We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Richmond House Kandy
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had 2 nights in a deluxe room with my girl friend and had a wonder full time,staff and the service was way over then we expected and the food was delicious.15 to 20m drive from city but worth going up and down after a hot city days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    182
    61
    21
    5
See reviews for
152
299
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The deluxe room is OK but at best average. As a couple one chair is a bore and then only one on the balcony. The balcony door would not open enough to carry out a second chair. Ok, I could have asked but I had already asked for tea bags, milk, and a kettle that worked. You shouldn't have to ask. I think that the suites are their target client group and we didn't have one. The view is superb and a lovely place to be outside the throb of the city for a quiet evening in. They must spend some money to keep the bathrooms up to standard, but maybe it all goes into their planned developments. Top of the hill, but going downhill is my summary.

Room Tip: Perhaps the suites are less shabby and better equipped?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great view, friendly staff and good sized rooms. We stayed in one of the suites and you do feel like it is a treat. It is not great for privacy though. As soon as you step out of your room the manager (owner?) appears enquiring about your plans or whether there is anything he can do. Perhaps helpful but we prefer the anonymity of something bigger and not like the landlord is looking over you. I appreciate this a boutique'ish hotel but it feels even smaller. Would be difficult to stay here in mid summer wihtout a pool, we went to a hotel up the hill every day to relax by the pool (about £10). We used Richmond House's driver (Prassad) for 5 days and this was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and it was good value for money.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay, you have to go for one of the suites. They are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBon_Marche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed one night in the guesthouse. It is a 5-minutes tuktuk ride from Kandy. The place is quiet (while we found Kandy loud and polluted) and benefits from a nice view over Kandy. We had the "Governor Suite" which is no way close to what you would expect based on its name. The room was large and had a balcony but the deco was very kitsch; the room cleanliness was ok but could have been better. We were on half board so we dinner and breakfast there. Food was ok (no more, no less). The staff of the hotel is friendly and helpful so probably not a bad deal in the end.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martigo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The only problem may be to reach to the hotel... if you are looking for hospitality and warmly smiling people around you, this is the appropriate place. Foods are really nice. Rooms with Kandy city view are beautiful. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank demet_cemal-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed as a family (two teenage kids). Our room had sweeping views of Kandy - spectacular. The hospitality of Nuwan and his staff was wonderful.
The rooms were clean, well appointed - the buffet meals were good. It's a lovely little boutique hotel - quirky in the typical Sri Lankan way. Great memories.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TadhgMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our party of 8 adults stayed here in January 2014. We had 4 rooms - 2 suites, 1 Deluxe double and 1 deluxe single and only stayed for 1 night. The house was large, spacious and clean. The rooms were very large (especially the suites - which could easily accommodate 3+ adults) with a fantastic view. The beds were a bit hard (typical sri lankan style with thin mattress). The rooms were all clean, with clean and neat bathrooms. The furnishings in the room were a little dated, but it was still comfortable. The service at The Richmond house was excellent. A couple people in our party were unwell during their stay in Kandy and the staff at the Richmond house were very accommodating to our requests (i.e. for toast outside of meal times, bottled water, ginger ale/ginger beer etc) without any hesitation and always in a timely fashion. It is important to note that there are a number of stairs to climb - at the entrance, and in the foyers to reach the rooms. The suites are lovely and have a great view but do require climbing 1 or 2 flights of stairs.

The location of The Richmond house is up a hill, and takes some time to reach there from Kandy town. The place is a little bit hard to find, however there is good signage on the way. You need to travel up the hill to get there. The house is built a top a very steep incline. Our large van (12 seater) could not travel up the steep hill so the staff provided their own tuk-tuk to get all of our luggage up to the accommodation. They also helped some of our party come up the hill in the Tuk-Tuk. The steep hill will be hard for older people to navigate up and down.

The buffet dinner was small but the food was tasty and we enjoyed it. There was a good spread of fruits as well. Half of our party had a sri lankan breakfast the next morning which was enjoyable, otherwise the continental breakfast provided is fine too.

The price of the rooms was reasonable, perhaps on the slightly steeper side given that the some of the furnishings do appear dated. Overall we had a good stay here.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with mobility or climbing stairs - then keep in mind that this property has many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihearteurope10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond House Kandy

Property: The Richmond House Kandy
Address: 195/56 Richmond Hill Place | Heerassagala, Kandy ky20400, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond House Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond House Kandy is located on the beautiful and picturesque hill country, Kandy, Sri Lanka. Experience and enjoy Sri Lankan smilefull services and hospitality...Just fifteen minutes drive from the second biggest city of Sri Lanka, Kandy, The Richmond House located at the cool climate hill country area....The Richmond House Kandy provides you the luxury stay at the colonial city, Kandy. All our services depends on your request. Please feel free to communicate with us for your wonderful stay at this hotel. 8 Suite Rooms contain ensuite, picture windows and private balconies overlooking the hill country. Offering all our suites amenities, including colonial style bed, 32inch flat tv, bath tub with hot shower, and other facilities which makes you stay comfortable... A/C, King size colonial and modern bed,free wifi,full english breakfast, 32inch flat TV, Hot water, Bath tub, Private balcony with panoramic view, Telephone(local and International), 24hr room service,mini bar,cable channels,tea maker, and etc., Eight luxury rooms, Restaurants with panoramic view, Internet, Bar, TV room area, Villa, Private luxury vehicle to go on tours and one day trips, Private meetings and function facilities, Only 15 minutes to the city of Kandy and to the temple.on the hills of misty kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Richmond House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond House Kandy Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing