We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Richmond House Kandy
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Best service ever. The recent i say this we got one of the best service in srilanka from the staff of the richmond house.They welcome us with the smile and it was same in the time we are checking out.there are some minus issues such as Wall painting ,but they were not a big issues for me and my family.we stayed in room no 1 it has T.V ,King size bed,two single beds,bath with hot waterAnd specially panoramic view from the room.it was a nice stay at R/H.Thank you again for the staff.hope to see you in next holiday trip to kandy on December.

Room Tip: Room no 1 good for the families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rahaman a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

After traveling in srilanka for weeks finally I found a place to relax.That is THE RICHMOND HOUSE.This is not a big hotel but it is a great place to relax . Rooms are same as 5 star hotel.
Staff speaks English and Fluent Japanese .Food, They have Western And Eastern food. Specially they Arrange some Japanese food like miso soup , yakisoba.This is a really good place for Japanese.Ask your driver to call the hotel before you go there it is bit difficult to find the hotel may be 4km from the city center.

Room Tip: room no 3 for good sunset view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank yoneaki o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Well we also booked this hotel after reading most of the good and bad reviews,for us it became a once in a life time stay.Before we go we knew it was nice view, away from the city and very very steep and yes it was(we had fun running up and dawn thou),well this is sri lanka and there are things unique to its origin and things that make`s this island a hidden gem in asia.

we booked a standard room @ the rate of 65USD for 3 nights and had everything we wanted to live for 3 nights.Well there were few troubles like a spider and few ants but hello this is asia we must see them as we are city robots.

we have to say the service at the richmond house was a top class one, not by language but by instinct of all the staff,the sri lankan food we had was the best we had in sri lanka,still love it.Lovely place to spend hours after running away from the cities.If you are looking for something city life,surely this is not.

Excellent place to relax after all the rush in your mind.

Room Tip: standard is fine,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Hard to fault the service and the view. Gives you an easy 3 wheeler ride to town and as everyone says has amazing views.

We enjoyed our stay but our room was quite old and starting to need some urgent attention. The old colonial style mansion is in a great position, is cheap and clean. We only stayed one night on our way through Kandy but enjoyed our time.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

3 of us stayed 4 nights in a triple room. It was very comfortable, had a spectacular view from the balcony and the service was excellent. Although there were a few issues with fluctuating water temp in the shower this was of no real consequence. The hotel is about a 20 minute tuktuk ride out of Kandy Central but the benefit is that the views are spectacular and it's peaceful. Great value for money if you don't mind the trip backwards and forwards and a nice place to relax at the end of the day. The buffet style breakfasts and dinners offered a good selection of Sri Lankan dishes as well as some western style dishes. The best thing had to be the outstanding service we received the entirety of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Email responses to enquiries were very prompt. The staff had ready smiles. The location is quaint, although it is some distance from Kandy. However, and this is the main reason for the 'poor' rating: the room I was given (right opposite the office) was filthy. All surfaces were sticky, there were too many stray hairs in the bed, the bathroom looked as if it had not been cleaned in weeks and there were quite a few maintenance issues too, such as a bedside lamp that was fixed with sticking tape. The filth made me cut short my stay and go to another hotel. Have the owners inspected the hotel recently? Are the staff aware of the appalling levels of hygiene? There was an issue with the buffet dinner too but that is another story that would detract from the above.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PBCinEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The richmond house is a beautiful and peaceful place with incredible views. We had great food and enjoyed our stay so much. What we most appreciated was the service and small details that made the difference to truly enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amelie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
724 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
828 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
569 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place | Heerassagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £27 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond House Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing