We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility over the hills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Richmond House Kandy
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Lead through a narrow passage up the hills, we though this one would be yet another scenic resorts that don't have much to offer except the beautiful panoramic views. And views we got, but not without a surprisingly comfortable room, friendly staff and a seletion of nice sri lankan curries everyday! Just one thing, the textiles and tapestry provided with in the rooms looked and (sometimes) smelt old and under cared for...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vaibhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews on trip advisor. The hotel certainly didn’t disappoint us. It was a bit tricky to find but once we arrived, we felt so relax there. The ‘lobby’ of the hotel is designed simply but is very warm and welcoming. The hotel is located on top of the mountain; we booked a deluxe room and had a balcony to sit out to admire the view.
The manager and the staff at the hotel are extremely friendly, helpful and polite. They tend to all our needs during the two night stay. The breakfast and dinner that they serve are very tasty and fresh.

The only negative thing that I could comment on is the quality of the towels and bedsheet. They have seen better days and would recommend the management to consider changing them to make the hotel perfect.

I wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again when I return to Kandy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seetheworldinmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

There are so many choices in Kandy but got recommended this hotel by a friend which proved to be a great choice.

The view is spectacular showcasing the Kandy city, with the services and meals provided of high quality and timely (not all that common in Sri Lanka). The room were always clean and had all the facilities' to recharge and get ready for another day of sightseeing.

Gold Star to the management (and Staff) for our relaxing time and keeping the heritage look throughout the hotel.

Quiet and tranquil.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked Richmond House Kandy for 2 nights in July end.. We had good experience at hotel...a Hotel is located on hill and access road is very narrow, so please take some experience driver to reach there.. most of Srilankan guys can drove you there.. if you are driving car on your own might be difficult to get there.

Hotel is located on hill and we got room with fantastic view... room was very well decorated with curtains and all other accessories... hotel staff was very good and hospital and when we said we are vegetarian they made specially curries for us of first day and kept few more stuff for dinner next day.. best part was to have breakfast outside in balcony part of restaurant...

We like the place and its well in budget with friendly hospitable staff....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nirmal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Nice balcony with a great view . Hotel is Peaceful and hotel has all amenities . Staff is helpful . We needed Iron & Hair Dryer and they take no time to deliver to our room for no extra charges. Breakfast is mix of local & international fool with a good view from serving area .but location wise this hotel is quite away from the city center.In night ,it is quite dangerous to go out of the hotel as it is complete dark outside.

Room Tip: rooms on the left is quite excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VinayS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in January 2013. We went for the room at the top of the hotel and it was fantastic. A whole side of the room consists of windows so you can see for miles and watch all the twinkly lights below as it gets dark. The staff were really helpful and kind. They were able to help us with arranging transport onwards and also for short trips into Kandy. On our last night they set up our evening meal on the balcony at the top of the hotel, a lovely way to end our stay.

PS the towel swans are second to none!

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying a little extra for the room at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank itchyfeetsarah82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at the Richmond house in July. Well dedicated service to each guest with attention to small details. From the moment you enter (nice lobby) you instantly feel you are home. Welcoming and very friendly staff at the Reception as well as very friendly management. Location is excellent as it is in the hill top with great views of Kandy, 15 minute tuk tuk(Local taxi name) drive from city to hotel. Not to forget their excellent foods, it is one of the best; rooms are well cleaned and nicely decorated. Last but not least it’s a fantastic cozy hotel, or rather then hotel, it’s a fantastic big house with nice people “on a hill.”

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
737 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
852 reviews
1.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 57 in Kandy
1,395 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#13 of 57 in Kandy
1,166 reviews
2.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 57 in Kandy
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place | Heerassagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £30 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond House Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing