We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a base for two nights”
Review of The Peak Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Peak Residence
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here before christmas, this hotel was our first stop at the beginning of our travel around Sri Lanka. Arrived after three hours in a taxi on a Friday night after landing in Columbo in the afternoon from the UK. Friendly welcome and quickly went down to the restaurant tired and hungry soon recieved our first try of Sri Lankan rice and curry which was nice and tasty washed down with a cold can of lion (sri lankan lager).
The hotel itself is basic and needs a lot of repainting and a good scrub up to make it a decent ish hotel as that is what lets the place down, grubby carpets and bathroom.
Plus points are the service (cyrill the waiter) and spacious rooms with star sports sattellite (premier league football) the young lad who drives the tuk-tuk (he took us into a bar in town each night and waited in his tuk-tuk for three hours until we were ready to go back, so give him a decent tip) the driver they have who will take you sightseeing he was very knowledgeable and very reasonably priced . The view of Kandy from the balcony
Thanks to the hotel for giving us a take away breakfast for the early train to Columbo(5am) consisting of cheese and tomato sandwiches,apples and cartons of orange juice
Ok for two nights but i wouldn't want to stop for a few weeks due to the cleanliness such a shame as it would be a lot better if it was brought up to spec.
Tip the old train to Columbo takes 3 hours and is ridiculously over crowded (people hanging on the outside) and no chance of using the toilet and very bumpy and hot (well worth a £30 a/c taxi instead) The driver offered to take us to the south coast for about £60 (wish we had used him)

Room Tip: ask for a view but i reckon all rooms are probably the same ? take some ear plugs as the temple on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandLesleyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

My father booked this hotel based on reviews from tripadvisor.

What a disappointment!
The view from the roof terrace is very nice. The concierge/man behind the desk was very helpful

Unfortunately, that's as positive as it gets.

The rooms were dirty amd hopelessly dated in design. There was mould all around the bathtub and windows. Dust all over the curtains. The bathroom in my parent's room was smelly and dirty.

There was a general feeling that the owner of this place just couldn't be bothered with any maintenance or even supplying their staff with cleaning supplies!

As mentioned before, the employee at the front desk was extremely pleasant, and seemed to have to work extra hard to make up for the management/owner's incompetence

If you own this hotel, you should be ashamed of yourself, and sell it on to someone who isn't lazy

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Layan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Peak Residence, Kandy, Sri Lanka

A magnificent view over Kandy City from a comfortable, clean and well serviced 10 room guest house. The facilities are basic, a little aged but spacious and clean. There is wifi available and the bed rooms have air conditioning and a ceiling fan. (Only one works at a time though). Each room is equipped with an automatic insect spray mechanism that keeps worries about mosquitoes away.

Some rooms have a small balcony to take advantage of the view and there was a nice shared balcony on the reception level which we enjoyed in the afternoon after our excursions.

The breakfast catered for all tastes and while I was there there were people from many different countries enjoying the food and the service.

The outstanding feature of the Peak Residence was the friendly and committed service. The staff and the owner manager were lovely, friendly and helpful. They were prepared to accommodate their guests in every way - even delivering the evening restaurant meal to the balcony so we could continue to enjoy the view.

If you like to try local drinks - ask the manager about Arrack! This Sri Lankan whiskey style drink is very pleasant and goes well with the view!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerrit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel very close to Kandy walking distance to Kandy town and the temple of the tooth and the wakarawatha forest which was a tea estate many years ago which has many species of birds and other wild life and famous for monkeys if you are lucky you have chances of seeing leopard's too

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank lakshmanisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The good thing about this place: It has a splendid view, as it is in the hills overlooking Kandy. And the rooms have air condition - which you hardly need, however, as they only have thin sheets for cover for the beds, and if you ask for other blankets, you get heavy sets which look as if they have been used by generations of travellers. The bathrooms are not particularly inviting, but at least you have hot water. Walls are almost paper thin, so you hear all sorts of noises, especially early in the morning. Breakfast is the usual stuff, food quality is acceptable. This also applies for lunch. Staff is friendly and helpful, however, the only one who can really decide anything is the owner. He is also the one to ask about tours, drivers, taxis etc., and gets you good service at acceptable prices. All in all: this is a backpacker place with acceptable standard if you do not have high expectations.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 if you can, as it is directly next to the entrance and you hear the staff arriving at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flabbergast52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

the place has a really nice view and it was great to have an evening drink on the balcony. room was nice, big and clean. i especially liked the staff. they were absolutely wonderful. i have never met such helpful and nice people in a hotel before. the manager arranged for us a driver who took us to colombo airport for a great price and the driver also showed us many things. it will be pleasure to stay here again if i get a chance to be in kandy again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giglous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The service was attentive & polite.
The staff includint the manager went out of their way to make my stay comfortable.
stunning view of the Kandy city. quite a climb to get to the location but worth every effort..
will definitely come again...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aye77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle Hill
Castle Hill
#52 of 56 in Kandy
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#48 of 56 in Kandy
62 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverdale Hotel
Riverdale Hotel
#51 of 56 in Kandy
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#35 of 56 in Kandy
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serene Grand Hotel
Serene Grand Hotel
#38 of 56 in Kandy
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peak Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peak Residence

Address: 20, Keerth Sri Rajasingha Road, Kandy 00948, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Peak Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peak Residence Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing