We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to the big hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Richmond House Kandy
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have stayed at the big hotels - Earls Regency, Amaya Hills etc - in the past and decided we'd like a more B+B feel this time. Richmond House is quirky, a little eccentric and a great alternative to the big hotels, plus it is very reasonable. We traveled with another couple and had the two suites. Both are large, well appointed and have traditional furniture. The dining room is terrific - particularly the table on the balcony overlooking Kandy - and the food was very good. Staff are friendly, always smiling and manage everything efficiently in a way that looks casual and effortless. Furnishings throughout are interesting, eclectic and complete what is a relaxing oasis just outside the madness and chaos of Kandy. We particularly liked having our luggage brought up the steep drive by the hotel's tuk tuk!

Room Tip: Suites enjoy afternoon and evening breezes with the balcony doors left open, plus they're set ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobynFordyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

In view of the very many positive reports on Tripadvisor, this choice proved extremely disappointing. The staff are pleasant and the view from the top is excellent, but that is it! The accommodation is relatively expensive for what it is, and certainly not worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank x2_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is certainly well appointed , with well meaning staff but very quirky under the glossy facade. Many things didn't work but once pointed out to the staff they were fixed quickly, for example our malfunctioning shower head was replaced very quickly. SO many light switches that even after a couple of days I couldn't figure what they were for. I feel the hotel could pay some attention to basics eg our bed sheets were very old and like sandpaper. You make allowances in more remote places but hotels should not advertise wi fi unless it works throughout not just in certain hotel areas. Some very simple adjustments could make this hotel nicer ,eg towels, sheets The hotel room had a lovely breeze but we couldn't keep the door opened as there was no hook to secure the door and it slammed back and forth.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell all the rooms have a good view but ask for a view to the valley and moutains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeePodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The stunning balcony view is the sole reason this hotel has such a high ranking. The view does have a wow factor, both daytime and if you're lucky, during sunset. The staff are also worthy of a positive mention - friendly and helpful - and the buffet dinner was okay too. The rooms are marginally above guest house standard and certainly not worth the mid/high end hotel price they charge. Funny enough the conversation during breakfast with two other couples was how on earth did this hotel get a top 3 ranking. The conclusion is that reviewers must be scoring the place 5 stars for the amazing view, which is so good that you forget its many negatives. I'd give this hotel 5 for the view, 2 for the room and value. Overall 3.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jezzahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is an excellent place.yes it it far from the town.will take 15 min from the town and cost 500lkr.
But once you entered to the hotel staff welcomes you with welcome drinks.and very smooth check in.room was very clean and comfortable.Dinner is not bad with few srilankan curries and western food.worth for the price!!! specially the staff of richmond house they are really excellent.they always ready to help you.it was a excellent 3 days stay at richmond house and we really enjoyed our stay.special thanks to the staff see you again.

Room Tip: We stayed room no 3 (good view!!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank natasha c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel location is slightly out of the way but that meant it had fantastic views, the hotel has its own tuk tuk which can whizz you in to town within about 10 minutes so it is not a problem.

Rooms were comfortable, spacious but a little dated but clean with everything you could need.

The food was nowhere near as good as other hotels we stayed in so we ate elsewhere on our 2nd night.

This hotel was ok but not as special as it looks from the grand reception & entrance.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HolHolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is a 3.5 star review and only a few small things would have made it 4 stars so let me start by talking about the highlights.

The Richmond House sits high above Kandy but only 5 mins by Tuk Tuk from the city sights. The house is on an incredibly steep hill and its not easy to find the road to the hotel seems more of a track than a road and it gets really steep by the time you get to the top, but the view is totally worth it (tip here - this hotel is not suited to those who find it hard getting up hills). The meals were fabulous with lots of choices and both breakfast and dinner had heaps of variety each day.

The staff are extremely friendly they have a wonderful open approach to helping you with organising everything and are really flexible when plans change. The room itself has a balcony with that wonderful view and the whole place has a really cute style to it.

Ok some small things that could be fixed, our bed creaked (a lot) which started out comical but got a little annoying, and the sheets need replacing they were clean but thin and bit pilled. The bathroom needed a good clean - this was the same for most hotels we visited in Sri Lanka you didnt want to look to close under the faucet or around the bath...

But these things aside - I would be very happy to go back, its a great place and so helpful and very relaxing above Kandy.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank crispin_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
738 reviews
1.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 57 in Kandy
1,402 reviews
2.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 57 in Kandy
586 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#13 of 57 in Kandy
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place | Heerassagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £32 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond House Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing