. Everything else though was set to high standards with beautiful views from the top balcony.

Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justinecw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Our room was good - clean, amazing views. This place is basic enough, but looked like it had all the necessary things to make a very comfortable stay. That was until we got into bed that night! Be warned, if you do not like very hard beds, this place is not for you. It was the hardest bed I'd ever slept in, and had an unfortunate creak, which meant you woke yourself up in the middle of the night (constantly). Despite the incredible views when I woke, we had so little sleep for the first 2 nights, we eventually gave up and booked a different hostel for the 3rd night. We were exhausted!

Ps - breakfast is not included, which isn't made incredibly clear.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonfrancoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
737 reviews
2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.7 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#34 of 57 in Kandy
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 57 in Kandy
553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 57 in Kandy
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#35 of 57 in Kandy
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Walk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Walk Resort

Address: 9 Sanghamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £14 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nature Walk Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Nature Walk Resort located on the edge of the jungle just 10 minutes walk from the center of Kandy. Relax in a clean and peaceful environment and enjoy the breathtaking views over the forest from your balcony where you can observe monkeys and a wide variety of birds and butterflies. All rooms are ensuite and the restaurant serves delicious food throughout the day. An internet service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nature Walk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Walk Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing