We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Bridget's Guest House
Ranked #13 of 465 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at St Bridget's 2 nights and really liked it. The jungle location is great (but be ready for the 25 min walk or a tuk tuk ride to/from the centre). The room was clean and comfy. The food was very good (tasty and big portion). And the owner was so helpful - he spoke to every single guest, suggesting the best transport option and giving recommendations. We even got a goodbye wave early in the morning when we were departing. Very nice!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewakwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at this guesthouse. The value is great and the family who operate the guest house are so lovely and helpful. The helped us with info and tickets to the Kandy dancera. The food is amazing and we ate here most nights. The location suited me as I prefer to be away from the hustle and bustle. Its an easy walk or tuk tuk. The gardens are lovely and peaceful. The rooms and bathrooms are a little on the small side but this was not really an issue. For the cost this is a great choice. Would definitely recommend to people. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahK84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent two nights here, and were very pleased that we did. Rooms are inexpensive (which means the three of us could afford to book two separate rooms, rather than bunk together as we had to do elsewhere), but also absolutely lovely. The bed linen and bathroom fixtures were among the best of all the guesthouses we stayed at. The whole property has colonial charm and is one of the finest we happened to visit. The overall value is excellent.

We opted not to have breakfast at the guesthouse, but we did eat dinner there one evening, and were delighted by the veritable feast of rice and curry that was laid before us. The pineapple curry was to die for! The owner is a wonderful cook, and it doesn’t hurt that beers are also reasonably priced (though, as in most places in Sri Lanka, you really are forced to inquire if you wish to know the price in advance, which can be annoying, I think, for Western travelers, who are used to menus and drink lists…).

As for location, we have no complaints whatsoever. The guesthouse isn’t in the thick of things, which can be good or bad, depending on how you look at it: in our case, we were very happy to get away from the tangle of tuk-tuks and people that make downtown Kandy somewhat overwhelming. Also, we were consistently able to negotiate a set fare of 250 Rupees to be taken up to the guesthouse from town, and vice versa. I urge other travelers to bargain as hard as necessary to keep these prices from surging (from what I’ve heard, prices in Sri Lanka have already gone up a lot over the past few hears—no need to encourage that).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kikiricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have been in st bridgets for 2 nights, first night of our trip and couldnt be better. Confortable bed, clean and increidible food prepared for the owner family of the place.
We have found this place perfect for planning our trip!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank migiol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Good food!! They should serve sri lankan breakfast every day because it was so delicious. Beautiful gardenview! Nice and quiet area outside town. Really nice and helpful owners! The staff doesnt speak much english but still are very friendly. The room was basic and very small.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We found this place in the Lonely Planet when we visited Sri Lanka in Dec 2012-Jan 13 and stayed for 2 nights at about £15 per night for a double room en suite. The owners were very friendly, the room was spotless and there was HOT WATER!!! We enjoyed the 20 minute walk down into Kandy but got a tuk tuk back each time as the hill is quite steep (we were saving ourselves for climbing Sri Pada!). The food is really lovely and you can get a nice cold beer. What I really loved was the peace and tranquility, you would never guess you were that you were so close to a city. A really great find and if we are ever lucky enough to get to go to Sri Lanka again we will definately stay at St Bridget's.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

A bit out of town but a lovely place and lovely owners. And great food, some of the best we've had in Sri Lanka. Rooms a tad small but still great value for money.

It was a bit (a lot) rainy when we went in june but we enjoyed sitting reading our books on the terrace. Kany is not a place for a wild night out when in low season!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazmojiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 57 in Kandy
511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 465 in Kandy
316 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 465 in Kandy
359 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kandy Guest House
Kandy Guest House
#8 of 465 in Kandy
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Bridget's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Bridget's Guest House

Address: No 125 Sri Sumangala Mawatha | Asgiriya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 465 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £19 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your St Bridget's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing