We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stunning views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Richmond House Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Richmond House Kandy
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Kandy
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Main thing that grabs you about this place is the balcony views, they are wonderful any time of day. We stayed for one night, and would think Kandy can be done in a maximum of 2 days. Staff were very friendly and we were upgraded to a suite. The decor is a little dated and furniture a little cluttered. However breakfast was fine it was good value for money. I would visit again for the view.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Franknbetty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    167
    59
    21
    4
See reviews for
146
277
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel, it has stunning views but it is up a very steep hill from town. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, giving us advice about train times etc. when we arrived they even let us choose between two rooms, unfortunately the place is a little tired looking and could do with some remodelling. That said it was clean and had everything you need for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I booked this BB based on its reviews, we where looking at 5 star hotels in Kandy and they all complained it was tired the showers didnt work or anything. (as most are in Sri Lanka) Finding the Hotel was very easy with google maps, and we located the hotel with our laptop. Other reviews are not joking about that drive way and we made the mistake of driving up it... (luckily the staff helped us reverse down.) but you can park down the bottom and walk up (good luck :))

compared to other hotels in sri lanka this place is very worth the money. we had a hot water shower (first time in sri lanka after 2 weeks.) the room was clean and defiently worth 80 dollers compared to what you will get in Australia for the price.

breakfast was really good as well, they had options for western breakie or sri lankan and staff help serve you. but the best part about the hotel would have to be the view. waking up in the morning and we couldnt beleive what we where looking at.

there is paint lacking on walls and a few touch ups needed but in comparison to other sri lankan hotels and they also offer a hotel tuk tuk and a car driver. we didnt need, but its a good service to have especially In sri lanka where the locals rip off the tourist in everything they can.

Room Tip: we booked a deluxe room (they have a view) it was cheap and worth the price. couldnt ask for more re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piaget_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We booked this 'hotel' for two nights while in Kandy. The main house itself is beautiful although looking quite tired. We booked a suite and were shown to Room 10 (don't bother staying here unless you get Room 1 Suite!) where the walls needed a new coat of paint where the damp was coming through. The real problem was that the hot water would run out within a few minutes of turning on the shower. We reported this problem and Management sent someone to 'fix' it. Unfortunately, it still didn't work in the morning! Eventually Management moved us to Room 1 which is in the main house and provides a beautiful view from its balcony - make sure you ask for this room! It is a very good size with four-poster canopy bed, a small table and chairs for dining and small sitting area. The bathroom was a good size (bath only with shower head). Unfortunately the bath leaked water over the smooth tiled floor, making it super slippery.

Although the staff were very friendly they just seemed rather incompetent. Although this may seem harsh it was definitely a case of great intentions and poor execution. Starting with our hot water debacle to not loading all of our luggage in to our car when we left. This cost us over an hour as we had to go back to pick this up.

We booked this thinking that it would be of a 'hotel' standard. The reality is that it is a good guesthouse and not much more than that. If you view it on this basis you can make your own decision regarding value.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shyam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night at this lovely boutique hotel. The drive up via rickshaw was an experience in of itself. Lovely staff and had a chance to spend some time on te balcony with a nice cup of tea and my laptop. The views are incredible even in the rain! Owner was very accommodating and helped me out with a cash advance through my credit card after I lost my ATM card - a rare find in Kandy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abtranzNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We arrived the Richmond House, Kandy late in the evening of 22nd May. The reception was excellent,our triple bed room was ready and we could occupy after the registration. A family travelling with a child would find the triple bed room accommodation wonderful. The last 50 odd meters to the hotel is a steep climb,possibly cardiac patients and people with arthritis or other similar medical conditions should be cautious. Richmond house provided us with a healthy breakfast of fruits and bread (our preference) and a wow dinner of five plus vegetarian Sri Lankan curries and rice. It was possibly the best meal we had in Sri Lanka. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Good place for family and couples. Quiet, scenic and peaceful. The rooms are airy,clean and comfortable. You have WIFI in the room for you internet access!

Room Tip: Not many rooms, it is more of family and not a tourist hotel! Go there to chill out, catch up on fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We visited kandy for the poson holidays to stay few nights in kandy.I was looking for a hotel in the internet and suddenly i found the richmond house.Fortunately they had the last two rooms for us.It was difficult to find the place and it was difficult to climb the path way to the lobby.but ones you entered to the lobby they welcomed us with big smiles.it is a beautiful house rather than a hotel.well decorated lobby clean rooms.good food extremely helpful and friendly staff from manager to room boy.we were really satisfied with there service and beautiful rooms with panoramic views.Thanks all the staff of The richmond house we will visit you again !!!!

Room Tip: New suites(room no 9 and 10)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadeema g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#7 of 65 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#8 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
1.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.8 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#3 of 65 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Property: The Richmond House Kandy
Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place,Heerassagala | Heeraslagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kandy
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond House Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing