We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sri Lanka at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Richmond House Kandy
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sri Lanka at its best”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at the Richmond house for 4 nights in August. We booked for one night as we were in Kandy during the parahara and the hotels were all fully booked. We were lucky to get a one night stay as we are 5 with our three kids. The hotel room are very nice with big beds and bathrooms. Very clean and cosy with spectacular views from the balcony. We loved the hotel and Kandy so much that we wished to stay longer. The Richmond house was booked solid but Naweera, the amazing manager, offered us a room that they don't usually book as it is not on the side with the views and is a little dated. It was still fantastic and all 5 of us fit very nicely! Naweera then got us tickets to the Parahara that were at the start of the parade just beside the temple. That was also a magical experience.
The hotel itself is the past residence of a wealthy family. It is built on a hill with amazing views from the rooms and from the dining area. The decor is elegant without being stuffy ot overly formal. The food was always excellent and the service is beyond description. At one point we ran out of rupees so Naweera gave us some and tacked it on our bill. He was so helpful in so many ways that we started calling him dad. I could tell from the way the other guests treated him that they felt the same way.
Although this hotel is not in the heart of Kandy it is very close and all the tuk tuk drivers know it well.
I would not hesitate in any way to stay here. If you want to experience the height of the Sri Lankan hospitality and a bit of the old world history you can not go wrong by staying here. It's fun to imagine what it must have been like when one family lived in this amazing house.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jamie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    177
    60
    21
    5
See reviews for
149
293
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Attentive friendly service, great food. Clean room, medium-firm mattress. Need to be a little careful with the water pressure in the shower .... it goes hot and cold (guess the pump isn't efficient?).

Built on a hill so it's a relatively huge walk up a steep slope ... not for someone with mobility issues. Fantastic views.

Location-wise, far enough from the noise of Kandy (perfect for us!) yet a short drive will get you into the thick of things.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JulesB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After reading all reviews stayed for 2 nights and had no single trouble,the view and the room was so clean,the big glass in the window was so clean and at the first time i almost smash my head in to it,later noticed the stickers on the glass.The linen and the room decor was fantastically matched and the big poster bed was one of the main.We asked for the PERAHERA FESTIVAL tickets and they arranged us a great location(a ticket was Rupees 6000).The meals were mostly buffet and had good selected meals for the price Rupees 1000 per adult.Our tour was mainly about the festival and we found this fabulous place in kandy.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is nice,if suites are not available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank w A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel is reasonably new but made to look as though it is old. As with a lot of Sri Lankan hotels things don't work quite as well as they should (the bar fridge was not stocked because it didn't work), there are no coat-hangers in the cupboard, no latch to keep the balcony door open, but it was comfortable enough and very quiet. The staff were friendly and polite, the breakfast was adequate and the evening meal was good, with different curries on both nights we stayed. There are improvements that could be made with little effort including new sheets - the ones on our bed were heavily piled and not comfortable - and the tea and coffee served with breakfast was over-stewed and not pleasant at all.

The staff do everything they can to oblige and will book cars/tuk-tuks when you need them. The main thing for us was that it was too far from town and there were no areas close by where you could go for a morning stroll as the hotel is high up on a hill at the end of a goat track. A tuk-tuk is needed to get to town and that takes 15 minutes and LKR500.

Next time we will try Queens Hotel which is very well located and genuinely colonial.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzurisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked this hotel as a result of the good reviews, however, our experience was not as pleasurable as anticipated.

The room had numerous niggles - the kettle would not work (replacement provided on request) then there was no tea or coffee (supplied on request) the. The toilet seat would not stay up on the toilet even when in use. The bath, basin and toilet did not match and the light didn't work!

The room had a beautiful view, however the furnishings were shabby and the air conditioning unit a noisy old relic.

We requested and early breakfast as we had to leave for a trip. Unfortunately, they forgot (even though there are only 8 rooms in the hotel!)

Perhaps it was our preconceived interpretation of previous reviews, but in our opinion, this is not a boutique hotel, a little more like Fawlty Towers

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hls-durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Lead through a narrow passage up the hills, we though this one would be yet another scenic resorts that don't have much to offer except the beautiful panoramic views. And views we got, but not without a surprisingly comfortable room, friendly staff and a seletion of nice sri lankan curries everyday! Just one thing, the textiles and tapestry provided with in the rooms looked and (sometimes) smelt old and under cared for...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vaibhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews on trip advisor. The hotel certainly didn’t disappoint us. It was a bit tricky to find but once we arrived, we felt so relax there. The ‘lobby’ of the hotel is designed simply but is very warm and welcoming. The hotel is located on top of the mountain; we booked a deluxe room and had a balcony to sit out to admire the view.
The manager and the staff at the hotel are extremely friendly, helpful and polite. They tend to all our needs during the two night stay. The breakfast and dinner that they serve are very tasty and fresh.

The only negative thing that I could comment on is the quality of the towels and bedsheet. They have seen better days and would recommend the management to consider changing them to make the hotel perfect.

I wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again when I return to Kandy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seetheworldinmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
667 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
686 reviews
1.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
590 reviews
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
1,889 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 53 in Kandy
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Property: The Richmond House Kandy
Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place | Heerassagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond House Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing