We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good affordable lodging”
Review of Nature Walk Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nature Walk Resort
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed 2 nights. The staff were expecting us and we got the room at the front - nice to sit in and watch the monkeys playing outside. Quiet at night except for the music from daily kandyian show from about 5.30 pm till about 7.30 pm.. It gets quite dark after 6 pm so bring a torch if you are walking in up the slope else take a tuk tuk which will bring you to the doorstep. In the morning be awakened at 6.30 am by the monkeys coming in from the forest. They will be all over the They grab anything they think they can eat and even stole the resident cat's milk so don't leave things out in the open.
Breakfast is simple but good. We enjoyed it in the midst of the peaceful surroundings. We walked down to town quite easily several times a day coming back to rest when tired. If you arrive via Kandy station, head towards the town centre, pass by Queens Hotel and walk by the side of the lake, next to the Temple of the Tooth. When you get to the Kandyian Handicraft Centre, there is a flight of steps to your left just before the building. Walk up the steps, turn right and exit to the main road. Naturewalk Resort is about 500m up the main road, passing the Slightly Chilled lounge and Restaurant. After passing the restaurant, you will come to a slope detour along the main road with signs showing Lakeside Club. Walk up the slope and Naturewalk Resort is about 400m away. We enjoyed our stay and the staff are able to assist you in planning for day trips around the area.
There are tuk tuks parked along the main road by the slope area. Bargain for the best price. We got a tuk tuk for Perideniya station for 500LKR.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

We spent a night here, as a break between our visits to Dambulla and Hikkaduwa. It fitted in quite well within our budget and we enjoyed our stay here. The rooms, especially the bathroom weren't very spacious. But then, given the rates, this was fine.

The staff was quite helpful and the breakfast served was quite sumptuous!

Would recommend staying here if you aren't too fussy about luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikhilnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

we stayed just 3 nights,our room was tiny tiny but very clean...spacious dining room and lovely relaxing area with couches overlooking the hills on the first floor..
the food was good and the reception and the staff very helpfull..it's a nice guesthouse on the hills very easy to walk into the city..
the only down side was that our room was on the back side, so no lovely view..if you can, ask for a front room...or like we did, you'll enjoy a lot the relax area!

Room Tip: ask for a front room or you'll touch the rocks just stretching an arm out of your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandamonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Reception was good (free drink). Room we got (room 1) was quite humid (stains on wall), no shower curtain and with view on rock wall (price $35). Next day we got another room (room 11), which was great ($40). Make sure you get a room on the front side! Personnel was quite helpful, but sometimes to keen on 'selling' services. Construction works were going on during our stay. Advantages: nice common areas, good views, cheap food.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed here for a week in Nov 2012 and found it to be very clean with spacious room and balcony overlooking the hills. The staff were attentive, friendly and went out of their way to help in any way they could. It's easy to walk into the city, temple of the tooth etc. We had a car and driver hired through the hotel which was great to visit tea plantations, Sigiriya etc.Our driver, Kapila, spoke good english and was very helpful and made every trip interesting. Would recommend Nature Walk and be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Very clean, spacious, views of the mountain. Staff very helpful. 10 minute walk to tooth temple and the lake and cultural show and all the shops. Bamboo garden pub round the corner. As it is on a little hill, you can get a tuktuk if you have difficulty climbing, it is about 300 rupees from temple and shops. Tip: take a torch with you as it gets very dark by about 5.30pm and there is no lighting on the walk to the hotel also fly/ant spray if you wish. Hotel could benefit from a fan in the restaurant. This time of the year it rains for about an hour or so around 4-6pm, take a brolly if you have space. There are monkeys, they come and go within short time, didn't bother us. Good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank preyasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed only 1 night at Nature Walk guesthouse in Kandy but enjoyed our surroundings. Our room had a view of Kandy without the distance. It's in a very handy position within the city although above it on a hill. We settled in then took a tuk tuk down to the museum & cultural centre, costing only a few cents, we had a great dinner back at the guesthouse choosing from the menu before we went out, which was surprising with a nice dining common room...the staff & manager were very obliging even arranging our forward accomodation for us. Our bed was very comfortable & the bathroom was clean. Overall it was most enjoyable & pleasant & we left feeling refreshed & ready for the next part of our journey.

Room Tip: We had rooms upstairs at the front of the building overlooking the street which had colorful plantin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soothedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,329 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.7 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Walk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Walk Resort

Address: 9 Sanghamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £12 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nature Walk Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Nature Walk Resort located on the edge of the jungle just 10 minutes walk from the center of Kandy. Relax in a clean and peaceful environment and enjoy the breathtaking views over the forest from your balcony where you can observe monkeys and a wide variety of birds and butterflies. All rooms are ensuite and the restaurant serves delicious food throughout the day. An internet service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Nature Walk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Walk Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing