We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Richmond House Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Richmond House Kandy
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was our second stop and we were really pleased to find RH with all of its splendours from the views, the rooms and the staff particularly Nuwan. We really enjoyed our stay and we got an amazing amount of help and advice from Nuwan. The food at RH is great with such a variety of dishes and such different taste of Asian cuisine. We got treated for the first evening and were given the best room in the house so thank and thank you too for the great advice and recommendations Nuwan made regarding gifts for our 30th anniversary. Our stay at RH was absolutely wonderful.
We will return and will definitely stay at RH
Khalid and Alison

Room Tip: The one with the best views of Kandy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank KhalidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    172
    60
    21
    4
See reviews for
148
286
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here two nights in December....the whole place is extremely dated. I guess you maybe cant expect much more as it is Sri Lanka but I felt that it was not worth the price nor the tripadvisor ranking. Room was o.k...bathroom did not really function...a dribble from the shower and cold at that! Breakfast was pretty horrific....stick to tea and toast. Location...yes a good view...but quite far out of the way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at The Richmond House for 3 nights. As others have described, the view from the room balcony is serene and especially relaxing early in the morning or after sunset. The rooms are tastefully furnished and very clean and tidy. Internet worked well for my needs. The other highlight of our stay was the courteous attention from all the staff. Nuwan was the manager during our stay and he was an especially solicitous manager who was always available to attend to our requests or answer any travel questions. We especially appreciated his and the kitchen staff's efforts to provide us with a generous choice of vegetarian dishes for the buffet dinners. They also made their tuk tuk available for my elderly parents which saved them the arduous walk up and down the steep approach to the B&B and the 2 flights of stairs from the reception to our floor.

A few points of caution:
- the B&B is away from the city and once you

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MNw2nderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Near the top of the mid-range, the view of Kandy, sunrise and magical sunset is worthy! The staff are great, discreet, helpful and friendly. This guesthouse is itself a treasure as good art and cultural artifacts abound. The only reason for not giving this stay a "5" is the firm matress and distance from Kandy center. We loved our stay and highly recommend!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony view - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. The location was great, food was great and staff were great. Unfortunately the room did let them down. We stayed in the Planters Suite and the room was ok but the bathroom was pretty horrible. That said, the staff in particular made our stay so lovely that I would overlook that. They don't have a pool but we did spend an afternoon at the Amaya Hills pool which was great (bit cold!!) so no problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TWells_global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel this week, and really enjoyed it. Hotel set in very quiet, green suburb on the outskirts of Kandy (15 mins. tuk tuk to lake). More like a guest house than a hotel, which we loved. Lovely house with very comfortable rooms, and wonderful staff who went out of their way to look after us eg: offering to bring tea to our room after we'd spent a day walking around Kandy. Our room had a balcony overlooking the view - misty during our stay, but still lovely. We had a deluxe room, not a suite, and were very happy with our choice. Only downside of room was that air conditioner was loud and the shower was not enjoyable - water pressure meant water went from hot to cold very quickly throughout shower. But things like this don't really bother us - this is not a 5 star hotel! Dinner was excellent - wonderful Sri Lankan buffet including things like banana leaf and jackfruit curries. Breakfast buffet also good (but a shame fruit juice was not fresh.) In this price range, we would certainly highly recommend this hotel and we thank all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had room 4, on the 1st floor. We think suite rooms were on floor above us. Also rooms on ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LizandMikeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

we stayed here for three nights . it was wonderful stay.As we are honeymooners specially they
Arrange our dinner on the top balcony with amazing views. It was a memorable dinner for us with over ten varieties of curries.we stayed at King suit. It is comfortable and well decorated.
wifi was poor at King suite but in public areas much stronger.but it was a perfect place for our honey moon trip to srilanka.Would like to visit Richmond house again !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ashish c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#10 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.8 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Property: The Richmond House Kandy
Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place | Heerassagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kandy
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond House Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing