We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Nature Walk Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nature Walk Resort
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. For us Kandy was a central location to go exploring and we were very lucky to be introduced to the wonderful driver Mr Mendis. A wonderful man who will show you everything and is very knowledgable about the area.

Great restaurant with lovely views.

Rooms are basic and comfortable

Room Tip: rooms at the restaurant level might get a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Found the place through a taxi driver's 'recommendation', arrived after dark - and didn't regret it! Waking up in the morning was like looking into a greenhouse; monkeys on the balcony however, can be disturbing and shouldn't mislead you into believing in total peacefulness. Which the place as such does do though!
Clean rooms, beds ok, breakfast good standard, overall excellent value for not so much money. Location is truly walking distance into town - if you like walking. Gets you around the lake and makes you see a lot. Staff very helpful and friendly, though English isn't their strength. Our highlight was 'tea for two' at the open space on the first floor, almost in itself like a "room with a view".
Though I am not a taxi driver, that place is my recommendation now too!

Room Tip: Ask what is available - and have a look before you decide. Watch out regarding the bathroom window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassikala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
6
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights over New Years Eve & had a great time. Lovely staff - we had the triple room big & spotlessly clean and great bathroom. About a 300 tuk tuk ride from town but beautiful view & good food too. Staff were really helpful & through a fun little party for New Year's Eve. Recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Clean comfortable basic room.
Monkeys on the balcony : )
Owner helpful in organising excursion etc

Steep walk from town (15mins ish) which we enjoyed, but for others this may not be practical.
Would have been nice to have a fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front as the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEPR784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Nature Walk Resort for 3 nights overall in mid december. We didn't book, but rooms were available. After one night we had to switch rooms, as the first one was booked. Both rooms were clean, hot water was available, and both were quite cool. As the second room was smaller and had no a/c, we got a discount. First room was 4000 Rs, second 3000 Rs per night with breakfast included.

Breakfast was a mix of fruits, toast with butter and jam, eggs, a glas of fruit juice and coffee/tea and was plenty. Everything tasted fine, but there is no change in meals. Prepare to defend your food against monkeys, as they might try to steal a slice of toast. Lunch/diner is average in taste, size and price.

The hotel is on the far side of the lake, a tuk tuk from railway/city center is about 300 Rs, the tooth temple is a 10 minutes walk away. Both of our rooms didn't have a great view.

The service was very good, we were helped at planning our tours (dambulla and sigiriya by bus, kandy-nanuoya with driver), they switched our luggage at the room change, as we were not in the hotel, and they changed our towels after two nights.

The only downsides of the hotel were the not changing brekfast, a bit of a smell in our second room and the second was the first room upstairs, where everyone has to go by to their rooms. The door was quite thin, so loud guests were quite disturbing. And don't forget to bring a mosquito net, as there were no in the rooms.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank hermi90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Nature Walk Reserve and only wish we would have stayed longer! The rooms were large, bright and clean. The staff was very kind and friendly, making us feel welcome. The food and cold beers in the evening were lovely! We were charmed by the monkeys running about. We really enjoyed sitting on the balcony and looking out over the valley in the mist.

The location is lovely, just up the road from the lake and town, feeling as it you're in the forest. However, you're a very short and cheap tuk tuk down to the lake. It's also a short walk in the morning.

The only downside was that the wifi did not work in the room.

I'd highly recommend a stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamarindobound00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel. Make sure you ask for a jungle view room. Its beautiful. We had a perfect stay here. Close to the lake and temple also. We had a monkey in our room which was really funny. They also arranged a driver to take us to the elephhant orphanage which was very cheap and a great trip

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MickyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.7 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Walk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Walk Resort

Address: 9 Sanghamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £12 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nature Walk Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Nature Walk Resort located on the edge of the jungle just 10 minutes walk from the center of Kandy. Relax in a clean and peaceful environment and enjoy the breathtaking views over the forest from your balcony where you can observe monkeys and a wide variety of birds and butterflies. All rooms are ensuite and the restaurant serves delicious food throughout the day. An internet service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Nature Walk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Walk Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing