We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome hotel”
Review of The Peak Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Peak Residence
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed int his hotel for one night , it was amazing. We were delighted with thier service. Staff was very freindly and well attentive. Romms are clean , nice and tidy. Food was realy good. This is more than a residence and it is like a three star hotel. Amaizing view , we loved it. You can see whole city from the room balcony. Great experince , worth for money

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nima d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for The Peak Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

Booked this from the UK. Arrived and were given a fairly small dingy room near reception. Next day we were moved downstairs to a room twice the size with a balcony. A fair way from town up the hill but tuktuks easy to find. Adequate breakfast and dinner was ok the one night we ate there. Staff were friendly and the view is fabulous. When we came to pay they tried to charge us the same rate for the dingy room as for the nice room. Not impressed and got a slight discount. Based on other places we stayed of similar quality this seems overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the same floor as reception
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegemightyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We arrived at the hotel after a long journey to find that the room I had already paid for was not available. The hotel was full. After some rearranging, they moved someone out and cleaned the room for us. The owner came and was very apologetic. They gave us a free meal for our inconvenience and overall, the staff is very friendly and helpful. This hotel is way above the valley and has a great view. However, if you like the hustle and bustle and noise of the city, stay somewhere else. It is vey quiet here and you have to take a taxi each time you want to go to the city and back. I would recommend it. It is clean, orderly, the food is good and the staff is friendly. I got the delux room with airconditiong and a view.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthCalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel is high on a hill in Kandy, away from the hustle and bustle of the city below, (great views from most rooms) it is a quiet retreat. The staff are attentive and try hard to satisfy their customers requirements. Our room and bathroom was a good size the bed was comfortable. Breakfast is western or Sri Lankan breakfast can be ordered the night before. We stayed for 5 nights and thought it was good value for money. They also serve lunch, dinner, soft drinks and beer. Really the only negative is that the waiters do not speak english too well, so a bit of confusion sometimes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

The good points:
Very obliging and kind staff
Good room facilities (aircon, very hot water, TV)
Great view
Good kitchen for dinner (about $7 for 2 good courses and tea/coffee/water)
More like a 3 star hotel than a guesthouse
The bad points:
Rooms a little uncared for (things broken, or missing, first room had leaking toilet, second a broken fridge)
Unaware room makeup (no top sheet for two days - only a bed cover)
Good and bad breakfast (eggs, juice, fruit, toast - the latter with artificial butter and strawberry flavoured melon jam)
Location makes going into town a $2.50 each way experience and very inconvenient in the evening
No internet (you will need a dongle and local SIM card)

If the room was $25-$30, I would consider it value for money but at $40 it is too expensive (though I have not researched other places in Kandy which is a high point for tourists)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

It was nice two days I sayed there with my wife after a very tiered journey passing two main oceans..
We initially stayed in another hotel in Kandy and moved to peak after one day . It made me feel home and appreciate the cleanliness of the place..staff were friendly but I recommend to get a better cheff!
Anyway we enjoyed our stay, though I wanted to be there for one more day, we had to leave due to personal schedules and were really happy about the decision of selecting this place.

Indika Dias

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mulaagaanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Hi

I put the original details of the Peak Residence up on TA but didn't complete a review because I was waiting for a correct web address from them. They are still having problems in that department.

Anyway, I stayed here twice on my last trip to Sri Lanka and fell in love with it! From the moment we arrived, the staff made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. I think we paid about 3000rs including breakfast and it was worth every single rupee!

The Peak Residence has all the things you would expect from a higher price hotel:

A large room with huge comfortable bed, a small but clean bathroom and best of all, a balcony with simply stunning views of Kandy! The lake and temple are just out of sight but you can see the enormous Buddha on the other side of the valley and the views of Kandy itself and the surrounding countryside and mountains are just breathtaking!

The room we stayed in also had a seating area with TV, fridge and plenty of wardrobe space.

The food was great, though we only ate one meal other than breakfast there. All in all, a lovely place to stay with fabulous views and staff that just couldn’t have been more friendly or helpful.

I hope you enjoy this gem of a place to stay as much as we did!

B

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeemaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#49 of 56 in Kandy
61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverdale Hotel
Riverdale Hotel
#51 of 56 in Kandy
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#34 of 56 in Kandy
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Serene Grand Hotel
Serene Grand Hotel
#38 of 56 in Kandy
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 56 in Kandy
536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peak Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peak Residence

Address: 20, Keerth Sri Rajasingha Road, Kandy 00948, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Peak Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peak Residence Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing